We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might just join the regulars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Hotel Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flor de Pascua, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Might just join the regulars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Partly responding to previous reviews -

Yes the winter clientele is elderly but the average age dropped dramatically in the time we were there (late July) (from over 60 to under 60!), but with some teenagers/early 20s. With that change, the towels on sunbed idiocy ended abruptly and plenty of choice as and when required at either pool. (An earlier reviewer expected bar service at the freshwater pool, but it is explicitly a "quiet" area.)

Food - one couple told us the puddings/cakes had been poor, but improved when we arrived - certainly the bread & butter pudding was perfect! You get offered one night's set 5-course meal with waiter service for each week you stay, but just from the buffet one evening I had gazpacho, then just a spoonful of the warm soup of the day, antipasta (four different ravioli), then a cold meat and salad course, then a bit of fish (couple of grilled sardines), then a main course (a carvery choice or from the hot dishes counter), then a sweet (nice to look at, but go easy with how many). Is that 7 courses? (Small but many!) Managed to avoid the tempting-looking diabetic sweet trolley! There are also themed nights (e.g. Mexican, Italian, Canarian specialities).

No sign of tummy bugs, but the meet and greet policy will be a problem when the swine flu arrives: shake hands with the waiters with your right hand and handle food if you have to with your left. I did try and sneak out to wash my hands but then a different waiter would grab you on the way back in! I'd rather do the friendly bit and assume the virus is airborne anyway.

Wine is on a big mark-up (the house wines particularly) but the Vina del Sol is a decent appley crisp white and the Bach Extrisima a fruity red - both available as a media (half-litre) or full bottle.

Daytime snacks by the pool are priced to compare with local bars.

Noise - we asked for a high and quiet room and got 4th floor at the end behind TJs bar - not a problem, though whether it was worse at the other end (or seaview over the hotel's own entertainment area) I don't know, but you can't really expect quiet till midnight in a Spanish holiday resort.

Aircon - on at very limited hours, but left on in the evening (stick your bus pass in the slot!) it will knock a few degrees off the temperature before you go to bed - but it will be hot again by the early hours. We cooled the room, then opened the balcony door before sleeping, and usually got a drop in night temperature to be comfortable - not much risk of intruders and no biting insects to worry about. (The aircon only works with the balcony door shut.)

Entertainment - there is a career in showbiz even if you'd not get near a Britain's got talent final. The Thomson entertainers work very hard, often with poor material - the Murder Mystery is utter drivel - and TJs had the better acts. The Highland Paddy bar had an outrageous Boy George / Elvis act one night (Jason Watkins) but the peculiar highlight at the hotel was a Cafe de Paris sketch from the Thomson team that really came off much better than expected. It's not exactly top-notch but it's cheesy fun if they get enough interaction. Then there's Vittorio inviting you in to the Paraiso del Sol restaurant on the way to the harbour - camping it up is putting it mildly. Order a "barraquito" (coffee, condensed milk and 43 liqueur - €1.50!) and he'll know we sent you.

Location: Los Gigantes is a gorgeous setting but it's an hour on the bus to anywhere else of real interest (Masca, Icod, the southern resorts if that's your thing).

From the manager Sr de la Rosa's personal interest (from arrival to waving you off on the coach) the hotel's policy is "Mi casa es su casa" and you can see why people go back, and I guess we'd do the same if we got a similar discounted late deal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    441
    171
    78
    56
See reviews for
56
964
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co.durham
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

we went here in July weather was brilliant so hot, hotel was clean and hotel staff very friendly, me and my hubby are in our 20s and werent the youngest there there was a few younger couples aswell but most of them over 40, food was ok alot to choose from alot of salad and fresh fish, the only downfall of the hotel was the entertainment we both thought it was crap, all brilliant songs sang but the people singing them did them any justice was boring and same kind of things most nights (people tht couldnt sing) but one night me and my hubby sat in the saloon bar and listened to this spanish guy who played the harp, he was amazing , beautiful music very moving, they should get him on the main stage not the crappy reps who cant sing, we usually went to paddys bar, which is like a minute walk and entertainment there was pretty good, lots of nice little places to get dinner and cakes, overall we really enjoyed it just the only bad comment is about the entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This is the second time i have stayed at the hotel los gigantes, and will be going back. All the staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and special. The hotel its self is lovely, it is extremeley clean and allways smells very fresh. The rooms are lovely very comfortable, and very clean, with great views. The outside areas and pools are also very very clean, and comfy. The choice of food is brilliant such a great selection, what caters for all tastes, you wont go hungry. This hotel has no faults in my eyes it should be a platinum hotel not a gold. Will certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Firstly - I had a wonderful holiday and the room was clean, comfortable and the view great. However, the air conditioning was awful. Most of the staff are lovely but there are a few who need to go to charm school! Interestingly the hotel smells strongly of shake n vac and it is sadly starting to look a little tired.

The restaurant serves food which is not 4 star. The breakfast coffee and juice comes out of a machine! The coffee really is terrible - tastes like gravy! And the bread rolls are out at 6.30am until breakfast stops at 10am! Cereal and jams are all the cheapest of the cheap variety. Many of the dinnner dishes taste very "packety" but some are delicious - it is a bit of a lottery! There is a bit of a scrum getting to food and there's a real emphasis on quantity not quality. However, it's worth going just to see how they decorate the food (one example being coloured gel crystals which stain your clothes!).

The freshwater pool is great and there is a fab terrace for the cliffs on E floor. However you will be charged 3 euros to play table tennis but nothing to play snooker. Entertainment is great for people who enjoy listening to power ballads and musical classics being loudly murdered!

It is a shame the resort is populated by english "cabaret" bars as it has a fantastic bijou beach and the stunning cliffs. The food outside the restaurant is fantastic and it's worth travelling to the next resort for authentic spanish restaurants.

Still had a brilliant holiday though!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We have just had another holiday in this hotel, the last one being October last year when I said I thought the standards had gone down. However, I must say that the hotel really has improved since then. The manager was in the dining room every meal time, clearing tables, wiping any spillage etc.really making sure that everything was spot on.We were surprised to see a female waitress in the dining room,never seen one before in the previous 7 visits and she was like a breath of fresh air.The thing that surprised us most was the sunbed rush - or lack of it ! We have always stayed here in March or October when the queue for beds starts at 6.30 and we once counted from our balcony over 70 people run out at 8am to grab "their" beds. This time I watched from our balcony that only a handful wandered out at 8am and you could get a bed at anytime of the day which was a pleasant change.The spa was up and running but never saw anyone use it - they were even giving out a free session as a prize one evening.The day we left we saw the maids come back on duty at 6pm to clean the lift doors and mirrors after people had left the pool ready for the guests to come down for dinner.The only fault I can find with this hotel is the fact that the chairs and sofas in reception are worn and stained and should be replaced. There are plenty on the upper floors which are never used so I dont know why they dont move these. The bars around the hotel were very quiet with TJs being the busiest. Some of them only had a handful of people each night. A word of warning - if you go to the Green Corner for a glass of wine, dont let them persuade you to have a large one - I did and it was like a goldfish bowl - it must have held over half a bottle ! Drinks in the hotel were reasonable, Green Corner and Paddys being the dearest.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay although the weather was very disappointing for June . We had some sun but on several days the cloud hung round the mountains and never cleared until evening. We will definately return but not in the Winter months purely because of the sunbed situation. It is a shame the management cannot do anything about it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed in Hotel Los Gigantes with my husband - our first time in a Thomson Gold hotel and thoroughly enjoyed every minute - were greeted by Manager and staff with a glass of wine - were not quite sure what was going on - as normally you book in and go straight to your room ! - went straight into the dining room for a cold meat plate (arrived at 10.00pm after our bus had broken down !) - after this everything was fantastic - pool towels supplied deposit @ 2.50 euros each (towels could be exchanged every day for clean ones) - very wide choice of food for breakfast and dinner (including vegetarian and diabetic) - WARNING - long trousers to be worn at evening meal ! would recommend this hotel for adults travelling without children and will definately be returning in the future ! - everybody was friendly - waiters, receptionists etc and would recommend TJ's (the music bar next door) for a good night out !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSM Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We have just returned from the most wonderful holiday we have ever had. From the moment we walked through the door of the Los Gigantes (9.15pm) we were treated wonderfully by Pepi the Manager and his staff who welcomed us with a glass of Champagne and then led us to the Restaurant where all the staff were waiting for us with a hot meal, which was lovely. We then went to our room, which was at the back of the hotel, very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable (the best we have had in a hotel) the room was spacious with a lovely view of the Marina, and Los Gigantes itself. The breakfast is exceptional, with everything you can think of, and plenty of it, full English, omelettes, fruit, salad and cold meats etc.

Evening dinner is splendid, and the sweets are to die for (no good being on a diet here!).
Entertainment is very good and the team do a fantastic job, very professional. The resident duo are super, they sing mainly ballads which we really enjoyed. The bar service is excellent and very reasonably priced compared with other hotels.

Everything is relaxed and very laid back and the entire staff are lovely and very helpful.

The resort itself is fairly small but has everything. It is a walk downhill to the Marina, past little shops and bars. There are fish in the Marina which love to be fed with bread, we bought a loaf in the supermarket and had a smashing half hour feeding them, there were hundreds! most enjoyable.

If you go up the hill turn right from hotel, there is the Bamboo Tea Rooms, they have the most wonderful Strawberry Tarts (a must!).

If you go for a walk after dinner, the whole area is very safe for an amble which is nice.
We booked a Whale & Dolphin watching trip and were not disappointed, we will remember this one forever! don't miss it. The whales came along side and a group of dolphins where doing somersaults and all sorts of tricks. We also visited Laro Parque, which was super, but a long day (well worth it) both trips are a bit pricey, but worth every Euro.
The whole of the resort is spotlessly clean and a credit to the local council. Other people we spoke to had been there for twenty years without missing one, that says it all. This was our first visit to Tenerife, having been all over the Med and Spain, and it will certainly not be our last, roll on next year!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gigantes

Address: Flor de Pascua, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.