We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Gigantes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Los Gigantes to your Saves list
Hotel Los Gigantes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flor de Pascua, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottinghamshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We have visited the Hotel 6 times ,we have been to lots of different places abroad but still keep returning to this hotel. The staff are very friendly, its relaxing, clean , the service is good , there is plenty of food something to suit everyone, and its peaceful not like Los Americas. And the Manager is always asking if everything is alright , he is always checking round to make sure everthing is running smooth not like some hotels were you never see the Manager .
You always get some people that complain mostly just for the sake of it, makes me wonder just what they want for there money

We have met couples of all different ages and not heard any complain at least not while they are there

cannot wait for next visit

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    441
    171
    78
    56
See reviews for
56
964
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Just returned from our fourth visit to this hotel in 3 yrs. Having read recent reviews some people have slated this hotel unfairly for both its food and age of clientel. We were at this hotel the first week of the easter school break April 2009,
What people have got to undretstand before booking is that this is a Thomsons Gold hotel for people over 16yrs set in a beautiful location in a very quiet part of civilised Tenerife which hasn't been spoilt at all by the time share pushers or bar staff from bars outside the hotels trying to drag you in for a pint or a meal, I believe crime in this area is nil which reasures you of a good holiday .
Outside the hotel are a number of small bars & eating places and a lovely harbour area offering the normal whale & dolphin sight seeing trips .
Once you get to know the surrounding areas there are beautiful walking routes upto the view point high up above the streets in Los Gigantes and around the neighbouring Crab IsIland and the Santiago area where you can follow the coastline for as far as you want. Take your time and no matter what age you are you'll get around with plenty seating if you want to take a breather at any time
Local people take pride in this area which is kept really clean and tidy and odour free !.
Now getting back to the Hotel. Yes the average age of clientel is very elderly but some have been coming back year after year for 30yrs or more which mean since they were in their 30yrs.when they first starting coming . You only come to this hotel if you want lovely surroundings with peace & quiet and meat nice people which don't have criminal record numbers stamped on their forehead.
The food we found was very good this year. It did take a bit of a dive last year but this year was very good and is the best it ever has been and cannot be faulted with a good choice of cooked meats,vegetarian dishes etc every day. The staff are very pleasant and the manager is always at hand in the hotel restaurant if anyone wants to make any suggestions.
The rooms are spacious and well kept by the maids, I would always reccomend paying extra for a sea view to fully appreciate the views and take binoculrs to watch the dolphins in the sea performing for the boats out in the bay
The only disapointments for us this year is that the Hotel has just opened a sauna / massage area where they are charging 10 euros a day to use the hot tubs/saunas which are free of charge in other Gold hotels and not many people were willing to pay that and the facility is little used . The other dissapointment were most of the acts booked for this hotel were poor and we found better singers outside at Domingos bar and T.J. bar which are both directly outside the hotel
My wife and I are aged 50 from Newcastle and have already booked to go back in October this year and cannot understand why some people slate this hotel and they should read reviews before booking . If you want peace & quiet and meet nice people come here, if you want noise go to Las Americas.
Because you can guarantee the hot weather all year around we will return early & late in the year and have our main summer holiday elsewhere to break up thye visits.We have been coming abroad for 30 yrs and have been to most other detinations but this hotel beats the rest for a nce quiet relaxing holiday

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

We have just come back from 1 week in this hotel. 3rd time of visiting the area, 1st and last time of staying at this hotel. We are in our early 40's, but we we're so out of place here. All the other guests were over 60 and way above ! All the staff are of similar ages, and we only saw a couple of them crack a smile a about twice ! The rooms were very clean and spacious, we figured that this was so they could move there zimmer frames around easier !
The food !! Well again catering for the elderly, meat and 2 veg ! only on our last nite did it improve. The place can only be described as one step short of a residential home !
Los Gigantes is a very quiet resort which we knew, as our 3rd visit. We found out that many of the guests have been goin there for over 30 years, I'm sure they must be enjoying it. But no where when we booked it did it state an age discrimination. Fourtunately we met with another couple of the same age as us, who felt exactly the same. So we had a good laugh about it, as that was all we could do and make the most of it.
Please read this as a warning if your under 65 or even young at heart.. STAY AWAY !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I have just returned from a week's holiday in Tenerife, staying at the Thomson Gold Hotel, Los Gigantes. I had read a few negative comments about this Hotel but given that it is Thomson GOLD rated, I assumed it must be of a good standard.

Overall I must admit that I had a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday and the Los Gigantes had a nice atmosphere and some good qualities. Check in was a pleasant surprise as we were led to a lounge and served champagne whilst filling out our check in slips. This was a nice touch and a good start to the Holiday.

The food was especially good. A huge variety, always hot and tasty.

The bedrooms were very spacious and clean.

I had read comments that sun loungers were hard to get hold of as many guests reserved them very early in the morning but we found that sun loungers were plentiful and there were always many available. Whether this is different in the height of the season, I'm not sure as we went in March. We did find, however, that waiters only served people near the main pool so if you were relaxing on one of the terraces, they didn't come to serve drinks.

One of our main gripes was the table wear in the Restaurant. The Hotel only changed table cloths prior to evening service so breakfast service had the previous nights table cloths. Given that you were allocated a table when you entered the dining room, the table cloths were soiled by someone else and clean cutlery was placed on these soiled table cloths. I found this really off putting and rather disgusting and one morning we had to turn the table cloth over as it was really dirty. One of the waiters saw us do this and asked what the problem was and was very apologetic but it didn't make any difference as the next day we were faced with dirty tablecloths again.

The decor in the Hotel was very dated and worn. Some of the main public rooms had worn carpets and peeling wallpaper. They were dark and looked more like a Genleman's Lounge and we saw a rather large cockroach walking accross the lounge carpet one evening.

The dining rooms were extremely busy as you can imagine. The food being self service meant that people were coming and going so you was constantly dodging people. However, the waiters never seemed to move out of the way and expected guests to stop and let them pass even though you may be stood there with a full and hot plate in your hand. I found this very rude and by the end of the week it became a battle of wills to see who would move out of the way first as being a guest (and a woman), I would expect the male waiter to stop and let me pass.

The Hotel had different entertainment who performed for an hour each evening and most of them were exceptionally good. However, for the rest of the time you were stuck with the resident duo were rather disappointing. I believe it was their last week as we left so hopefully the next resident entertainers will be better.

Another problem which can't be blamed on the Hotel was the music coming from surrounding bars outside. If you have a room on the front of the Hotel, be aware that the bars play music until midnight so an early night is out of the question.

The Hotel is listed as a Thomson Gold Hotel. However, we couldn't find any up to date certificates except one's that showed Gold Medal Awards which isn't the same and given the lack of attention to detail ie soiled tablecloths, I am surprised that Thomson still have it listed in the Gold brochure. I can only assume that this is because the Hotel has a high return rate. However, the Hotel is geared towards the elderly and the older guests outweighed the younger one's (like myself) by 10:1. This being the case I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone under the age of 50.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

Just returned from a Week At Hotel Los Gigantes having read some poor reviews was a little apprehensive before going but any fears disapeared once arriving there. Every thing excellent Staff friendly and very helpfull, Food could not be faulted.all in all a excellent Hotel. If anyone compains about this hotel they would complain about anything and I suggest they stay at Home

D Pateman Kettering

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Stayed at this hotel end of february with my boyfriend, we are both in our mid twenties but were not looking for a rowdy holiday but more of a peaceful and relaxing one, and surely enough we got it!. After my boyfriend got offered the GOLD hotel which was for 'adults only' we were keen to except to avoid young noisy children/drunken teenagers. However, once arriving at the hotel and after the constant stares and tut tuts from the other 'older guest' ,we felt fairly unwelcome due to the fact we were younger then every other guest(and this was not from the staff but the guests!) I was unaware of thomson gold hotels before this visit, but as a twenty four year, am unlikely to book another one if all hotels have the same 'elderly atmosphere' as this one. We were the youngest in the hotel by about 40-50 years, this wasnt a worry to us and we do not judge, however were left feeling extremely unwelcome and awkward for being there as though we didnt have the right!!! apart from that, the staff were all very welcoming to us,

Los gigantes itself is a lovely quiet tame 'village' with nice restaurants/and pubs very close to the hotel and down by the marina. Even though it seems to be a completely tourist place, it didnt feel too tacky and english as some places can. We also, like the last post rented a car and drove around the island, going to masca(you have to be quite a confident driver with a small car to drive down!) also seeing mount teide aswell as the north of the island. we also visited los americas and even though we are in our twenties and always looking for a good night out, felt it was overly touristy and abit tacky to be honest.

The hotel room was very comfortable, with a nice big room, with THE most comfortable bed, balcony and ok not the biggest bathrooms, but decent all the same. The noise from TJs can be heard, but when the balcony doors are closed, it is only a faint noise.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone our age purely based on how awkward we were made for feeling young! so much so then the day we left we saw another young couple checking in that we wished them good luck!

If you want a peaceful relaxing holiday then this hotel has no faults that we could see, the food might not be 5* but there was lots of variety and the staff, who seem to be working 7 days a week were all very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Felt I had to write even though it was August 2007 when I visited this hotel. I have stayed at many Gold Hotels and this was definitely not up there with the best.
On arrival shown to room with other new guests for drink and welcome and this was very pleasant. Room itself was ok and must admit the bed was very comfortable,however bathroom although clean,very cramped and dated. The hotel has beautiful grounds and 2 lovely pools. It's main downfall is it's restaraunt which served up lukewarm food and not very good quality compared to other Gold's eg. Picafort Park and Falesia. The poolside bar staff were exceptionally rude and surly but on a good note the reception staff were great.
There were four of us in our party and 3 of us suffered with bad stomachs,two of us for one day and one for two days,we had not encountered this with Gold hotels before and after reading reviews from last and this year (2009) I am convinced it is the hotel! Other people were complaining as well,I am sure it comes from the restaraunt or staff.
I am afraid this hotel does not seem to have improved and how people can return year after year is beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Gigantes

Address: Flor de Pascua, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Gigantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.