We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outdoor dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Cabri

Restaurant Le Cabri
Route de Savignac, 47120 Duras, France
+33 5 53 83 81 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 restaurants in Duras
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“outdoor dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Perfectly cooked local food and delightful outdoor dining.Although my companions all had duck and foie gras which looked excellent I had seafood and fish dishes which were also really good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    27
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
home
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great welcome and great food. The fixed price lunchtime menu represents excellent value and the maigret on the a la carte is the best you will get anywhere. We eat here once a week when visiting the area and have not been disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“another return visit, this time for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

midway on our visit to this regioin of France we called in for lunch, we hadnt booked but were made very welcome. There was ample to choose from including a la carte.
We were not disappointed. Eileen and Peter the owners were as friendly and efficient as ever.
The french chef never lets us down with a good meal cooked perfectly. The menus are reasonably priced.
The Restaurant was busy with both English, French and American diners. There is always a friendly buz around the place and we try to make our way to visit once or twice on our trip. We no doubt will be there again in September.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Won't be rushing back in a hurry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had been recommended Le Cabri and booked a table for 5 for the evening. Believe that it is run by an English couple and we were served by an English woman and think the husband was 'the chef'. We were rather pushed into having an outside table even though the evening was a bit cool (however it was pointed out that there were heaters if we got cold). Four of us decided to have 'The Menu' and my sister not being a big eater just wanted a main course from the a la carte. We were treated like a huge group, having to put our hands up when asked 'who's for the duck?' who's for the steak etc. When my sister said she would like the fish, was told - it's not your turn, you don't understand the system! Now you can take it that it was all done in a jovial way, but it just made me embarrassed and cross. I can understand if you have a group of 12 who have already had a drink or two, but there were only five of us. When one of my guests asked what a bavette steak (as on the chalk board) was, the reply was 'we haven't got any'. A carafe of indifferent red wine was plonked on the table (no offer of white or rosé). The food was average at best - can you get foie gras wrong? Well you can if you try to offer Melba toast, which hasn't been toasted. My steak was OK, but for France, overcooked. Pudding of strawberry bavarois (?) was obviously out of the freezer. All in all, one of the most unpleasant evenings I have had in this region, which is full of better places who deserve your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Astier, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food, service and atmosphere - a surprise for a camp site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

As others have said don't be put off by the fact that this restaurant is on a camp site. Inside is a lovely, almost farmhouse-type restaurant with very good food. The owners are very welcoming. We ate Sunday lunch here and the food was both good quality and good value. Menus start at 14 Euros (even at the weekend, providing there is no live music). The chef is French and cooks really tasty food. The 21 Euro menu had good Foie Gras as one of the starters (other were a variety of seafood) and a tasty piece of beef. The 14 Euro had a home-made soup and confit of chicken (desert on this menu was 2 Euros extra). The local house wine is very drinkable (if not the best in the area). We shall return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Cabri also viewed

 
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Been to Restaurant Le Cabri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Cabri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.