We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and base for exploring Alsace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg to your Saves list
Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 rue de Rodern, 68590 Thannenkirch, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thannenkirch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and base for exploring Alsace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This month we stayed a week in this great hotel in the pretty village of Thannenkirch,nestling 500 metres up in the foothills of the Vosges and a 10-minute drive from the famous Route du Vin.The village,with a population of 500,also boasted a particularly good restaurant,"Le Melkerhof".
The hotel,run by a lovely hard-working and enthusiastic couple,Steeve and Regine,with the help of Sophie,has a beautiful and peaceful location with ample car-parking space.Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean,tastefully decorated and had great views of the village and forest above.The bathroom was bright and well-appointed with a great walk-in shower.
The buffet breakfast was rich and varied with lots of home-made bread,pastries and jam-cherry plum,morello cherry,bilberry,wild cherry,fig-pancakes,muffins,croissants,pain au raisin and much much more.
I can only endorse all that previous reviewers have said about this hotel and would like to thank Steeve,Regine and Sophie for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
72
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg, and we'd recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this pretty part of Alsace. The room was clean, quiet, nicely decorated and with a view of the garden. The owners are friendly, and the breakfast is varied and good. There's at least one very good restaurant close by, but many more a short drive away. The TA reviews are correct!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It was warm, clean, welcoming, tastefully decorated in a modern but sympathetic style The breakfast was amazing and Steeve and Regine could not have been more welcoming or helpful. It was booked out for the whole of our week's stay and it certainly deserved to be. The location is quiet and very beautiful in the mountains of Alsace. Snack meals are available in the evening. These are generous and very well presented. There are also several restaurants in the area and Steeve who speaks good English is always happy to recommend and book tables. Stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had been looking for a while for a place like this, having been in Alsace several times for more than 20 years. The place is very neat, renovated two years ago, taken care of by dedicated people. A few rooms, good choice of decoration (a plus in Alsace, but it is subjective of course), nice showers. Noise can be heard inside but quite normal for a house dating of the 18th century. Rooms 7 and 8 were very nice. Nice breakfast buffet. A few restaurants around but this needs to be taken care of during the low season. The staff is however more than ready to help with advices and reservations. We will definitely go back (nice dogs by the way).

Room Tip: see comments in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

You Really fell at. Home In This charming hotel. The owners , mainly Steve is very nice and helpfull. Do not miss to try the plat du formage avec vin gewurstraminer. It is really excellent.
We William come black for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Very charming small and new hotel in Alsace with an exceptional service!! We felt like we were home (beautiful common area), but at the same time we got a five star service.. amazing breakfast buffet despite we were the only guests at that time. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just to reiterate what most have already said - recently and very thoughtfully restored hotel in pretty but not over-chocolate-boxed village on la route des vins d'Alsace - and also relatively close to Colmar (so if you have a car, think of seeing Colmar, but staying in Thannenkirch, which is about 20-30 minutes drive away - less if you know the way and don't dawdle en route ); hard working, delightful and completely engaged hosts; bedrooms bright, colourful, and clean as a new penny; showers pour hot water (in the right way);breakfast worth every cent (you will give me pain au choc and crepes? and home-made jams? and fruit? and local cheese? and as much coffee as I would like? with a smile? my goodness!). And they positively welcome walkers.....and, I imagine, cyclists.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg

Address: 9 rue de Rodern, 68590 Thannenkirch, France
Location: France > Alsace > Haut-Rhin > Thannenkirch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thannenkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to discover Alsace and stay in our charming Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg combining modernity and antiquity, 10 minutes away from landmark Ribeauvillé : this 18th century house has been completely renovated to seduce you by its charm, calm and friendliness. Our nine rooms are modern and eclectic and dissimilar decoration was thought with taste for your pleasure.We make a point in welcoming our guests, their well-being and wishes. We offer Hotel quality in a bed and breakfast atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg Thannenkirch, France - Alsace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.