We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria de Guara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria de Guara to your Saves list
Hosteria de Guara
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Oriente 2, 22144 Bierge, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Bierge B&B and Inns
RG27 8ND
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a bit of trouble with the tomtom as our map was not up to date so approached this hotel by the small back roads and were quite relieved when we saw a sign for Bierge! The hostel is actually bigger than we imagined and the two sisters were so helpful with maps and places to visit. We were the only guests so had 2 afternoons on the terrace by the pool watching the birds and enjoying the view of the church on the hill in the village. This must be a wonderful location for proper bird watchers. Short dirve to Alcazar a wonderful hilltop town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a wonderful, peaceful place - my husband and I stayed for 3 nights in November 2011 and we loved every minute of our time there, simply looking at the incredible landscapes, strolling around the nearby village or listening to the many and varied birds. It probably helped, too, that upon arrival we were upgraded to a palatial room (spotlessly clean, of course), complete with gigantic bathroom with his-and-hers sinks! We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts (it's a family-run business), although initially the people at the front desk had relatively poor English (and we had worse Spanish) so it was hard to make ourselves understood. Even so, we were plied with maps and many suggestions of things to do and see in the area (the half hour trip to the nearby village Alquezar is well worth it for spectacular scenery and tasty food). After a day or so, the main front desk person who spoke good English returned from a trip to London and communication problems were solved.

We found there were few restaurants in the immediate area, so most of our meals were taken in the hosteria itself, either at the bar or in the restaurant. This was not a problem as the food was very tasty, as we could have anticipated, having had excellent breakfasts each day. These included bread, cheese, cured meats, fresh vegetables, yoghurt, a selection of olive oils (including one pressed in the village) and sometimes even cake! We also brought back a souvenir of our stay, a bottle of delicious Somontano olive oil, which is from the region and well worth purchasing. We now wish we had brought back more!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you get the chance to stay here, then take it! The food is wonderful, the atmosphere is very friendly and fun, the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The staff here give you great service, recommending things and making bookings and so on. Also, there is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We had three nights, but wished we could have spent more time. We stayed in a family room with our children (10 and 12) and it was very comfortable, with everything we needed. We will come back here if we ever get the chance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Agree with all the other reviewers, this is a lovely hotel in a nice quiet location. You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive and their English is really good although they'll say its not. Breakfast and dinner are both very good and to sit on the outside terrace for meals was lovely. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the garden was a good size, bathroom huge, air con was a bonus as it was so hot when we were there. Some good walks in the surrounding area and nice villages to wander round. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the friendly welcome to our departure,Hosteria de Guara never missed a beat. A wonderful setting, excellent views from the comfortable rooms, and excellent food for both dinner and breakfast. We were lucky to enjoy dinner on the outside terrace in the evening sun. The attraction is the peace and quiet - so it's not a place if you're looking for night life. Nor are there other options for eating in the drinking in Bierge, so it's a good thing that this hotel is so good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I had eight nights at the Hosteria de Guara and enjoyed every part of our stay. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed and decent size en suite bathroom. We were serenaded every day and night by a Nightingale which performed outside our room in the old garden. The surrounding area is peaceful and there are many local walks which don't require the use of a car. The bird watching is very good locally and even better if you go into the Guara park. I saw all three vultures from the patio whilst enjoying a beer and the nearby vulture feeding station ( a mile away ) is very dramatic if you get to see the birds gathering for food. In fact the area at this time of year ( early May ) was very beautiful and devoid of tourists. The staff at the hotel are great and we were very well looked after throughout our stay. They were helpful without being intrusive and Eva works extraordinarily hard to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The food is very good and we enjoyed all our meals. The drinks are not too expensive and the value for money is good. We have been all over the world and this has to be one of our best holidays. We shall return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm a keen birder so I want to be near to birding sites.... and this hotel is excellent for that and for its hospitality. I've stayed on 4 occasions now and the food is very good (rustic style) and the accommodation is just what I want for a birdwatching trip - comfortable but not fussy. In February this year I invited 10 friends to join me and everyone was really happy with this hotel. My photos are from a visit in Oct 2011.

Room Tip: A room over the back (over the pool) is best. See my photo from Oct 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria de Guara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria de Guara

Address: Oriente 2, 22144 Bierge, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Bierge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bierge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria de Guara 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway, to practice adventure sports, visit the wineries of the Somontano Wine Route or to enjoy a day of bird watching. Choose the one you like and enjoy a comfortable and cozy stay just like you would at home, but without having to worry about anything.We know our surroundings well, the Sierra de Guara and Somontano Region, so we want to help you find out more about this great region from our hotel whichever way you prefer: on your own or with professional guides. You decide.Our hotel is part of quality clubs Rusticae, Ruralka, Native, and Logis of France, among others.We are a Friendly Motor hotel; we have facilities for basic maintenance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hosteria de Guara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria De Guara Spain/Bierge, Huesca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria de Guara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.