We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of Andalusia for my clients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El CastaNar Nazari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El CastaNar Nazari to your Saves list
El CastaNar Nazari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera a-4132 Km 39, 9 | Granada, 18416 Busquistar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busquistar
Algeciras, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The highlight of Andalusia for my clients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I run Toma Tours which is a boutique travel company in Andalucia. We chose El CastaNar after finding good reviews on the web for some clients who wanted to stay in authentic, out of the way places. This hotel was a huge hit and they were reluctant to leave. The warm hospitality seals the deal. There are many beautiful hotels in the world but upon arrival at El CastaNar each guest felt welcome and appreciated. The evening meal was superb. I can't fault this hideaway that brushes the heavens...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
151
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I am not in the habit of writing reviews, however, the three days my partner and I had at El Castanar Nazari was so enchanting I felt I should write a review of this little Hotel.
I would say that this has to be the best place I have stayed the hospitality was exceptional, even the pet dogs were lovely, without hesitation I would recommend this little place to any one. . The rooms were lovely the setting wonderful, if you enjoy nature then the location is perfect. If you want a quiet spot away from your busy life this is the spot.
And do eat at the local restaurant recommended by the owners, if you are so inclined I would take some walking boots and explore the Alpujarra Mountains.
The owners even gave me a box of chocolates for my Birthday – how wonderful

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent a week end at the hotel, Encarna and Felix are the most wonderful people and very helpful in everything you need and want to know. Their knowledge of the Alpujarra's is amazing. The hotel it self it out of this world, very clean, spacious and simply beautiful. The breakfast is traditional and plenty of it. The views of the mountains are breathtaking. The best way to get away from everything and relax the garden is also wonderful. We hope to visit the hotel again soon. Thank you so much a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am writing this review while sitting in the comedor, drinking a great cup of coffee after a long day. The place is very tasteful and one of the most vhale-for-money I have ever stayed in. Te service is wonderful. We arrived at the evening it was freezing cold and were suggested to have a cup of coffee in the comedor and warm up. Felix arranged us a short horse trekking with Jose Antonio in Trevelez and even escorted us in the morning to his farm. The trip was indeed a one time experience. Felix has already set the fireplace in our room (yep, it is cold today)and I can't wait to have a relaxing evening in our gorges accomdatin

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the nicest, unusual places we have ever stayed. Peace and tranquility is the main element. The small hotel rurale has all the makings of a 5 star establishment. Total spotless, huge beds with nice linen. Massive bathroom and excellent toiletries. Bathrobe and slippers (we didnt make much use of as it was boiling hot!) these I would imagine would be great in the autumn or spring when the weather is cooler. The hosts of this place are the nicest people you would ever meet, so helpful and friendly. The Alpujarras is a most beautiful part of the world and is good walking counrty but if you are interested in peace and quiet, spanish history and heritage this area is a must see. There are a couple of nice outdoor municipal pools in the surrounding area which only cost a couple of euro's each if you are here in summer and are in need of a dip!

The scenery is breathtaking. We would like to thank Felix and Encarna for their hospitality and care whilst we were staying at thier hotel. Our Spanish is vague and Felix,s English is on his admitance sparce! However we managed to communicate surprisingly well! We were served a fantastic breakfast every morning and a deal of care and thought was clearly put into this.

We will return again, probalbly during the spring when it is not so hot.

Room Tip: All rooms are 5 star and have stunning views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very gracious hosts Felix and Encarna have a beautiful lodge-like setting. We felt pampered with the quality of French soap, linens and decorative and classy tableware. The breakfasts were homemade, generous and wonderfully prepared. The fact that Encarna had attended a culinary academy was evident in her meal presentations. Felix is an accomplished photographer and shows his work in Grenada and other cities. We enjoyed wine with the couple in their pergola and shared our hiking experiences. They were most helpful with hiking recommendations in the Sierra Nevada. They also recommended the local restaurant La Fragua and we liked it so much, we returned there all 3 evenings. Their hospitality was broadened even further when they provided us a very thorough written list of their recommendations for Barcelona – from coffee shops, ice cream, cocktails and restaurants (La Flauta is highly recommended). During our stay the couple received their “Excellent” rating certificate from Trip Advisor and our experience here confirms the worthiness of their award. This was our best hotel stay in our 5-week stay in Spain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The couple running this small hotel is very nice, charming, and very helpful. We didn't read any review here or elsewhere before we stopped there so we just chose the place spontaneously. The nature is beautiful and the view is stunning. The hotel is located near Trévelez what is probably the most charming village in Sierra Nevada. This was our best stay in Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El CastaNar Nazari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El CastaNar Nazari

Address: Carretera a-4132 Km 39, 9 | Granada, 18416 Busquistar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Busquistar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busquistar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El CastaNar Nazari 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El CastaNar Nazari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El CastaNar Nazari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.