We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swissminiatur

Swissminiatur
Via Cantonale, Melide 6815, Switzerland
4191 640 10 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Melide
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Switzerland in miniature!Swissminiatur is an open-air miniature park located on the shore of Lake Lugano. There are more than 120 models at scale 1:25 representing the most important buildings, monuments and transportation means in Switzerland. A 3,560m long model railway with 18 trains runs through the park. Self–service restaurant with local, Italian, authentic Chinese and Indian cuisine. Gift shop and playground for children. Small passenger train with route around the park. Large car and bus park available. Open daily from mid March to end October, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Naxxar Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spend few hours there and we enjoyed it. Stopped there during travelling from Milano to Lugano - If you like to watch small size mechanical items it's worthed to visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    82
    43
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“It is what you might expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Switzerland is a nice but not very exciting country. If you miniaturize that you'll get.....Swiss Miniatures. For those who visited Madurodam in The Netherlands, this does not compare: it is way smaller, less well maintained and less detailed. Swiss Miniature basically is a very nice mini train landscape in the setting of Switzerland.

We had a pleasant visit and the kids liked it quite a lot. They were disappointed to be thrown out of the train ride because they did not have a coin for it......the ride turned out to come at an extra cost of 2SFr each.

Skip the expensive restaurant and visit the supermarket directly across the street, saves you a ton and you'll have a lot bigger choice :-)

Behind the football pitch next to the park is a very nice picnic area and beautiful playground for the kids. Nice!

We stayed in nearby Hotel Lago do Lugano and asked if they had any special deal for the park, and they had! Kids for free, parents SFr 4 of each. Prices then still are quite elevated.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took our son here for the morning and had a great time. We had a lovely time wandering around. Our son loved watching the trains and cable cars and pointing out the places he had visited. The train ride around the edge of the park is extra to the entrance fee , and only lasts just under 5 minutes but is still good fun

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun to visit, while in Lugano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I visited the Swissminiatur during my winter trip around Lugano part of Switzerland with my parents. Unfortunately, February was not the best time for such a trip. However, the best part is that it was not crowded at all. For us - Swiss lovers - it was nice to see attractions around the whole country from "bird's view" and create a list of those to see in real.
It is definitely worth visiting if traveling with children. However, my parents were also very excited as it was their first time at such an attraction. I would rate Brussels' mini-europe higher than this one, as Swissminiatur seems to me a bit outdated. Anyways, worth visiting if you have spear time around there...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A fun bird's eye view of Switzerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Though we are not the target group for the attraction (couple in their 30s without children) we still had a fun 2 hours visiting it. The fact that we have been some time in Switzerland added to he fun as we were trying to find out which place each model was depicting without looking at the description. We also discovered however many places we didn't know to add in our "to visit" list. On the negative side, it was a very hot day and the place offers little protection from the sun.The toilets are also not a swiss highlight...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swissminiatur also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Swissminiatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissminiatur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.