We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape - a dream!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great escape - a dream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

small design hotel, directly at lake lugano. stayed there already second time and will go back, simply a dream: location, designy rooms, food&drinks, small details like free wifi, mini bar, sunbeds at the lake, free coffee during afternoon. LOVE IT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
10
94
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
troisdorf
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Melide has not many restaurants, good food at the hotel-restaurant and pizza-restaurant opposite the street.
There are many nice little towns around the lake lugano.
Large shopping/outlet mall ten minutes by car.
But it is also nice to relax at the own large terrace at the seaside or at the public terrace with cakes and coffee (free, offered by hotel) or some wine and prosecco in the aftrenoon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weggis, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel is just perfect if you like something special, not the usual 4-star-standards. The only drawback was that our room had its windows on the street side which is - in the hotel brochure - defined as "small village road". Well, there is quite some traffic on this small road and if you have to have the windows open in summer (there is no air conditioning, which is ok) it was too loud for me to sleep well. But I am very sensitive to car noise so for others it might be ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Melide is a small town, in between Lugano and Mercote, along the lago di Lugano. It's really lovely, and a nice way to spend a quiet few days. It's amazing to me how varied Switzerland is - in such a small country, variations in culture and landscape keep it interesting. This was my first trip to the Ticino, after lving in the German-speaking part for a few years.

We booked the Tokkio Hotel room - it's all white and has funky LEDs that change color. The room is large and has both a jacuzzi tub and a steam shower. Nice view out of the window to the Lago di Lugano across the street. You are across the street from the main hotel, and the street is in between. We didn't find it excessively noisy, but it could bother some people. The room is up a flight of stairs, so it's not appropriate for someone who can't do stairs. But it's a great room with those caveats in mind.

I really liked the hotel. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly - most of them do double service in the restaurant. They switch between Italian, German and English easily (probably French too). The hotel has amenities that are nice - for example, free drinks (non alcoholic) in the mini bar, a coffee maker, good linens and towels. The steam shower is awesome. Each room is different, but we loved the one we choose.

My big complaint was that the free wireless Internet did not work in our room, and neither did the wired. But since we were there to relax, I didn't care that much.

Breakfast is included - the typical buffet breakfast, although this is very nice - cheese, meats, boil your own egg, breads, cereals and an interesting choice of conserves and jams, for example wild berries in balsamic vinegar. The restaurant is against the lake, and since it was warm, we sat outside. Lovely ambiance. The menu is inventive - all in all quite good, although I found the sushi to have too much rice and it was a bit dry. Lots of fish on the menu prepared in interesting ways. Otherwise, I enjoyed my meals. The wines were excellent and reasonably priced, wait staff attentive but not annoying.

The price is reasonable. It's not a budget hotel.

The area surrounding is quite lovely. I think it's best if you have a car. We drove all the way around the lake one day - and stopped to have lunch in Mercote. It's just a short drive to Lugano, and even Locarno or Bellinzona are close by. We did mostly sightseeing and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked for 6 nights but ended up staying for 7. Booking online a week before they only had the smaller rooms available, the 12sqm streetside 'Sugar & Sweet' (http://www.hotel-dellago.ch/E/sugarsweetE.html) was lovely, pink & cosy for the first 6 days. The lake view 'Art & Deco' room (http://www.hotel-dellago.ch/E/artdecoE.html) perfect for our last night. They have reduced rates for 6+ day stays.

Actually, we realised that we'd never have left the hotel if we had one of the lake view rooms - so, a blessing in disguise, perhaps!

There's a wonderful, fresh, expansive breakfast buffet every morning on the deck overlooking the lake. And if you do end up hanging out at the hotel during the day, the decks are closed off just for hotel guests where drinks and snacks are freely available.

At night the bar and lounge area on the lake is a perfect way to end your day, music, great cocktails and our favourite "one-stick" snacks. Friendly barman Stefano made us wonderful drinks on the one night of good weather we enjoyed - they don't open if it's raining, but you can still sit on the covered upper restaurant deck if it's closed.

The Dellago is great value too - after you've been around Lugano for a few days, you realise that it's not a cheap place, most meals for 2 will come to at least CHF50. So, if you factor in having breakfast included, a free minibar (no alcohol, but bubbly water, coke, red bull, tonic, bitter lemon) and a coffee machine in your room when looking at the Dellago's rates - there's at least CHF50/day of value right there. You get all the usual stuff: internet, tv, dvd, hifi, ipod hookup, computer/printer in the lobby.

Dellago is in Melide, which is about 10 minutes drive from central Lugano, so we did rent a Smart Car on our first morning from Sixt (CHF350/wk). There are plenty of trains and buses, but to give you flexibility of getting around it's probably a good idea. Plus there's free parking at the hotel. We managed to squeeze in 900km of driving around, including Lake Como and Interlaken during our 7 day stay.

We didn't eat a full meal at Dellago's restaurant in the evening, but it was busy most nights. This was perhaps the only reservation I had about Dellago, the menu reads a little too complex/fusion for the surrounds. We had drinks and snacks one night where the 'Deep Fried Asian Delight' included guacamole(?!). Having said that, you can't fault the venue for it's views, staff and atmosphere.

All the staff (Karin, Barbara, Nancy, our 'Indian' and the rest) are amazing. The hotel is small but perfectly formed. Not much more to say, it was one of the nicest and relaxing stays we've had. Highly recommended.

Oh, don't forget to visit Alessandro at Osteria Penel for the best meal in town http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g188095-d806387-Reviews-Osteria_Penel-Lugano_Ticino_Swiss_Alps.html -- great value too, dinner for 2 with wine (and multiple desserts) for CHF100.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

It' my usual piece of dream in reality. I usually go at the restaurant once a week not only to enjoy the food but to recharge my batterie !!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzern
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

would go there again. nice rooms, near the lake. not too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.