We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place with all different and beautiful rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
luzern
1 review
“lovely place with all different and beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

would go there again. nice rooms, near the lake. not too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
94
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

travel sites should warn you that this hotel is not in Lugano and has NO AIR CONDITIONING in the hottest month of the year.
It is not a boutique hotel, it is just a small hotel. The only good thing is the breakfast and the staff. the hotel is terrible.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Fantastic location and relaxing atmosphere ! Good food with ethnic twist !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

It's way too pricy for what it has to offer: the rooms are small; the bathroom is tiny; the bed was really uncomfortable because the mattress was worn through; the bed was rediculously placed on a raised platform with only a slither of space to spare on three sides before it takes the plunge to the main floor, (I leave it up to you imagination why this is an important aspect); it's located on the main street of Melide village, which has considerable traffic (admittely, we had a room facing the lake, which was nice, but could still hear the road); it's located about a 20 minute drive from Lugano; on both mornings we thought we were in Alfred Hitchcock's film The Birds when we were having our breakfast.

Despite all of the above, I have to compliment the staff. They are very friendly and well informed. You feel taken care of. Regardless if you stay there or not, you should definitely try their restaurant and bar. The food is very good and the location of the bar is chilled.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faellanden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Small art deco Hotel, right at the lake side, phantastic cuisine (a dream for seafood lovers :-) ), great rooms (each one completely different, greatly decorated) super friendly and service and very nice lounge bar right by the lake.

Free of charge wireless internet in every room as well as on

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed over a weekend. Our room -Campari & Orange) was on the small side, but nicely decorated, with a nice, modern bathroom and a HUGE terrace! We had dinner twice in the restaurant and the food (mine and hubby's) was great, as were the wines! The staff were really friendly and service was good.
There is a wine bar with lounge that looked pretty good, but we didn't have time to go.
Only problem was with parking because people who go there to the restaurant also park there so you had to wait for someone to go and then run and take the free parking spot. Be sure to get a lakeside room because the street is a bit noisy.
All in all, we had a great time and I can't wait to go back, so I really recommend this place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Beautiful little hotel directly on the shores of Lake Kugano! Each room is differently decorated. take a look at the pictures on their web! Complimentary mini bar and coffee&tea making facilities. Breakfast...small buffet but large choice, of bread jams, cold cuts, smoked salmon, cheese.... dinner on the terrace is an unforgettable experience. The whole stay has been unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.