We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Exceptional View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Save Saved
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room, Exceptional View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently spent a few nights at Dellago and I hope to return soon. I was a little worried due to some of the reviews that I read, but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival.

Check in was quick and easy - within minutes were were unpacking in our room in the building across from the main. The room was exactly what it promised to be. Yes, there was maybe a spot of two that could have been touched up with paint, but seriously there are much better things to be doing than walk around the room and look for issues. Also, despite the room being above a road, the noise was minimal. Actually, the only issue we really had was the Television/DVD/2:1 surround System, but it really didn't matter.

The view was spectacular and the room very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing with a great selection! Be sure to eat at the restaurant while you are there - the food and the view are amazing. And check out the gourment store across from the mail building.

Room Tip: Orient & Express. Large, Relaxing, bright, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    47
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
8
92
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 1 night in Dellago and everything was perfect.
There is a special (and very good) atmosphere in this hotel. The room was great with a beautiful view on the lake. The beach lounge is the perfect place to drink a cocktail. And last but not least, the restaurant is very good with a fusion food.
In addition to that, hosts are all very nice and helpful.
I do recommend this hotel and we will come back for a longer stay in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently stayed at this beautifully located Hotel for almost a week. We really liked the bar area directly on the lake! The restaurant was very "fine-dining" therefore expensive, but the terrace is spectacular. The breakfast buffet is great, the staff is friendly (however, not all staff speaks well English) Also the room was okay with a street view. Small as expected but with a comfortable mattress (for those who like hard mattresses, uncomfortable pillows but with heavenly covers!) and especially, clean! Furthermore, the location with the view is amazing. Nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafz, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at this beautifully located Hotel for just one night. We really liked the bar area directly on the lake! Our room, however, was fairly small and the bed was very uncomfortable (incl. the pillows!) The restaurant was very "fine-dining" therefore expensive, but the terrace is spectacular. Also, breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. If there is a misfit, then it would be the rooms. The IKEA furniture does not match the fine dining atmosphere experienced in the restaurant. Nevertheless, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renerenerene, Inhaber at Art Deco Hotel Dellago, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Buongiorno Richie G.

Thanks a lot for your positive feedback; great to hear you liked it with us :-)

However…

We openly declare all details of every single room on our website as well as on all external and third party partner platforms, telling you about size, furniture, floors, materials, renovation date, position and comfort level, it shows pictures including layout plans for every single room including furniture in correct reference and size.

We have simple, tiny 11 sqm Mini-Streetlive Rooms with narrow 140 x 200 cm beds, laminate floors, street-view, IKEA- furnishing and small bathrooms up to very spacious 60 sqm Sparkling Rooms with precious hardwood floors, luxurious design furniture, 180 x 200 cm beds, large open bathrooms with huge showers, your own private turkish bath and a jacuzzi or a spectacular private hot tub on the rooftop and there is a lot of different levels of comfort, quality and style in between…

So, if you book a cheap, small room with IKEA-furniture, then you'll get the cheap, small room with IKEA-furniture ;-)

Concerning value for money: Our non-winter room rates range from about EUR 120.- for the 11 sqm IKEA-rooms to EUR 260.- for the 60 sqm wellness-rooms, always including free minibar, free choice of coffees and teas from your private in-room coffee machine, free soft drinks, coffee and cake as much as you want in the afternoon and our breakfast with around 60 items - of which lots are home made - including a nice choice of first class teas from "L'Art du Thé", freshly brewed espresso, cappuccino, milk coffee, black single, double or latte macchiato on a finger tip and as much of it as you want.

Also, we let you check out at 13:00 while in other hotels for the same price you'll get a few slices of chewy bread, a standard variety of standard packed industrial jams, two choices of gummy, packed cheeses, industrially processed butter from undeclared origins, Lipton's universal black tea and American style coffee, brewed at six in the morning and left there to die till ten o'clock, when they throw you out of the breakfast room in order to have you checked out by 11:00…

The same for our restaurant: the menu, our wine and beverage lists are completely online and updated 24 hours, prices included. You'll find a statement about our kitchen philosophy, the importance we give to freshness and ethically acceptable products as well as the doing everything from scratch in the house. You will find all dishes accurately described, the prices are there, the to-chose-from veggie and allergic variations are there and all of it in three languages underlined with pictures of dishes and atmosphere.

It is such a pity to see these generally happy and positive comments, but spoiled by critics which could have easily been avoided by checking carefully what would satisfy your needs before booking something that doesn't and then sort of blame us for it.

Anyway, I am happy you had a good time and again, thanks for the compliments and the good moods you have had with us, but we are certain you would have had a still much better impression, if you'd had taken a few minutes more to chose a better match for you: In any case, we have repeated it many times on this platform:

We strongly recommend to carefully read before you book and then take a room that fits your needs, instead of complaining about things we openly declare everywhere.

Cheers, Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

+++ a super team, good rooms, best view from the balcony and the breakfast room. good food and fresh fish and seafood. breakfast is a good variety.

- only a view parking spaces...
- - - a very low affixed toilet. this is a no go!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dellago shortly for only one night and were very happy with our choice. We had a quite reasonably priced room facing the street and with a shared balcony. The price is very fair compared to other equally equipped placed.
The breakfast buffet is great, the staff is friendly (however, not all staff speaks well English or German) and the food at the restaurant was amazing. Also the room was okay. Small as expected but with a comfortable mattress (for those who like hard mattresses) and especially, clean! Furthermore, the location with the view is amazing.
So for those looking for a place to stay with reasonable prices (compared to CH-standard) and a favor for design/nice atmosphere, I would recommend the Hotel Dellago!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel three times over the past couple of years on business. Always had good experiences in the restaurant, and the property features fantastic quirky rooms - the upper floor lake view rooms are really special.

The only thing that's a little off is the way the management thinks it's ok to attack guests who make comments (see comment below). That's a little scary. Certainly it seems that the reviewer may not have been fair in his/her assessment of the property. But resorting to forensics and sarcasm in a public forum? I guess the management skipped class on the day they taught social media management.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renerenerene, Inhaber at Art Deco Hotel Dellago, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Buongiorno CEO3780

Thanks a lot for the compliments; it is good to hear you liked us :-) There is nothing to be scared about, though, and I am sure you have experienced us (including me) as quite friendly and pretty inoffensive.

However, if we are being confronted with bare lies, being called arrogant, lousy, greedy, decadent, non professional, when being told to transfer our staff to McD or worse, when being attacked for what we are and for what we openly declare, then we do not bow and talk sweet, but reply firmly and decided.

Social media has tremendously changed the tone of communications, giving everybody the chance of being heard globally, but it lets people forget to be respectful and reasonable, specially on this platform where one gets points and gains ranks for every comment and where one gets more attention the more aggressive and personal a feedback gets.

With the anonymous accounts of these days it has become too easy to cross the limits, insult someone and unreasonably, dishonestly damaging a reputation for no reason but to cuddle the own ego and without having to fear consequences whatsoever.

I definitely prefer to be confronted with critics and feedbacks in a constructive and factual way that helps us to identify blind spots to improve, get generally better, give the concept the right direction or at least explain the why, but if someone just calls us decadent because we did not serve a coffee outside service hours, we can't really take it serious and don't see why we could not reply with some sarcasm... ;-)

Anyhow: Cheers and thanks again for your nice feedback, hope to see you again soon

Rene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.