We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, very friendly staff, but take lake-side rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great views, very friendly staff, but take lake-side rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at Dellago and can recommend the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the lake-views are magnificant. Also the restaurant is very nice and the food to be recommended.

The idea of the different styling in each room is very good but how it had been carried out (painting work, furniture etc.) is not highest level and is not 100% in line with the room rates.

Also only lake-side rooms (e.g. white & boxes) can be recommended as the others (e.g. Paul Klee) are very loud (street noise).

Conclusion: clearly to be recommended but a little over-priced

  • Liked — lake view and great balconies
  • Disliked — quality of room (furniture, wall painting)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    51
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
10
105
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
amandamreid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night. Let me start by stating that this hotel is not in Lugano but in Melide! It is too far to walk to Lugano from the hotel, so you will have to take the train or a bus. Although the hotel has a very modern/chic theme, the place seems run down. Our bedroom and bathroom were incredibly small. There was no place to put our suitcase except in front of the door. The bed was not very comfortable, and the bedding seemed cheap. The bathroom had a tiny shower, and we could not use the light in the bathroom at night because the window treatments are sheer. Also, it was very, very noisy outside. We had to leave the windows open to keep the room cool, even with the fan running. The breakfast was not very good and we found it to be much better at other hotels. Hotel Dellago claims that the save you money by not having as many amenities as other hotels, but I think they charge way too much for what you get. For the price of the train tickets to and from Melide, we could have stayed at the super nice Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel for just a little bit more. I was very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Liked — It was directly on the lake
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

great Hotel for a weekend stay. Friendly staff, nice but small rooms. The restaurant is also very good for seafood lovers.

will come back....

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Gallen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

we stayed again 2 days there and it is simple one of the nicest hotels in ticino with wonderful seeview. the hotel is situated next to the see. the staff is friendly, the rooms are nice and the restaurant is extraordinary delicious.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gentbrugge
Level Contributor
165 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Dellago for two nights on our throughtrip to Tuscany. We loved it. The hotel itself is situated about 6km from Lugano in a quiet village called Melide. The hotel is just next to the Lake Lugano. It has a great "lakeside" bar where one can enjoy a snack (deeelicious tapas !!! definitely try it, etc...) and a drink (tasty cocktails....). The restaurant has an excellent cuisine and the terrace looks out onto the lake. Great view. The rooms are all different and bare all different names. We stayed in the "Purple & Rain room" which has lively colors and a nice sitting area. The bathroom is rather small but that is compensated with the ashtonishing view onto the lake from the rooms balcony. In the room there is a small fridge (filled with bottled water and soda's for the guests to enjoy free of charge).There is also a coffeemachine to use as much as you want. The staff is very friendly. In the afternoon the guests can enjoy freshly baked cake and coffee (all for free). Should we pass through the region again we would for sure stay there again.

  • Liked — great location, wonderfull restaurant
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Hotel Dellago was fabulous! Great location just outside Lugano, a 10 minute taxi ride or a short bus journey, or a short train ride! The staff is brilliant! They do more than one role in the establishment, so are helpful and knowledgeable on all that is going on. We did the laze and dine package and the 5-course chef surprise was one of the most divine meals I have had! We stayed in the flat and out that is across the street and found it lots of fun. Funky interior and great jacuzzi tub! We enjoyed Lugano as well, nice old town to stroll around. Also did the hike from Mt San Salvatore to Morcote and it was a nice hike through several small villages.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were there for a short week-end in February. The place was quiet as possible, romantic and delightful.
We booked the "white and boxes" room, with a balcony just across the lake. The restaurant offers some different ethnics food, which brought us a total change of scene.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Battello
Hotel Garni Battello
#4 of 4 in Melide
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.