We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay as usual...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Sankt Gallen
1 review
“Great stay as usual...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

we stayed again 2 days there and it is simple one of the nicest hotels in ticino with wonderful seeview. the hotel is situated next to the see. the staff is friendly, the rooms are nice and the restaurant is extraordinary delicious.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    49
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
10
96
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gentbrugge
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Dellago for two nights on our throughtrip to Tuscany. We loved it. The hotel itself is situated about 6km from Lugano in a quiet village called Melide. The hotel is just next to the Lake Lugano. It has a great "lakeside" bar where one can enjoy a snack (deeelicious tapas !!! definitely try it, etc...) and a drink (tasty cocktails....). The restaurant has an excellent cuisine and the terrace looks out onto the lake. Great view. The rooms are all different and bare all different names. We stayed in the "Purple & Rain room" which has lively colors and a nice sitting area. The bathroom is rather small but that is compensated with the ashtonishing view onto the lake from the rooms balcony. In the room there is a small fridge (filled with bottled water and soda's for the guests to enjoy free of charge).There is also a coffeemachine to use as much as you want. The staff is very friendly. In the afternoon the guests can enjoy freshly baked cake and coffee (all for free). Should we pass through the region again we would for sure stay there again.

  • Liked — great location, wonderfull restaurant
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Hotel Dellago was fabulous! Great location just outside Lugano, a 10 minute taxi ride or a short bus journey, or a short train ride! The staff is brilliant! They do more than one role in the establishment, so are helpful and knowledgeable on all that is going on. We did the laze and dine package and the 5-course chef surprise was one of the most divine meals I have had! We stayed in the flat and out that is across the street and found it lots of fun. Funky interior and great jacuzzi tub! We enjoyed Lugano as well, nice old town to stroll around. Also did the hike from Mt San Salvatore to Morcote and it was a nice hike through several small villages.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We were there for a short week-end in February. The place was quiet as possible, romantic and delightful.
We booked the "white and boxes" room, with a balcony just across the lake. The restaurant offers some different ethnics food, which brought us a total change of scene.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

For NYE we decided to indulge ourselves with the 'jingle bells' package and were not disapointed. We booked direct with Hotel and can confirm the responses were efficient, informative and friendly. This continued upon arrival and for the entire length of our stay. We stayed in Tequilla & Sunrise room and was completely satisfied that the room was reflective of the website and were especially delighted with the terrace and view. The hotel's homepage is an accurate description and well worth reading if you havnt done so already. We arrived NYE and part of the package was a 5course meal, which was delicious and presented wonderully, the service was so efficient, helpful (being english speaking only and the menu being in italian and german) and friendly , we were reserved a table by the window, we couldnt have asked for more. It was a magical and romantic way to celebrate NYE. We concluded the evening on our balcony sipping on the complimentary prosecco from our complimentary minibar! We enjoyed the food so much we eneded up eating in the restaurant each night of our 3 night stay and was not dissapointed once, great variety and reasonably priced compared to UK for similar standard. The attentions to detail for us were just right.... complimentary mini bar consisting of a couple of bottles of beer, soft drinks and prosecco, Tasimo Coffee machine (rare in european hotels), DVD/CD players and complimentary afternoon tea and coffee in the bar. To summarise the Hotel is cool, funky, arty, chilled out and contemporary. The restaurant despite having excellent food has a relaxed feel and you can be casually or smartly dressed whatever goes.....Next time we hope to visit in the summer months, but even in the winter it is GREAT!! THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF YOU WERE GREAT.

  • Liked — interior design , added extra touches, view
  • Disliked — No iron & board
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

A friend recommended this hotel for a 3 day stay in the Tessin. We had a look at the very good homepage and decided to stay in the hotel. We had a look at the different rooms and enjoyed the pictures. First we sent a general email to find out about the availablity. Within 4 hours we already had a very friendly and informativ feedback. We decided to book for 'Purple and Rain' on the same evening and had a confirmation back the day after.
We have been welcomed very friendly and did like our room very much. The view out to the lake is just stunning. The first evening we did dine out. The second evening we enjoyed the delicous cooking in the restaurant. We did like the dishes, the way they were presented and the very friendly service. In the morning we enjoyed the breakfast bar very much.
After that very nice experience with the hotel we decided to book for August 2008 for a 4day stay. Within one day, we already received the confirmation. We are looking forward staying there again!

  • Liked — Very special rooms with great views available
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

Beautiful hotel. Very nice and personnel very kind.
The rooms are exactly how described in the site.
Every room has an itself style.
Only the dinner was very long and with a cuisine that I personally do not prefer (nouvelle cousine!).
Breakfast and the overview from the hotel was fantastic.

To be visited when you go in Lugano.

  • Liked — the original rooms
  • Disliked — the dinner
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.