We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, good food, lousy management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good views, good food, lousy management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place became relatively famous with the excellent food that was served. It appears however that the management (though not the head cook) have changed and it became a rudderless ship or one without a captain. The restaurant staff has to handle everything from check-in (when it takes them 15 minutes to find the room key) to the check-out (when they can't locate the room number in the computer). Hence the staff appears to be exhausted already at breakfast time. Whilst the food is still excellent, it stretches one's patience to wait 90 minutes for a main course to appear. Even a milk cow (which this to be for the (new?) management) needs to be fed.

Room Tip: Only eat there - with patience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renerenerene, Inhaber at Art Deco Hotel Dellago, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
G'day SydneyPierrot

Since you did not reply my request for clarification and more details about your stay, I can only say we did not have a guest from Sydney or from Australia since march 2013. So either you are not from Sydney as you show in your profile, or you have not been with us, at least not in june 2013...

As you blame us to be stupid, slow, lousy and greedy, I expect you are none of it. But then, why did it not come to your smart mind to check our website first and at least to skim over our statement in which we clearly declare - inter alia - to have the restaurant staff taking care of the few rooms at the reception, amongst other things we do a bit differently or not at all.

It says for example: "... do not expect luxurious materials and shiny glitter, no porters or a reception where someone smiles at you 24 hours a day. but in compensation there is a stereo in every room, a coffee machine that besides a good espresso also boils a nice cappucc', there's a free non-alcoholic minibar, complimentary afternoon cofffee, tea and sweet bits and you could spice up your stay with some whimsy add-on's." ... Here is the link to the full text: http://hotel-dellago.ch/E/IndexE.html

And hey, you are even wrong: the management is the same since 2001 (expect for the chef who died in a traffic accident in August 2008...). Instead, the current chef and his crew are here since 2010 only.

Cheers,
Rene, the lousy, greedy manager and its slow, exhausted and stupid crew...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    48
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
93
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hergiswil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

very nice boutique hotel, great very individual rooms - check out the hotel homepage incl. pics and layouts of the rooms. rooms at the back (without lake view) can be noisy (street behind the hotel), but rooms with lake view are fantastic and quiet. great view. a hotel with lots of charm. very friendly staff. excellent food - Euro-Asian style - excellent wines. check-out the open-air lounges, also open for the public.

Room Tip: lakeview with balcony - better with terrace - if you like the sun during the day, choose a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Dellago on numerous occasions and always feel comfortable and taken care of there. The staff creates a unique space at the hotel and all of the rooms have their own special personality. The food at the restaurant is quite good and I truly enjoy their wonderful breakfast buffet. While not a luxury hotel it has a realxing vibe and a great view. Highly suggested that you spend the extra money in order to have a room on the lake, if not just for the view but also to avoid the rumbling trucks that come through the tiny town of Melide all through the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a great little hotel. My wife and I spent an all too short amount of time in the coffee and cream room during the first week of October. The weather was warm and sunny the hotel was charming and the room was better than advertised.If you are in need of some down time with a significant other you could do no better than this wonderful hotel. Oh yeah, food and wine in hotel great as well. Les R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zollikofen, Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed in the room "coffee and cream" for a weekend... Getting a room was quite impossible the last year, however this year we got it. With a great website in Internet and such a expensive price, we came to the hotel with a lot of expectations.

Although the view was quite impressive, the service didn't meet our expectations. The staff looks so unconnected/indifferent with us... people just walking across the corridors.
The food was amazing, but the quantity was completely inappropriate (We ordered seafood surprise for two people.)... We were almost dead after such a huge dinner, probably for four people.
We never had internet connection... we received some weird indications, nothing easy to do for the ones who don't any IT knowledge.
The room was very beautiful and comfortable with a great view... only the bath tub need some reshuffles...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinez
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We renting the Tequila and Sunrise room. You need to rent this room it Is awesome. It had two french doors. One in the bedroom the other in the family room. Great view right from your bed. The terrace is hugh right on the water. The restaurant is good and eating right on the water is wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is a pity that this hotel is let down by the staff. With the exception of the girl on the reception that checked us in we found the rest of the staff to be rude and indifferent. It is a shame really as the hotel has a fantastic view across the lake, rooms are comfortable and the location is great if you a looking for a quite get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.