We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel at a very nice place with excellent restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Save Saved
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Zurich
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK Hotel at a very nice place with excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The location of the hotel is very nice right at the lake with great views, perfect for sunny lazy days. The service and staff are nice but average, personnel sometimes was not sure about stuff, advised wrongly or had to wait for other personnel to know what to to. Breakfast buffet is nice but gets boring if you are staying more than just one or two days. The restaurant is of excellent quality with a good variety (main focus on seafood) of dishes including some faboulus specialities. There are better places to stay from a hotel perspective but just for the food we would return any time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
92
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We absolutely loved Dellago. The location is magical, right on the lake, with views over the water and onto the tree covered hills. Though I arrived there stressed from work, I felt instantly relaxed and at peace. The whole concept of the hotel is wonderful: It's beautiful, special and very personal. Everything has this special, very personal touch. Everything looks very stylish, but it is far from being pretentious or stiff. We really felt like we had been invited into someone's (very stylish) home. I loved that in the afternoon, guests can use the restaurant and terrace, though it is closed to the public, and get free coffee, cake and soft drinks. Our room "art & deco" was beautiful and we absolutely loved the big balcony with a daybed, overlooking the water. And the food is to die for. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the different rooms on the website, they are all very different, though they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, directly on the lake with stunning views. I had the 'Sand and Dunes' room, with a balcony overlooking Lago di Lugano, which was great. The room is nearly 10 years old, and needs some renovation, but the bed was good. Breakfast was delicious. I had lunch on the terrace, in the company of some Italian families, which is always a good sign. Staff was very friendly, serving me in German, English and Italian. If you want to go to Lugano: the train station is just a 10 minutes walk, and a 7 minutes train ride to Lugano Central.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the lake side. They're more expensive, but the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved our room "coffee and cream" so much, that we wanted to stay there the whole day! The hotel and the room have such a good ambiance, that you feel relaxed and just great!
Breakfast buffet had a fantastic choice and homemade fresh food. Also the seafoodrestaurant was excellent! We can really recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: The room "Coffee and cream" was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

It was their website that appealed to us and the hotel lived up to expectation. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the room was comfortable and warm (it was January). The food was great and the staff attentive without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiasso, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Coming here quite often with friends,because it is simply good, the food, especially the Thai curry or the tuna steak,the dessert is delighting,f.e. Jack in the box, a great wine selection,our favorite is Creation from SA,and service is friendly and professional.We love to come in summer,because they got the terrace and a lounge right by the lake with parking possibility for boats.It's a nice ambient,with nice audience without being too much,but chilling and relaxing.Open lunch time too.Positive to mention:they got a summer and winter menu,so variation is guaranteed.It's pricey,but worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was my second time in ten years and cannot rate it highly enough. We stayed in the detached apartment across the street - it was spacious, very comfortable and wonderfully quiet. This hotel continues to be my most favourite of all time - great service, amazing food and of course the views are wonderful. Value for money is unquestionable, I cant wait to get back there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.