We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Save Saved
You added Art Deco Hotel Dellago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Melide
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel... What to say about our stay?
Just great, from the moment we open the hotel door until we had to leave, which was the worst moment of our stay.
Location: just by the lake, couldn't be closer, beautiful view, calm (lake side room)

Room: I went for the coffee & cream experience and it was worth it! Private terrasse with a hot tube. Confortable room with everything you need even a booklet to understand how the shower works! Don't laugh, you'll need it as the shower does much more than just a shower ;-)

Restaurant: presentation, quality, quantity, taste of each meal was great. Lots of good wine on the list.
Breakfast is also amazing, home made jam, great choice of bread.

Atmosphere: very cosy, calm, relaxing, not bling-bling at all.

Service: it was just perfect, people are extremely nice, easy approach, not too present but still there.

General: it is not a luxury hotel and it is very good so! I've been staying in quite a few luxury hotels for my job, some really nice one with great service but I've to tell you that it is The place where I felt the best!
If you ever have the chance staying there, go for it! It does worth it, do not hesitate one minute!

Many thanks again to each one working there for this wonderful experience!
Sébastien

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    46
    14
    14
    6
See reviews for
8
89
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Been at Dellago already a couple of time to eat with friends and it's always a great place.
It's an expensive restaurant but, the view from the terrace is amazing, the service is always great and the food marvelous.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Cool design, excellent location right at the lake, friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My advice is to take a lakeside view room, as it worth it.
Do not forget your swimming clothes, as the lake is very clean and pleasant for swimming.
Boat owners - the hotel have a parking for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We decided to stay three nights (did unfortunately only two) at the hotel and booked the upper & westside room. It was fantastic!!
If you have a look at the homepage you get exactly what you see there! The room was beautiful and well maintained. The room was very clean, colours were bright and deep. The room was not in the main building and unfortunately we didn't have the lake view but it was nevertheless nice. We enjoyed the hammam and hot tub.
The restaurant is pretty good as well and has some interesting things on the menu. You can sit on the balcony and enjoy the view on the lake. The best thing was the lounge which opens at 6 pm. The lounge is right at the water, cosy and the view and atmosphere is breathtaking.
Service is good. The team explains you what you have to do and what they will do and that's exactly what it is. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Nice and friendly staff, clean and charming design rooms. Wonderful view from restaurant and terrace, delicious food. Don´t expect 5-star marble bath, but rather some IKEA elements.

Room Tip: Opt for the more expensive lakeview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very nice hotel and staff speaking fluently different languages and ready to help in a discreet manner. Location is beautiful, the room was big and facing the incredible lake of Lugano.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Hotel Dellago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.