We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caracol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Caracol to your Saves list
Hotel Caracol
Playa de Covelo 14 | Poio, 36992 Samieira, Spain   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samieira
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at Hotel Caracol near Pontevedra. The accommodation was on the river leading to the Atlantic ocean and it was a joy to see schools of dolphins swimming along.
The breakfasts and evening meals were first class and plentiful. A quiet peaceful location which lends itself to a relaxing holiday and convenient for lots of other delightful towns and villages. We were there in 2007 and intend to return.
Dennis and Judy McGloin. Stockton on Tees.
.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Reluctant to say so, because we hope to go back sometime & repeat our lovely stay at Paco's - and if too many people find out how good it is then.... but what the heck: let's not be selfish. We stayed for two full weeks in a room overlooking the sea/estuary; the breakfasts were leisurely, lunches were delicious, as were the evening meals. Paco is a Galician superstar, as are his small team of helpers, and John and Sally are quite superb go-betweens/hosts, and they all made our stay thoroughly delightful. We hired a car, and loved the whole area, too. The weather was stunning.This is an unqualified recommendation.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwllheli
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A lovely clean hotel, Paco and the staff were very welcoming. Although we didn`t speak much Spanish or Galician we managed to make ourselves understood and Paco even taught my little son how to count in Spanish.Off the main road but very close to shops etc and just across the road from the beach, we had breakfast every morning on the terrace and were lucky enough to see dolphins swimming one morning. A very good base to explore Galicia, lovely food and very good portion size and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel is a delight - off the beaten track but close enough to shops, beaches, restaurants etc. to ensure you don't feel too isolated. Large, clean rooms with, if you're lucky, magnificent sea views - literally the beach is across the road. The owner, Paco, is an excellent host, but be warned, he doesn't speak a word of English. The hotel and area in general are not populated by many English speakers, so a good phrase book comes in handy. We really did see Dolphins cruising across the bay on several occasions - both from our hotel window and when having breakfast on the terrace - an amazing experience.
This area has the advantage of having both costal and inland attractions - Pontevedra and VIgo are both worth a visit and only short drives from the hotel. Santiago de Compostela is a little further both well worth the effort.
The beaches in the area are beautiful-similar to Cornwall but usually with better weather! We did however have a couple of days of rain and it was chilly in the evenings so go prepared.
All in all it was an excellent holiday-we have no hesitation in recommending both the hotel and the area and would certainly like to go back there ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caracol, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review hope to see you again soon

John and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Paco, a Legend.

Hotel Caracol was our chosen destination for our 2008 summer holiday. Our two family party consisted of four adults and 3 children aged between 12 and 14.
We chose to take three rooms, dumping the kids in one and one each for the parents. Our rooms had fantastic views overlooking the sea literally 15 yards from the beech. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and I would have no hesitation in reccomending this hotel to anyone. After agreeing terms to use a friendly local's fishing boat for the fortnight, most days commenced with a couple of hours early morning mackerel fishing. Upon our triumpant return from the sea our catch was superbly prepared and served to the hungry mob.
That leads me to the breakfasts. Served daily by Paco and his darling wife on the terrace overlooking the beach. On most mornings our meal was interupted by the magificent sight of numerous dolphins playfully making their way up or down the Ria. what a superb sight and what a fantastic way to start the day. Our morning feasts consisted of enough bread, fruit, bacon, hams, local sausages, eggs etc etc to feed a small army. I promise you will never go hungry when Paco is around!
Days were spent either relaxing on the many splendid local beeches or discovering the wonderful surrounding areas such as Pontevedra, Sanxenxo and Combarro.The Cave Bar (not it's real name, but you get the idea) in Comabarro is a delight and must be used regulally! Expect to be treated to some of the finest tapas known to man. Meats, cheese, octopus, squid etc are all given freely and at lenghth. After a long day on the beech and an evening in one of the plethora of nearby bars and restaurants we would retire back to the Caracol. We soon discovered that to attempt an early night was pointless. Paco, owner, barman, waiter and all round legend and entertainer will have none of it! Like so many of the locals his generousity knows no bounds, and after a few days you will become accustomed to the plates of superb food, bottles of beer and wine that miraculously and mysterously appear.
The man just doesn't sleep. He is the life and soul at 2.00am and serving breaksfast at 8.00am! The level of customer sevice has to be experienced to believe. Nothing, and I mean nothing is too much trouble.
To sum up, Hotel Carocol is a little gem. An ideal base for any type of holiday, whether relaxing on the beech or discovering Galicia; Caracol would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Caracol, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we will pass your comments onto Paco.

regards

John and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Lovely place to stay while touring Northern Spain Hotel spotless lovely views and the staff second to none !!! couldnt do enough for you friendly and food in abundance . We had no problem sleeping even though we read the previous review so dont let this put you off!!! We hope to go back sometime as paco made us so wellcome. Jill and Bob Bush

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

A friend and I spent a week here in low season and had the full attention of the staff, something I think would have happened even if it were high season. The rooms are squeaky clean and the food is so delicious that we ate in every night. But more than that there was an unexplained vibe to the place, Chef Manolo and owner Paco extended themselves and made it feel like it was our home. Sally and john were there to help from everything, from the initial booking and directions when we were lost, to local suggestions with amazing good cheer. would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Caracol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caracol

Address: Playa de Covelo 14 | Poio, 36992 Samieira, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Pontevedra Province > Samieira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Samieira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Caracol is a recently refurbished small, friendly hotel, situated off the coastal road between Pontevedra and Sanxenxo. Sitting just metres from the shores of the Ria de Pontevedra, overlooking the beautiful Island of Tambo, there are two beaches, an old harbour and a small taverna.Rooms have sea views, (and at high tide the sea is only a few metres away), ensuit bathrooms and televisions. Prices include an incredible breakfast served on the terrace, and either half or full board is available.The hotel also boasts what we consider to be the best restaurant in the area, Restaurant - Taverna El Caracol.Sit on the terrace overlooking the sea, with any luck you will see the dolphins, and enjoy the freshest seafood, or local meats cooked in a traditional wood burning oven (asadora), severed by the ever gregarious Paco the hotel owner.The hotel is perfectly placed to visit many wonderful towns, villages, islands and beaches, you can walk in the forest or just laze in the sun.Take a trip from the harbour around the ria, try a bit of mackerel fishing or go dolphin spotting it really is great fun for all.Sit on the terrace overlooking the sea, with any luck you will see the dolphins, and enjoy the freshest seafood, or local meats cooked in a traditional wood burning oven (asadora), severed by the ever gregarious Paco the hotel owner.The hotel is perfectly placed to visit many wonderful towns, villages, islands and beaches, you can walk in the forest or just laze in the sun.Take a trip from the harbour around the ria, try a bit of mackerel fishing or go dolphin spotting it really is great fun for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caracol Spain/Galicia - Samieira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caracol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.