We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xalet la Coromina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Xalet la Coromina to your Saves list
Xalet la Coromina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Vic, 4, 17406 Viladrau, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viladrau
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

With more attention to detail, this hotel could be delightful.
More drawer-space in the bedrooms, a plentiful supply of HOT (rather than just-warm) water, repairs to the pool (empty all season because of leaks) and more generous portions for meals would remove the impression that the owner is penny-pinching.
Their set dinner at 29.50 Euros was the most expensive we came across in Viladrau or in similar class eateries on the Costa Brava, & the included wine worked out at one tiny glass each! The menu is the same every night, and some of the dishes on it were never available. Chef Salvador is no longer there, I think.
Plus points: the staff were helpful & very hard-working, and the views are lovely.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the only one with a balcony. Though it looks onto the road through Viladrau, we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreuDeiros, Gerente at Xalet la Coromina, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Google Translation
Es evidente comparando su opinión con la anterior en el tiempo(una semana antes), que los problemas y fallos mostrados, eran los mismos. Seguimos remitiendonos a las opiniones siguientes para poder ver que esos errores, que lamentamos haber cometido con ustedes, ya han sido corregidos.
También hemos regulado de forma más eficiente la caldera del agua caliente y esta fluye sin ninguna pérdida de caudal a 60°.
Usted hace referencia a que el menú es idéntico cada noche. Eso que usted afirma no era cierto durante su estancia, ni antes, ni después. A todos nuestros huéspedes se les entrega la carta que evidentemente no se cambia a diario, ni semanalmente tampoco. La modificamos por temporada o por la oferta de producto de los mercados locales.
Actualmente disponemos de un menú a 15.50€ y el precio medio de la carta es de 19.00€. Hemos hecho caso de las sugerencias de nuestros huéspedes para adaptarnos a sus gustos y necesidades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is rather basic, with not much storage space if staying for more than a few days. TV had no English speaking channels, and the pool was empty, though it was still August/September.
We thought the food was good, but portions were very small and overpriced. Meals in the village were cheaper and better.Breakfast was included, but again was fairly mean,e.g one croissant each, one slice of bread /toast, a little cold meat,one pat of butter, not exactly generous though enough for us as we are not breakfast fans. I think a hungry family might have been a bit disappointed. The owners were very nice people and very helpful. There was free secure parking, in fact we could not get out the morning we left as the car park was locked and was not opened until 8.00am.

Room Tip: rooms at the back overlooking the garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreuDeiros, Gerente at Xalet la Coromina, responded to this review, December 1, 2014
Google Translation
Cuando uno toma las riendas de un negocio a título individual, muchas veces lo hace poniendo todo lo que dispone sobre la mesa. Este ha sido mi caso y los recursos limitados no me permitieron reparar todos los desperfectos heredados. Nuestro precioso estanque-piscina lo tenemos en perfectas condicones para el baño desde junio de 2013.
En lo referente a los desayunos y comidas en general les remitimos a las opiniones mas recientes que dan fe de nuestros esfuerzos por corregir los errores cometidos anteriormente.
Por último les diremos que la puerta del aparcamiento ya puede ser abierta por los clientes del hotel cuando así lo desean, muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We didn't stay at the hotel, but were fortunate to eat dinner there, having discovered it by asking people in town to recommend a restaurant. What an amazing discovery.

Salvador takes such pride in his establishment AND his cooking. We started with a glass of cava in the garden, then moved on to the six course 'surprise' tasting menu in the restaurant. Having explained our differing tastes to him, he then produced six courses (plus amuse bouches) of the highest quality and creativity. It is so refreshing to find such different, gourmet food in a small town in the mountains - almost as surprising was how low the bill was - such good value considering it included wine, water, coffee etc., not to mention fabulous service.

Do eat here - you will not be disappointed. The hotel looked lovely, and next time we will be staying here and looking forward to another wonderful meal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Xalet la Coromina for one night in Sep 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a charming little room looking onto the hotel's garden and were treated to what must be one of the best meals we ever had by chef Salvador. I can highly recommend this place and hope to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We live near the Montseny region and travel all over looking for the best restaurants.
Together with Torre Simon in Tona this has to be our favourite. Salvador is a very talented chef and a warm and generous host. Despite the modest price of 25 euro, his tasting menu reminds me of what flavoursome food tastes like - try the lentils with foie or the delightful salad of barat al escabeche.
Our meal here was a welcome change from the too-often bland and repetitive menus found throughout rural catalonia.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: let Salvador recommend what is fresh that day
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viladrau
4.7 mi away
Husa Sant Bernat
Husa Sant Bernat
#1 of 3 in Montseny
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacalm
Vilar Rural de Sant Hilari Sacal...
#1 of 3 in Sant Hilari Sacalm
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
6.6 mi away
Can Barrina Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Serhs El Montanya
8.8 mi away
Hotel Can Cuch
Hotel Can Cuch
#1 of 1 in Canoves i Samalus
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Moli de la Torre
Hotel Moli de la Torre
#1 of 2 in Bigues i Riells
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xalet la Coromina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xalet la Coromina

Address: Ctra. de Vic, 4, 17406 Viladrau, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Viladrau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viladrau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Xalet la Coromina 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Xalet La Coromina, Viladrau, is a hotel-restaurant just 8 double rooms, offering a familiar and personal treatment.In our restaurant you can enjoy the dishes that our chef prepares with local products according to seasonality thereof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Xalet la Coromina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xalet La Coromina Viladrau, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xalet la Coromina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.