We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Spa Etxegana to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to the South of Spain and we were very satisfied: more than nicely sized rooms, spotlessly clean, above average facilities. The feeling of a personalised touch everywhere, nothing to do with the hotel chains. Very good quality food and outstanding wine selection - the owner is both passionate and knowledgeable. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I and our Labarador Harry spent only one night at this hotel recently en route to Bilbao. We were all made to feel very welcome including Harry who was also able to enjoy some free running in the attached forest.

The food and service was equally excellent as was the choice of wines. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed, clean and worked very well. No great long delays for hot water here.

The hotel is ideally suited to catch the morning ferry to Portsmouth or as a first stop when arriving late in Bilbao. The owner even got up an hour early to serve our breakfast.

We will certainly be back and a 2 or 3 day stop would be worth your time.

Room Tip: make sure you know how to find the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent one night at Extegana while travelling around basque country and really relaxed myself.
The resort is a sort of traditional basque chalet with some indonesian influence.
The only disappointment was that although being pretty empty the staff gave us a back-view room (which was anyhow what we booked).
The hotel offers a nice wellness area for private use.
The dinner we had was great and based on typical basque creative cuisine .
Staff very friendly and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Etxegana for only one night, as we were traveling from Bilbao to San Sebastian. We had a bit of difficulty finding the turnoff, but once we were there, we were very pleased with our accommodations and the location. Luis is a collector of Indonesian woodwork, and the property is decorated with beautiful handcarved works of art and furnishings. He and the staff were very gracious throughout our brief stay. We drove a few miles to go for an early evening hike in Gorbeia Park, and enjoyed it so much we ventured out again in the morning prior to leaving for Asador Etxeberri for an amazing lunch.

Dinner at Etxegana was fine. We enjoyed the regional cuisine and a couple of bottles of good wine. Luis also has an extensive wine collection, and enjoys touring his cellar with those who appreciate fine wines.

We would definitely return if in this part of the Basque country. Lots to offer, between hiking, relaxation, and romance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a great stay! Luis and his family really went the extra mile to make our stay unforgettable. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes away from walking tracks on the mountains, and yet close to the road to Vitoria Gasteiz and Bilbao. The Indonesian style interior adds an exotic touch to the local beauty. All staff we dealt with did their utmost to make us feel at home. Despite the were fully booked, they managed to give us al the attention we wanted. Their food is good. Our room was spacious and had a great view on the valley. Whe planning our next trip to this region we certainly will book a stay with Etxegana, but than at least for 4 nights. Thank you Luis and his family for their personal and warm approach. We felt more than welcome, we felt among friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank visitor188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Etxegana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear guest:

First off, thank you very much indeed for your stay at the Hotel & Spa Etxegana and for speaking your mind on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments about the quality and service of the food and the bedroom in general. We will transmit your appreciation about the staff to al the team, we always try to be professional, helpful and friendly.

Before your next visit to the Basque region, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel & Spa Etxegana.

Kind regards,
Hotel & Spa Etxegana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We truly enjoyed our 4-nights stay at Hotel Etxegana last August, so much that we are looking forward to coming back soon. As soon as you step in you will be delighted by the outstanding customer service, the excellent local cuisine, the warm atmosphere and overall by the high standards set in this quiet and lovely hotel. It is all thanks to Begoña, Luis, Erik and all the staff who never hesitate to provide all assistance you need and that makes you feel like being at home; in addition, should you want to wander around further into the beautiful spots of Gorbeia Natural Park or visit any of the multiple places worth a visit near by, you will be given a lot of information that will be of great help. This is a unique hotel with impressive rooms in the heart of a beautiful and peaceful scenery and run by people who really care about customers and that’s something you do not come across very often. Dear Begoña, Luis, Erik, thanks very much appreciated and hope to see you soon! Xavier i Elisenda - Sant Quirze/Barcelona

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavi_i_Eli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

This hotel literally left me speechless. We arrived late so we were completely unaware of what beautiful landscape surrounded us. We woke up early the next morning, walked outside and my jaw dropped, gorgeous snow capped mountains, green valleys, and complete silence.

The inside is beautifully decorated with amazing carved furniture and pieces from all over the world. The library had some great travel books to look through while we relaxed that morning.

The breakfast was delicious with fresh squeezed orange juice, home-made breads and jamon on mini baguettes. Plenty for any appetite.

Our stay here was too short, but we will definitely go back one day. The owner was very nice (even staying up because we arrived so late) and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IHeartSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeanuri
1.7 mi away
Ellauri Hotela
Ellauri Hotela
#1 of 2 in Zeanuri
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balneario Areatza
8.6 mi away
Hotel Nagusi
Hotel Nagusi
#1 of 2 in Murguia
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
23.7 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#3 of 42 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etxegana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Address: Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Spa Etxegana 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etxegana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Etxegana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing