We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel & Spa Etxegana to your Saves list
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I and our Labarador Harry spent only one night at this hotel recently en route to Bilbao. We were all made to feel very welcome including Harry who was also able to enjoy some free running in the attached forest.

The food and service was equally excellent as was the choice of wines. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed, clean and worked very well. No great long delays for hot water here.

The hotel is ideally suited to catch the morning ferry to Portsmouth or as a first stop when arriving late in Bilbao. The owner even got up an hour early to serve our breakfast.

We will certainly be back and a 2 or 3 day stop would be worth your time.

Room Tip: make sure you know how to find the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    24
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
92
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent one night at Extegana while travelling around basque country and really relaxed myself.
The resort is a sort of traditional basque chalet with some indonesian influence.
The only disappointment was that although being pretty empty the staff gave us a back-view room (which was anyhow what we booked).
The hotel offers a nice wellness area for private use.
The dinner we had was great and based on typical basque creative cuisine .
Staff very friendly and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Etxegana for only one night, as we were traveling from Bilbao to San Sebastian. We had a bit of difficulty finding the turnoff, but once we were there, we were very pleased with our accommodations and the location. Luis is a collector of Indonesian woodwork, and the property is decorated with beautiful handcarved works of art and furnishings. He and the staff were very gracious throughout our brief stay. We drove a few miles to go for an early evening hike in Gorbeia Park, and enjoyed it so much we ventured out again in the morning prior to leaving for Asador Etxeberri for an amazing lunch.

Dinner at Etxegana was fine. We enjoyed the regional cuisine and a couple of bottles of good wine. Luis also has an extensive wine collection, and enjoys touring his cellar with those who appreciate fine wines.

We would definitely return if in this part of the Basque country. Lots to offer, between hiking, relaxation, and romance!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a great stay! Luis and his family really went the extra mile to make our stay unforgettable. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes away from walking tracks on the mountains, and yet close to the road to Vitoria Gasteiz and Bilbao. The Indonesian style interior adds an exotic touch to the local beauty. All staff we dealt with did their utmost to make us feel at home. Despite the were fully booked, they managed to give us al the attention we wanted. Their food is good. Our room was spacious and had a great view on the valley. Whe planning our next trip to this region we certainly will book a stay with Etxegana, but than at least for 4 nights. Thank you Luis and his family for their personal and warm approach. We felt more than welcome, we felt among friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Etxegana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear guest:

First off, thank you very much indeed for your stay at the Hotel & Spa Etxegana and for speaking your mind on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments about the quality and service of the food and the bedroom in general. We will transmit your appreciation about the staff to al the team, we always try to be professional, helpful and friendly.

Before your next visit to the Basque region, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel & Spa Etxegana.

Kind regards,
Hotel & Spa Etxegana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We truly enjoyed our 4-nights stay at Hotel Etxegana last August, so much that we are looking forward to coming back soon. As soon as you step in you will be delighted by the outstanding customer service, the excellent local cuisine, the warm atmosphere and overall by the high standards set in this quiet and lovely hotel. It is all thanks to Begoña, Luis, Erik and all the staff who never hesitate to provide all assistance you need and that makes you feel like being at home; in addition, should you want to wander around further into the beautiful spots of Gorbeia Natural Park or visit any of the multiple places worth a visit near by, you will be given a lot of information that will be of great help. This is a unique hotel with impressive rooms in the heart of a beautiful and peaceful scenery and run by people who really care about customers and that’s something you do not come across very often. Dear Begoña, Luis, Erik, thanks very much appreciated and hope to see you soon! Xavier i Elisenda - Sant Quirze/Barcelona

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

This hotel literally left me speechless. We arrived late so we were completely unaware of what beautiful landscape surrounded us. We woke up early the next morning, walked outside and my jaw dropped, gorgeous snow capped mountains, green valleys, and complete silence.

The inside is beautifully decorated with amazing carved furniture and pieces from all over the world. The library had some great travel books to look through while we relaxed that morning.

The breakfast was delicious with fresh squeezed orange juice, home-made breads and jamon on mini baguettes. Plenty for any appetite.

Our stay here was too short, but we will definitely go back one day. The owner was very nice (even staying up because we arrived so late) and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Unfortunately we made the worst experience ever in our lives in this hotel! We went there in the “Semana Santa” over the Eastern break 2008. First of all when we arrived, we were given a room at the ground floor. Avoid these; you’ll hear all gaits from your neighbours due to the wooden floor at the first level. Secondly especially avoid number 19. In this room you’ll be noticed of everybody that uses the wooden stairs - very loud – and the canalisation of the first floor goes through this room which means that you’ll be awake of everyone that uses the sanitary installations of the upper floor. After 2 nights we were relocated to one of their “suits” which is not a suit at all – I suggested that this is the category for a double superior. When the hotel is fully booked it is a disaster and the hotel owner starts to tell his customers to whisper at all times to avoid noise.

Anyway, if you decide to go there, what I would not recommend, and you’ll have animals with you, ask them for the additional charge. We went with our dogs and had to pay 12 Euros per night per dog (one Chihuahua and one Labrador).

Furthermore stay away from this disaster what they call dinner! The value and the quality for this 24 Euro per person plus 7% of tax menu is very very very bad! But keep in mind, to find an alternative you have to drive at least 20 minutes!

At the end of our trip we came into troubles with the end bill which was around 200 euros more than originally offered! This was because of an additional charge for the “Semana Santa” that they have not even mentioned on their webpage of 20% per room!!! When we started to discuss the hotel owner went out to close the gate of the entrance so that we would not be able to “escape” and started to shout on us.

Finally he wanted to charge us two rooms, affronted us hardly and implied us to have stolen his towels that were not in the suite when we had to move upstairs. Anyway, he apologised when it happened and told us that he had to send out our predecessor away because of its loud children and he might have taken them with him. Finally he changed his mind and we were the ones. This man is choleric, be careful with him! He will never apologise for mistakes they made but will always find an explanation.

One more point, when you expect them to speak another language then Spanish (incl. Catalan and Bask) you’re wrong! They can’t even speak a word in another language!

Our recommendation is, avoid this hotel at all but especially when it’s full! They are just not professional!

  • Liked — Nature
  • Disliked — The hotel owner
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelruraletxegana, GERENTE DEL hOTEL at Hotel & Spa Etxegana, responded to this review, April 4, 2008
Luis Manuel Orcera
Manager of Hotel Etxegana.

I just saw the review of this guest.
The fact that a guest leave our hotel only partly-satisfied really worries us and, if we don’t know the reasons, we just try to solve it (as we did) and we prevent it from not happening again.
The fact that a guest keep criticising us, that nothing we can do for him can make him happy, let's say the restaurant service, considering that no guest returned a single dish, not only this Sir… We even allocated him in the Suite (with no additional charge, only the rate for two days, that is to say, €390), and we only charged him for one dog and they brought two (not as agreed). Neither of these efforts made him show a gesture of gratitude.

When leaving the hotel 4 days afterwards, he just tried to make good use of his complaints in order not to pay the invoice related to his stay and the services rendered by us.
We told them that if they didn’t pay the invoice, they would not leave the hotel (something we have done with other guests who responded gentlemanly).
They began handing us up to 6 or 7 credit cards, the payment being refused. One of these credit cards showed a name on it that didn’t belong to any of them, so we just refused to accept it and she said that that was her previous name.

Finally and, after some phone calls to Switzerland, one of the credit cards was authorized. We are always grateful for and learn from the opinions and suggestions of the guests, opinions we take into account very seriously.
But when these complaints are constant and the guest is not grateful for the efforts we make for him/her, when he/she just wants a free stay, our dignity just do not let us, the little we have.

The hotel has been visited by authorized and selfless members of Tripadvisor, who have showed their opinion through commentaries, as well as other guests have done in other Internet portals as Booking or Top rural etc. I just only want you to judge them for yourselves.

Sincerely yours.
The Management of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Spa Etxegana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Address: Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Spa Etxegana 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etxegana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Etxegana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Spa Etxegana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.