We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magic Fall in Gorbeia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellauri Hotela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ellauri Hotela to your Saves list
Ellauri Hotela
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Altzusta 38, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Magic Fall in Gorbeia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Fall has arrived to the Natural Park in Gorbeia with its magic sensations and golden colors, and the views from Ellauri 's terraces. It seems you are living a dream: the warming sun, that peculiar smell of the rain in the country, the colorful twilights and sunsets, migrating birds in the sky...
And the hotel itself cover highly all your best expectations: very good sleeping, local food at the restaurant, exceptional attention... They give you all the information you need and more to enjoy all the experiences around.
Highly recommendable

Room Tip: Enjoy having a drink at the cafeteria terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
70
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It is a small hotel, in the small basque country, family owned, but it is extraordinary.
The hotel is small but its design, comfort and facilities makes it the best of the world.
Basque Country is beautiful: The Natural Park of Gorbeia is there, in front of you, spectacular. Then you have the city of Bilbao, small too but with strong personality, the coast of Biscay... the climate all year soft...
And it is owned by Randa and Kepa completely client oriented management: Extraordinary at its best!
I'll remember you for years!

Room Tip: The suite of the tower, 10-Elorri, is espectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I think there was a song about 'all the colors of green...' That is Ellauri Hotela and the environment: all the imaginable varieties of the green can be seen there.
Inside the hotel the cleanliness, the very big comfortable bed, all the atmosphere makes you feel in high luxury hotel. But here you have the personal attention of Randa and Kepa.
They attend you personally, give the local information so you can choose the best places to visit and the best restaurant for your needs-
Thank you Randa and Kepa for all

Room Tip: The suites are excellent, though no so cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you go to the Basque Country, and want to visit especially the country side, you must stay at Ellauri Hotel. It is surrounded by the Gorbeia Natural Park and close to the cities of Bilbao and Vitoria Gasteiz.
Good attention, good breakfast and dinner...
Thanks for all of it

Room Tip: Better pay for the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

There is so much to say but I'm not sure where to start. This place is situated in the northern part of Spain in a breathtaking location. The hotel is right smack in the middle of nature. Beautiful views, lots of fresh air, and most important is the quiet atmosphere.

On the outside the hotel has an old look and feel to it, but don't let that fool you, because it is modern and sleek on the inside. The rooms are amazing, the lounges, the balconies, the food the service. One needs nothing more when they want to just get away from the daily stress of life.

I came here with my 3 girlfriends. We wanted to get away from New york and all the stress that comes from living in the city. We walked around the grounds of the hotel just taking pictures, and enjoying nature. Went to local bars around the area and enjoyed the local music and the local men. :) Spent most of our nights lounging in the hotel while drinking lots of really amazing wine. Lets not even get started with the food. Soooo good. We all gained weight but it was so worth it. We slept late and woke up late. The people that work there are just amazing. So pleasant and so helpful, and so accommodating.

Yes I would definitely recommend the hotel, and yes I am already planning my next stay at the Ellauri Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, Owner at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your excellent opinion about Ellauri Hotela and our service, and for the extraordinay description of the hotel.
It is highly useful for us and for our potential customers
Kind regards
Randa and Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in late October 2011 with my wife and young child. We wanted to experience staying in the mountains of the Basque Country in a high quality hotel - our hopes were more than exceeded by this beautiful boutique hotel and exceptional hosts.

Firstly, the location of the hotel is breathtaking - whilst being only a 25 minute drive from Bilbao airport, it is nevertheless located within beautiful mountainous scenery. The views from the dining room and from the rooms (we stayed in a suite which is highly recommended eg. the room opened up onto a small grassed patio with access out to the wider hotel grounds) were stunning.

The hotel is a top quality boutique hotel which has been designed in keeping with the Basque style from the outside. The interior of the hotel is stunning. It is deliberately understated and eminently stylish. Our spacious suite was superb with crisp white bed linen, flat screen tv, dvd player, and with breathtaking views across the mountainous countryside.

The huge open fire in the dining room is very welcoming after a day exploring the surrounding area and the food was fantastic - locally sourced, delightful sirloin steaks cooked to perfection, different types of fish, fresh local eggs, vegetables, fruit - eating in the hotel is definitely highly recommended! I don't think it's possible to buy steak in the UK like the ones I was served here (I have been trying in vain).

Finally, the owners of the hotel are brilliant people and excellent hosts. They get the balance between giving you privacy but also being friendly and attentive perfectly and made our young son feel very welcome indeed. They are truly good, lovely people.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel and look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, Owner at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you very much for the extrordinary description of the hotel and for your excellent opinion of Ellauri Hotela and our service.
It is highly useful for us and for our potential customers
Kind regards
Randa and Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is brand new and ideally situated near Gorbea Natural Park. The room was very stylish and comfortable and equipped with a DVD player. The views from it were superb. In daytime it was bright but by night it lacked light. Breakfast was a bit short and the dinner tasteful but expensive (27€ for a menu without choice possibility).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, Owner at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for your excellent opinion about Ellauri Hotela and our service, and also for the description of the hotel.
It is highly useful for us and for our potential customers
Kind regards
Randa and Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellauri Hotela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellauri Hotela

Address: Altzusta 38, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellauri Hotela 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellauri Hotela - design nature character - is a uniquely inspired hotel. A refuge immersed in parkland, ideal for those who seek to get away from the city. In close proximity to Bilbao, Vitoria-Gasteiz, San Sebastian, the airports, the seaside and the Rioja vineyards, the pure land of Ellauri is situated in the heart of the conceptual "Basque City," 'Euskal Hiria.' A luxury small hotel with exquisite service, inspirational design and original thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ellauri Hotela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellauri Hotela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.