We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ellauri Hotela

Save Saved
You added Ellauri Hotela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellauri Hotela
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Altzusta 38, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Zeanuri
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An ideal base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Few people speak less Spanish than I do but this is no problem here. The outside belies the modernity of this two years old hotel with lift and the ability, despite its hillside setting, to unload luggage at the reception entrance. Very modern cutting edge style bedrooms with remarkable sliding frosted glass door and wall separating the en-suite facilities from the sleeping area. Our room had a large balcony with long distance views along the valley with little adverse impact from the road down in the valley bottom. Beds larger and more comfortable than often experienced in Spain. A very warm welcome at all times and, in contrast with an earlier report, we enjoyed two evenings of very good dinners. Breakfast was as usual in the continental style and plenty of it with genuinely freshly squeezed orange juice, always appreciated. The location is ideal if touring the Bilbao - Vitoria area being almost mid- way between the two and therefore offering the opportunity to visit both and avoid over-nighting in the cities. I would disagree with the guide books, the area to the east is hardly worth the detour with all the other lovelier scenery closer at hand. Use the Ellauri as a lovely base to explore the cities.

Room Tip: First floor balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, Owner at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you for making public your excellent opinion about Ellauri Hotela and our service, and also for the description of the hotel.
It is highly useful for us and for our potential customers
Kind regards
Randa and Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
65
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Just amazing!
We stayed at Ellauri Hotel for 3 days, and we enjoyed one of the best places of the Basque Country´s rural area.
The service at the hotel is perfect. We had all the confort expected and breakfasts and dinners are excellent. The hotel being new has the latest techonologies in the room and the bed is huge!!
We will surely repeat
Thanks a lot to Kepa and Randa

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, Owner at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
It's been great to read your comment. We'll be waiting you come back. Thank you very much from Randa and Kepa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain09
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

It's magnificant, nice view , & nice location, beutiful receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, dueño at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Peacefull and quiet.
Client experience, it is our aim.
Randa and Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

i am soo coming back again,lovely hotel really,i would definitely wanna come again and stay there,i hope all of those who are seeing this will do te same and visit the hotel,it is really amzing and breathtaking

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, dueño at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments.
We will be waiting you next time.
Randa & Kepa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

once i arrived to the hotel, i was welcomed by the ownors of the hotel: randa and kepa, they made everything from checking in till showing me the room a supereasy process... the room was clean , smelled fantastic and whatever i needed to have a good stay was there.. the location of the hotel was perfect because it was close to many montains and touristic sites that i was planning to visit and yet it was located in a quiet neighbourhood where you could have a peacefull sleep at night... what i liked the most is how the ownors made me feel like home especially in christmas time where they prepared a nice dinner in a very joyfull spirit.. definitely, ill be comin back soon

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaurihotela, dueño at Ellauri Hotela, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments. The client experience is our aim.
Randa and Kepa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ellauri Hotela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellauri Hotela

Address: Altzusta 38, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ellauri Hotela 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellauri Hotela - design nature character - is a uniquely inspired hotel. A refuge immersed in parkland, ideal for those who seek to get away from the city. In close proximity to Bilbao, Vitoria-Gasteiz, San Sebastian, the airports, the seaside and the Rioja vineyards, the pure land of Ellauri is situated in the heart of the conceptual "Basque City," 'Euskal Hiria.' A luxury small hotel with exquisite service, inspirational design and original thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ellauri Hotela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellauri Hotela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.