We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best venue for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente del Sol

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fuente del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paraje Rosas Bajas, 29260 La Joya, Antequera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Joya
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

got married here on a beautiful sunny day on 1st June, we took over the whole hotel and had the best day ever... the venue is beautiful with views to die for, the canopies were the best we had ever tasted, the food was fantastic and the tables, decorations, staff, lovely drinks, wedding cake were perfect. The staff were so professional and efficient especially Ester who helped me co ordinate and plan every detail via hundreds of e mails.
Please if you are thinking about getting married abroad consider here it was magical and at night the music played , we danced, the lanterns glowed and we partied into the early morning. it was so different to a British wedding and to have it all outside within these beautiful mountains gave the most amazing backdrop for the photographs.
I had visited the venue a year before the wedding and then planned it all with ester via e mail, she made everything I visualised into a reality, it couldn't have been better.
thank you soooooo much xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
73
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place or a more helpful staff for our son's wedding in early April. The wedding party took over the whole hotel. A wonderful breakfast buffet each morning. An indoor pool and Jacuzzi enjoyed by several guests. The entire 3 days at La Fuente were planned by wedding planners Michael and Laura of andaluciaweddings.com. They were warm, professional, and thorough. The wedding ceremony was in the lovely courtyard with distant views toward the hills and Mediterranean Sea. The wedding reception for 70 was beautifully done in a glassed-in hall downstairs. An excellent dinner with plenty of room to dance. This terrific venue contributed to a highly memorable experience for our son and his wife and for all of us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with balcony for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was one of the most wonderful experiences of my 66 years. Our daughter's wedding ceremony at this hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. We occupied the whole hotel and so the staff, restaurant and facilities were all ours. They made sure that every single thing was correct - down to fixing our room safe. The rooms were romantic and warm - with a nice fireplace and the views of the Andalusia countryside and Mediterranean Sea were spectacular. The arrangements for the wedding were perfect and the meal for 70 people at the reception was outstanding. The fish was delicious and the steaks were beautifully grilled. Everything was perfect, the staff were great and the bill was very affordable. you cannot go wrong at the La Fuente del Sol.

Room Tip: all the rooms were spectacular - the ones on the ends have the best view and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fabulous views, nice room, service could be better. We stayed one night, had no water in our room on arrival (nor was anyone on reception). It was out-of-season and pretty quiet. The restaurant has little atmosphere with few diners but the food was good, as was the local Malaga wine we chose.

I´d give it a good rather than average, but not having the choice average is more realistic than very good. There should definitely be an in between rating there.

Room Tip: If you want a sweeping view ask for a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is a place to go if you feel molested by badly educated children in other spanish places!
I hope the owners continue to keep it a quite peaceful place without low level families.
we always enjoy nice quiet places and can recomend it for people who want to avoid badly educated noisy guests! Nice view and nice nature! Keep it as it is !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was a last minute booking to relax after the children and grandchildren had gone home. We booked in for two nights but stayed for four.

The hotel has striking views to the South, goat herds regularly pass by, the gardens are well maintained, the outdoor pool of good size (ie suitable for lengths) as was the indoor poll which we did not use. The tennis court (hard court) was well maintained. The 'gym' let the other leisure facilities down as it is but a small room with minimal equipment - but why use a gym when there is so much outside? Towards the end of August the hotel was virtually empty and we enjoyed almost personal service. Most of the staff spoke good or passable English,except for one evening when none did so! The food was of a good standards with excellent service - we eat out one evening in the village of La Joya one kilometre away.

We booked an Imperial Suite - we believed we deserved some luxury and the cost was only 180 euros B&B (standard rooms were 90 euros, or as low as 70 euros from some on-line sites). For this we got a very large living room, a bedroom with a seven foot bed, a very large bathroom with a round jacuzzi big enough for two people, and a terrace large enough to have a party on, and with excellent views. The room had air conditioning which we used only once for a few hours as generally the room was a comfortable temperature.

Although the mountain roads are twisting, the surfaces are excellent with room for two cars to pass. There is plenty to do in the area - we drove to the Torcal of Antequera for a walk around the unique geology, sent half a day with the excellent audio guide of the Alcazaba in Antequera, and undertook an ascent of Camorro Alto (1378 metres). We also took a tour of the nearby lagoons, but not worth it in mid-Summer. Towns such as Ronda are within easy travelling distance and there is a local wolf farm.

We commented that it would be an excellent location for a marriage (they have a large function room) and we were therefore amused that evening to meet a couple spending their first anniversary there, having married there the year before.

Definitely a location which we will remember and may even return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a review only of the restaurant as we did not stay overnight. The place is very remote and a very considerable drive from the main cities; the building is very nicely modernised, though when we visited had a very deserted feel. Food was nice and pleasantly served, though nothing outstanding; some dishes were felt to lack seasoning/dressing and also to lack care and attention. Others seemed fine. None seemed outstanding or brilliant. At roughly €40 per head for three courses and a bottle of wine shared between four, by local standards it is not cheap, and there are many places we would prefer to eat at in the area. It did not apply to us, but many items on the menu are 'starred' as being at extra cost when you book full or half board. For a relaxing break it is probably very nice. Will we return ? Probably not - not because anything was bad, but because of the long drive and we know of better or more interesting places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Fuente del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente del Sol

Address: Paraje Rosas Bajas, 29260 La Joya, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera > La Joya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Joya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fuente del Sol 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Fuente del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fuente Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.