We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best venue for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fuente del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fuente del Sol to your Saves list
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paraje Rosas Bajas, s/n0, 29260 La Joya, Antequera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Joya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

got married here on a beautiful sunny day on 1st June, we took over the whole hotel and had the best day ever... the venue is beautiful with views to die for, the canopies were the best we had ever tasted, the food was fantastic and the tables, decorations, staff, lovely drinks, wedding cake were perfect. The staff were so professional and efficient especially Ester who helped me co ordinate and plan every detail via hundreds of e mails.
Please if you are thinking about getting married abroad consider here it was magical and at night the music played , we danced, the lanterns glowed and we partied into the early morning. it was so different to a British wedding and to have it all outside within these beautiful mountains gave the most amazing backdrop for the photographs.
I had visited the venue a year before the wedding and then planned it all with ester via e mail, she made everything I visualised into a reality, it couldn't have been better.
thank you soooooo much xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    39
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
15
91
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

As a young couple in our early twenties we decided to take a little break to La Fuente Del Sol to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Jara Suite which was spacious and unique and it had the added extra feature of a spa bath (which was great!)
The room itself was large, comfortable huge bed, nice decoration with a small fridge (very handy, we put in some of our own drinks) and a fireplace (would be nice in the winter)
The room has very high ceilings so it was a little cold as it took a while for the room to heat up, I imagine in the middle of August the room would be quite cool as there were numerous fans and air conditioning units. However, an odd bit about the room, nothing was totally closed off. The separate toilet, bidet and shower room had no ceiling so you could hear everything from the toilet in the rest of the room, including the lounge area... Not very private! But overall it was clean, nicely decorated and had all the amenities you could ask for.

Staff spoke some English which was helpful and were attentive and friendly.

We went in May and although there were a few other couples there, it was rather quiet if you're interested in that. Service in the restaurant in the evenings was often quick and the food was absolutely delicious, although sometimes a tad expensive for the quantity and was a little on the cold side one of the evenings. Try the cheesecake, best one I've ever had! Breakfast was typical, cereal, bread, ham and cheese. Although there was hot eggs and bacon one of the mornings when we arrived early.

This place is all about the location, it is literally in the middle of nowhere. You need a car no matter where you go! Prepare for long twisty roads! Antequera is around a half hour drive away and worth a visit.

We mainly stayed in the hotel on our two night stay, and made use of the spa facilities (which was a one off fee of 13 euros a head) which were very clean and we had it entirely to ourselves the entire time. Pool was warm (27 degrees) although not heated. Outdoor pool looked fabulous, shame it was too cold to use.

Overall, it was a great stay, could have been improved by a couple of fly traps! (there were flies everywhere) Would recommend it to anyone looking to get away for a little while, take a good book with you and you will have an excellent time :)

Room Tip: Spa bath was fantastic, worth paying a little bit extra for a suite with all the space if its in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place or a more helpful staff for our son's wedding in early April. The wedding party took over the whole hotel. A wonderful breakfast buffet each morning. An indoor pool and Jacuzzi enjoyed by several guests. The entire 3 days at La Fuente were planned by wedding planners Michael and Laura of andaluciaweddings.com. They were warm, professional, and thorough. The wedding ceremony was in the lovely courtyard with distant views toward the hills and Mediterranean Sea. The wedding reception for 70 was beautifully done in a glassed-in hall downstairs. An excellent dinner with plenty of room to dance. This terrific venue contributed to a highly memorable experience for our son and his wife and for all of us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with balcony for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was one of the most wonderful experiences of my 66 years. Our daughter's wedding ceremony at this hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. We occupied the whole hotel and so the staff, restaurant and facilities were all ours. They made sure that every single thing was correct - down to fixing our room safe. The rooms were romantic and warm - with a nice fireplace and the views of the Andalusia countryside and Mediterranean Sea were spectacular. The arrangements for the wedding were perfect and the meal for 70 people at the reception was outstanding. The fish was delicious and the steaks were beautifully grilled. Everything was perfect, the staff were great and the bill was very affordable. you cannot go wrong at the La Fuente del Sol.

Room Tip: all the rooms were spectacular - the ones on the ends have the best view and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaen
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fabulous views, nice room, service could be better. We stayed one night, had no water in our room on arrival (nor was anyone on reception). It was out-of-season and pretty quiet. The restaurant has little atmosphere with few diners but the food was good, as was the local Malaga wine we chose.

I´d give it a good rather than average, but not having the choice average is more realistic than very good. There should definitely be an in between rating there.

Room Tip: If you want a sweeping view ask for a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is a place to go if you feel molested by badly educated children in other spanish places!
I hope the owners continue to keep it a quite peaceful place without low level families.
we always enjoy nice quiet places and can recomend it for people who want to avoid badly educated noisy guests! Nice view and nice nature! Keep it as it is !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!

We chose this hotel especially for it’s remoteness, spa and reputation, as the perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We decided to arrive at lunchtime so that we could eat on the terrace and then enjoy the spa before settling into our room. Unfortunately, on arrival we were told that the kitchen wasn’t open and that we would have to go the local village nearly 2km away but we were still asked to book a table if we wished to eat in the restaurant in the evening. The spa was a real let down as the pool was so cold, the Jacuzzi tepid and the sauna wasn’t working properly.

In the evening, we came down to eat and, on commenting on the fact that the hotel was very quiet, we were told we were the only couple staying in the hotel. Because they had been very busy over the week end with a wedding, there was only one receptionist on duty to cover reception, bar and restaurant, and the chef had been given the day off. The food we received was actually very good, but it didn’t make up for the fact that the service was provided by a member of staff who’s first words were that she wasn’t trained and didn’t know what she was doing.

Any request for assistance was preceded by a mystery tour around the hotel trying to find her. We felt that our enjoyment and expectation had been hugely compromised by the fact that there was no staff to provide any level of service. As a four star hotel charging nearly 200€ per night we found it totally unacceptable and it spoiled our stay so much we decided that we didn’t want to stay for our second night and would leave the following day.

We spoke to one of the owners in the morning and tried to negotiate a suitable reduction on our bill befitting what we felt was a complete lack of service which ruined our special occasion. Unfortunately, he was totally intransigent and all he would do was discount 24€ for the spa and graciously not charge us for the night that we were not staying.

I am sure that with enough people staying at the hotel to warrant it being fully staffed, and the spa and pool working correctly, that it will be a lovely place to stay. But, judging by our experience, please make sure you are not the ONLY people staying in the hotel because you won't get a four star experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fuente del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fuente del Sol

Address: Paraje Rosas Bajas, s/n0, 29260 La Joya, Antequera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Antequera > La Joya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Joya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fuente del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Fuente del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fuente Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fuente del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.