We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant La Glycine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant La Glycine to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
11 place Commando, 14970 Benouville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benouville
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“good stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

stayed here for 2 night going and coming back from the UK the rooms seem to be refurbisshed and the first one had two double beds and a very nice bathroom the shower was a walk in one with more outlets than marks and spencer the only problem no instructions and this was a problem as there was an electronic readout of the water temp and it was set to 62 celcius it took me 10 minutes and a very hot arm to get it turned down. There is free wifi and it works very well plenty of bandwidth the room was very clean and large very impressed, the second room was in the annex across the road and this was due to a late arrival but the room was of a good standard and the beds in both rooms were very confortable. It is a great hotel for visiting the beache of the D-Day landings and is litrally 2 minutes from pegasus bridge and Ranville cemetery I cannot comment on the quality of the restaurant but it has a good reputation and if the smells from the kitchen are anything to go by fantastic. A great hotel and good value the only critisism that I have is the reception staff are a little surley and dont seem to be bothered about you but this is a small price to pay for a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: book the reataurant in advance especially in season and at least visit Pegasus bridge and Ranville t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    72
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
69
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
venice
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here 1 night on way home for ferry,we where very close to war museum & Bridge,we where told it had a good restaurant so we ask to be booked in the reception girl said its can be full but she would see what she could do,we went back at 7.30 pm for dinner & was told it was full,so if you want to eat there book

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here on the last night of our trip to France. Other reviewers have complained about the rooms, but we were very happy with ours. We booked a twin bedded room which had two double beds, and space between them. This was more expensive, but only €5 more as I recall. However the real gem is the restaurant. They have a great range of set menus starting with their lobster speciality at €55. We opted for the 4 course €35 meal and were not disappointed. We stayed over a Saturday night and the restaurant was totally booked up. Good job we reserved a table when we booked the room!! Virtually everyone there were French locals who know a good restaurant when they see one! As a bonus it is less than 10 minutes to catch the 8.30 ferry the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin bedded room, rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent 6 days in Normandy and visited some landing beaches and picturesque villages.
Coming from the visit of the Pegasus Bridge Memorial we passed Benouville a little bit after lunchtime. The restaurant was fully booked and we were happy that the cook was still willing to prepare us a lunch. We got a really fantastic dish with 3 different fishes , trompette mushrooms and a delicious sauce. Friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great place to stop for a night before the ferry. Best food we had during our holiday including an excellent children's menu. Room was very basic, but didn't spend much time in it so not that important to us.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were given a warm welcome by a very helpful receptionist who seemed to work 24 hour shifts!!! Our rooms were in the annexe opposite and across the landing from each other which was handy.
Car parking was to the rear of the modern "motel" block.
There is a good bakery across the road & it is just a short walk to Pegasus Bridge with two cafes. After the evening meal though there is absolutely nothing open within walking distance so be prepared to linger in the dining room or sit in your room. It is more of a quiet village/housing neighbourhood.
We took the Half board option which worked out at 70 euros a night per couple. This included a Continental buffet breakfast with a good selection plus a three course set dinner which was absolutely delicious. Probably the best food of our holiday.
Our rooms were comfortable but I would have liked extra pillows. As a previous reviewer commented there was not much information in the room apart from instructions on the free wi fi, which actually only worked in the main building! The TV had only french channels.
Overall though a pleasant stay, helpful staff, good food & quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Consider half board
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is just an average hotel about 10 minutes' drive from Caen, in northern France. It is located in a pretty village called Benouville which is famous for the WW2 allied parachute landings. Anyway, the hotel itself is quite pricy for what it is. Although the rooms are clean and confortable, there is no air conditioning and we slept badly, even with the windows wide open (which was not ideal as our room was on street level!)
The welcome we received was not great - the receptionist seemed more interested in her computer screen than the arriving guests, and we were not shown to our room, rather she pointed her finger in the general direction we had to walk.
We didn't eat in the hotel so are unable to comment on the dinner, but breakfast was a limited b
affair and very expensive.
Not able to recommend, based on our experience this time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Glycine

Address: 11 place Commando, 14970 Benouville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Benouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benouville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant La Glycine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.