We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and tranquil” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos to your Saves list
Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de los Llanos, s/n, 5600 El Barco de Avila, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Remote and tranquil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The setting for this hotel is really beautiful but remote and activities in the near vicinity are quite limited. If you like walking or horse riding it is the place for you.

The main building has been renovated well and sympathetically and the rooms in it are large and well presented. That said not all have baths in their spacious bathrooms, so check if that is something important to you.

Most of the rooms are in other buildings such as the old stables, separate from the main house. Again they are large and well thought out. Some have balconies which allow you to enjoy the setting and views to the mountains. That said they don't enjoy wi-fi connectivity, which you have to return to the main building to get.

There is a small spa area within the hotel but there is a small additional charge to use it, which is a pity, but does limit numbers there. As others have commented, the hotel would really benefit from some outdoor seating areas to allow guests to sit and appreciate the view.

I found the meals to be generous and the choice sufficiently broad to cater for a prolonged stay. The rice pudding was amazing - I think I would go back for that alone. Breakfast was also very good.

In summary, the hotel is in a lovely setting, has decent rooms and food, but its isolated location may not suit everyone.

Room Tip: If having a bath, rather than a shower, is important to you make sure you ask for one. Also, not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    16
    17
    3
See reviews for
18
47
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hersham
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As you can see from photos, the location is rural & beautiful. During February, the weather was extremely changeable & the view of snow capped mountains from the hot tub is well worth the 3 Euros 50 charge. The charge keeps the pool, sauna, steam room & jacuzzi area quiet. I think it's quite expensive overall but I stated for free volunteering with Vaughan town so price not an issue for me. If you're planning a relaxing holiday then maybe check a Vaughan town group aren't staying as we can be pretty noisy at times! You can horse ride for 15 euros per hour too. It's correct that there is no outdoor seating; they should definitely introduce some for Warmer months. The service was very friendly but bar staff are also reception staff so sometimes there is a short wait for a drink. It would also be useful to have tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. The food was mediocre, with variable quality but breakfast & salad buffets were pretty good. Rooms very comfy & jacuzzi bath in rooms was fab. It's a 20 minute walk to town, which has a nice castle with storks nesting on top & some bars, restaurants & shops. It's a 15 minute walk (turn right & then down dirt road on right) to the peaceful & beautiful river.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I went there as part of a Vaughan town week. Rooms lovely and views perfect. However, a charge to use the 'spa' area is ridiculous as nothing else there. No nice gardens, no nice sitting area outside, no loungers etc., twenty minute walk into not very pretty town. Staff helpfulness has not changed. Breakfast buffet good but the rest of the meals ere, again, not four star. OK for a Vaughan Town stay but would not recommend paying the price requested.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from a great night at this wonderful 4 star hotel and loved the experience. The buildings have been beautifully restored and the rooms are modern and very comfortable. The setting is spectacular and the hotel complex is complete with a small spa. It's perfect for a company retreat or for a weekend get-away. Breakfast was excellent (a great buffet) though I would skip the restaurant for more than 1 meal, as lunch and dinner were ok though nothing special and the house wine was less than good.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2104 which was on the 2nd floor of an adjacent building. The room was very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a lovely place away from the hustle and bustle of Madrid. Not too far away to travel. IT used to be a former ranch and it's absolutely picturesque. Very relaxed and staff was accommodating. It's not a party place for sure. There are plenty of corners to run and discover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Even though we only stayed for a night on dinner-only terms, I agree with most reviews both Spanish and English. Location is amazing, surroundings beautiful (new terrace for the views), property peaceful, and rooms a bit noisy as walls seem to be made out of cardboard. That might be one of the only drawbacks I was aware of. We stayed in the modern add-on next to the old master building, and if one is lucky and without neighbours one can get a really good night's sleep in those 2 by 2 meter beds! Wasn't able to check out the rooms in the master building, the one I saw didn't seem to have windows. There are also duplex-rooms for families, but I haven't checked them out either.

On the other hand I haven't tried the breakfast, spa or pool, so I can't comment. Maybe after our next visit. I don't agree with reviews on restaurant though. Maybe a bit too adventurous but I found it good qualitiywise. In any case a much better than the other option in town ;-)

Room Tip: If rooms are good in old master building, go for that as they're probably quieter. If not, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Puerta De Gredos is a charming hotel set amongst farm land.
The nearest town is half an hour walk away.
Rooms are well equipped and comfortable with many having a spa bath en-suite.
The breakfast is wholesome and the selection of food is comprehensive, it is self service buffet style.
Lunch and the evening meal is table service. The lunch and evening menu varies from day to day and is on the whole tasty and filling.
The reception/bar areas are well furnished and comfortable.
The only thing lacking is seating outside the main building.
There is a lift to the upper floors in the main building, but not in the former stable blocks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos

Address: Carretera de los Llanos, s/n, 5600 El Barco de Avila, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > El Barco de Avila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in El Barco de Avila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Izan Puerta De Gredos Spain/Province Of Avila - El Barco De Avila

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Izan Puerta de Gredos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.