We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos at the castle? Yes, but it was wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Ribagnac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martin Terressus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Ribagnac
Save
You added Chateau de Ribagnac to your Saves list
87400 St Martin Terressus, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chaos at the castle? Yes, but it was wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A belated review for a tremendous week spent at the Chateau.... wonderfully eccentric owners, a stunning building in the middle of nowhere... meals with the other guests were a treat - they never went to plan but that was half the fun. The food was stunning, the hosting excellent and would we go back? Yes, absolutely....

Room Tip: We stayed in a Gite down the road which was stunning....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stunning Chateau, well worth visting. The setting and the rooms are great and the owners provide great hospitality. The only downsides are that this is a "British" couple escaping the rat race - not as truly authentic as other places we have stayed. Also whilst Collette and Patrick are friendly and do great hospitality - their food and wine is not worth Eur45 per head, making the overall stay cost much more than it should.

Room Tip: They are all different, and spectacular in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Chateau de Ribagnac, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Our evening meals are 45 euros per head and include:
- aperitifs with hot/cold snacks;
- five courses, including a sumptious regional cheese board;
- excellent wine, specially selected to go with each meal;
- tea/coffee/herb teas
Our ingredients are ALL sourced locally or home grown and are ALWAYS organic or responsibly farmed. We support small local suppliers, and because we only have five rooms, we don't buy in bulk, we buy fresh.
We are happy to cater for vegetarians or those with food allergies.
When you dine at the Chateau there's no concern about driving or babysitting and you are having dinner in a 16th century chateau.
There is no obligation to eat here, and we are, as an alternative, very happy to recommend excellent local restaurants.
Kids dinner is 10 euros - no charge for under twos.
Bon appetit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place is an excellent find. We had a wonderful 9 nights here with the family (2 small children), and will definitely be back. The Chateau itself is a picture as you drive up the drive past the lake, and the warm and welcoming hosts complete the delight.

Bed and Breakfast is included in the standard room rate, but dinner is available each night on request (apart from their 2 nights off per week) for both children and adults. Children's tea is served first around 6 - 6.30 (freshly cooked with fresh ingredients), and then it's a quick whisking them into bath and bed before adults descent for a well deserved aperitif with hosts Patrick and Collette and other guests around 8.15. This is followed by a sumptuous meal (accompanied by carefully selected wine) made with love, skill and local ingredients (many from their own extensive vegetable garden). Of course this is extra-wonderful as no babysitters are required for sleeping children in the rooms upstairs. I found myself looking forward to the meal and company each night as we were putting the children to bed.

The chateau itself is beautiful, the rooms comfortable, and the extensive gardens / grounds perfect for exploring and playing in. There are many, many days out and things to do within an hour's drive, and even more if you count the natural beauty of the surrounding countryside, forests, arboretum, etc... We did horse riding (children), visiting wonderful caves (a little more than an hour away), playing on and by lakes, visiting the walking safari zoo, visiting local villages, towns and cities (and their beautiful churches, cathedrals and art galleries), walking in woods and arboretum, the huge hedge maze, playing around the chateau, and lots of eating delicious food (amongst other things).

One word of warning - this is not a hotel with room service, televisions in the rooms, or an army of staff waiting to attend to your every whim (with a price to match). But if you want beautiful surroundings, lovely accommodation, excellent food and drink, toys and amenities for young children, and friendly and helpful hosts, always willing to give advice about local attractions or days out, then this is the place for you.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We returned to stay at Chateau Ribagnac for our second visit in July of this year. Yet again we were greeted by friendly hosts Patrick and Collette with complimentary tea and coffee. The rooms are beautifully maintained with each room/ suite having a different theme. The food in the evening was as good as we remember it with at least six 'to die for' courses. All food is grown themselves or locally sourced. I have read previous negative reviews on this site about the Chateau and feel they are completely unfair! Yes the Chateau does not have all the mod cons but with grounds, views and a beautiful Chateau to explore who would want them! The hosts are very friendly, helpful and attentive. We cannot wait to return to the Chateau for our THIRD VISIT.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in Le Marais in Paris, through through and stayed in small towns in southwest france. The most relaxing and enjoyable night I had the entire trip was my last night at Chateau de Ribagnac.

Colette whipped together a light and flavorful meal of cheeses, fresh breads, charcutterie, fruit, and salads. Patrick chose wisely and served us excellent local red and white wines.

The dinner was served in front of the Chateau with sweeping views of the surrounding countryside.

We told stories, talked, and laughed into the late evening as the sun went down.

Patrick and Colette are wonderful hosts, and I would definitely recommend the Chateau, especially for a small group stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Very attentive owners. Excellent food. Very fun toi stay in a real Chateau

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Chateau de Ribagnac is an unforgettable experience. From outstanding fresh and locally grown (not to mention elegant and tasty) meals and wine, to gorgeous views over 86 acres, Ribagnac makes for a truly memorable vacation. The fantastic hosts' down-to-earth hospitality cater to good taste, yet remain unpretentious and friendly. This 16th century chateau itself, is a remarkable historic building, and the grounds are lush and full of food and wildlife.

With each tastefully themed room comes a new aesthetic experience, but throughout the chateau, the architecture feels nostalgic and French - oscillating between cozy, thick-walled castle-like rooms, to bright and sun-warmed wooden halls. The chateau itself is an experience - and being there transports you back in time.

Perhaps the greatest strength Chateau de Ribagnac offers is the ability to preserve an authentic French country experience, while accommodating the more needy and weary English-speaking traveller who might shy away from a stay so deep into France. With an evident love for food and people, Patrick and Colette provide a warm, child-friendly environment to roam the french countryside and gardens (complete with horses and sheep), taste well-prepared, regional foods and promote a cozy, dare I say, loving, atmosphere.

An all around beautiful stay - I would enthusiastically recommend families with children, couples who seek a romantic weekend or lovers of history of any age, to relish in this rare gem!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Ribagnac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Ribagnac

Address: 87400 St Martin Terressus, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > St Martin Terressus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Martin Terressus
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Chateau De Ribagnac France/Limousin - St Martin Terressus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Ribagnac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.