We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butcombe Farm

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butcombe Farm
Save
You added Butcombe Farm to your Saves list
Aldwick Lane, Butcombe BS40 7UW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Butcombe B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We arrived late with my vehicle on a recovery trailer and my daughter well into an extended bout of D&V, prior to a morning flight from Bristol Airport that we eventually had to postpone. Dot and Dave couldn't have been more helpful or flexible, getting us fixed up with a mechanic, breakfast and transport. Against all odds we made it away on holiday. I should add that their accommodation and airport transfer package offers exceptional value. The farm is in a beautiful location and the rooms are well appointed and spotless. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I must say at the outset that we stayed in one of the self-catering cottages, not in the B&B.

The farm is set in a great, scenic location with good access to the main A38 and very close to Bath, Wookey Hole, Longleat and Cheddar.

The cottage we stayed in sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms (2 doubles and a twin) and all were en-suite, 2 with a toilet/shower, one with toilet/bath, along with a large downstairs cloakroom.

The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable, and the swimming pool was a real bonus however, that is where the plus points finish.

We got off to a bad start when driving to the parking area where the owners let their dog run free, resulting in it running behind one of our cars, and out of sight. meniang that we got shouted at by the owners for 'nearly running over our dog' and also for parking in the wrong place (the sign for our parking was facing the wrong way).

After the tongue lashing we were given the key and left to get on with it, no tour of the cottage or anything.

The cottages were apparently converted around 1986, but do not appear to have been updated since. The kitchen was very shabby and cheap and not the "country cottage" style we have seen in other similar cottages. For a cottage that sleeps 6, you would expect at least 6 matching wine glasses, beer glasses etc (instead of 2 'branded' pint glasses that look like they were nicked from the local pub). There was also a lack of basic kitchen utensils, such as a wooden spoon, for example. Little things but they show a lack of care.

In the bathrooms, both shower heads were so clogged with limescale they were virtually useless. All three bathrooms are fed from one, domestic size, hot water tank so only one person can shower/bath at a time.

A lot of the bulbs had blown and had not been replaced and several of the working lights flickered on and off, as if there was a loose wire in the light.

The wardrobes in the bedroom were old and not deep enough to put hangers in straight, they had to be angled so you could close the door.

The much vaunted games room turned out to be a cold, damp, musty, windowless barn containing a pool table with a ripped cloth, table tennis table, dart board, kids toys and some old, worn chairs that smelt damp and musty, and that's not forgettign the large damp patches on the plasterboard walls. Not the sort of to have some fun and games or to sit and relax.

There is also a gym, which contains a 'multi-gym' a torn fitness mat and not much else.

The cottage seemed clean enough but it was worn enough to feel as if it wasn't, it really needs freshening up.

Some TLC and a bit of investment would make this place so much better but our experience was very disappointing.

Any Q's, just send me a message.

Simon, Colchester, UK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night before a wedding we were attending.
The couple who run the B&B were very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to have the room late for extra preparation time despite being fully booked for the following day and they made us a pot of tea whilst we waited in the lounge before going to the wedding.

The B&B itself is very nice. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It is situated on a very quiet lane close to blagdon lake and our room had lovely views over the surrounding countryside. We could actually see deer first thing in the morning!

Over all i would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — It was all pretty good really.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2005

Gorgeous setting in the Mendips. We stayed in one of the cottages - very comfortable. Had some great days out in Bath and Wells and some great walks around Blagdon Lake just down the road. Friendly service. Would recommend it!

Stayed April 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butcombe Farm

Address: Aldwick Lane, Butcombe BS40 7UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Butcombe
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Butcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcombe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.