We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A riot of colour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bourton House Garden

Bourton House Garden
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AE, England
01386 700754
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award-winning 3-acre garden surrounding an 18th century Manor House and Grade I listed 16th century Tithe Barn. Magnificent wide herbaceous borders with stunning plant and colour combinations, imaginative topiary including a knot garden, topiary walk and parterre, water features and a unique shade house. 18th century raised walk provides an enticing link to the Cotswold landscape. The unusual, rare and exotic make this garden a plantsman’s paradise! HHA/Christie’s ‘Garden of the Year’ 2006.'Small Visitor Attraction of the Year' Cotswolds Tourism Silver Award 2013
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A riot of colour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited Bourton House Gardens last week. We had visited several years ago but had been given a 2 for the price of 1 admission, so decided to call on the way to Broadway and what a happy decision that proved to be! The garden was stunning, full of magificent late summer colour. The borders were packed with still flowering plants and looked amazing while the topiary was neat and looked freshly trimmed. This garden was an inspiration to me that colour doesn't have to finish in July and I called at the Fosseway Garden Centre later to collect some autumn colour for my borders, seeking out some of the plants I'd seen. There are plenty of seats to enjoy the view, we particularly liked the ones facing the house, as you can watch the butterflies and bees on the border plants in front of you. The tithe barn is excellent for refreshments, lovely cake which is obviously homemade, rounded off our visit nicely. Earlier in the week we had visited Hidcote Manor, but Bourton House surpassed it on this occasion for colour and interest.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely and interesting gardens surrounding Bourton House. Plus delicious home-made cakes in the tea room! One tip - they don't accept cards and we didn't have any cash so we had to make a last minute dash to the bank!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Entrance to the garden is through an beautiful tithe barn which has 2 amazing hanging baskets on each side of the door.

Wonderful garden full of late summer colour and clipped box and yew of various shapes and sizes.

One of the best gardens I have visited and I have visited very many.many

Very relaxed atmosphere and lovely tea/coffee and cakes served in the barn.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a stunning house and garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Oh wow! A perfect late summer afternoon. I spent a few hours marvelling at the breathtaking house and gardens of Bourton House. The immacutaley kept gardens and the beautiful house were a joy to see on this perfect summer afternoon. I hesitated at the £6 entrance fee but it was worth every penny just to see the late summer blooms and the perfectly kept gardens in all their glory. I so wanted to enjoy an afternoon tea and a slice of cake under the big tree in the balmy late summer sun but I had to resist! It would be very easy to spend a whole day dreaming that you actually lived here and enjoying the views. One of the gardeners was proudly watering his colourful blooms and apparently three gardeners work here. What a wonderful job. I will definitely be back. I took lots of photographs which I will reflect on and be inspired by. Thank you very much. I drove past today and reversed and came back to see the garden by chance. I'm so glad that i did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pete's
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Nothing better on a beautiful English Summer's Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

As the title of this review suggests, we went on a glorious English summer day.
Admission is £6.00 and there is limited catering, mainly cakes plus, tea/coffee, water, juices etc
You can take your cakes/drinks just outside where you pay and sit in seats in dappled sunlight under the canopy of a lovely large Tree.
The Head Gardener is Paul Nicholls who deserves much credit for a wonderfullly planted garden full of inspiring ideas.
The garden spreads across 3 acres and a recurrng feature is the extensive topiary including knot garden, parterre and topiary walk.
I am still a relative "newbie" to gardening so was blown away by the sheer variety of plants and the way they seemed to seamlessly compliment each other.
The way the borders were arranged was excellent and the colours (and where applicablle the scent) were breahtaking.
I also liked some of the features such as the basket pond taken from the Great Exhibition of 1851.
I also thought the shade house was a very good/interesting concept (picture supplied).
A very enjoyable experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourton House Garden also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Bourton House Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bourton House Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.