We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Atlantico 353 | Vecindario, 35110 Vecindario, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vecindario
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were on a cycling holiday and decided to find a hotel away from the main resorts. This fitted the bill perfectly. The hotel has a basement garage in which we could park the rental car free of charge. The manager said we could store our bikes in the luggage room but we left them in our locked car instead. Breakfast was excellent in terms of quality and quantity and the half board dinner was extremely good. All the service personnel were friendly and helpful.

Don't stay here if you want to be close to the beach but it's an excellent location for touring the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen HOTEL ELBA VECINDARIO AEROPUERTO .

We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed many different aspects of your stay and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in your second stay in our hotel.

Kind regards


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
67
13
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuerteventura, Canarias, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We live on a neighbouring island and had travelled to Gran Canaria by car and car ferry for 5 hours so were pretty tired when we arrived.
The hotel is right by the side of the main road, so was easy to find and is 5 minutes away from the airport.
Parking is easy with a huge underground car park if you can't find anything on the road.
The staff were all friendly and efficient and check in was easy and quick.
Our room was at the back of the hotel which caused my only negative part of the review. We were luckily only staying one night or I would have asked to be moved. Being a Friday night the locals were enjoying themselves at either a bar or nightclub from about midnight to 5am which sounded as though they were in the room with us! I would imagine that a Saturday night would be the same, but probably okay during work days.
The room was excellent, large, clean, flat screen TV, comfy bed, free wifi and a small balcony.
The bathroom again was excellent being large with plenty of towels and an amazing shower!
Breakfast the next morning was great with just about everything on offer to suit all nationalities tastes.
Check out again was easy and speedy.
Just 2 things to watch out for to make your stay here better.......
1) Shorts are not allowed in the restaurant in the evenings (I like that, but could be a problem if you are here on holiday in the summer and have not packed long trousers).
2) Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper and staying on a Friday or Saturday night.

All in all, a good clean hotel at the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper and staying on a Friday or Satur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mr Gordon,

Thank you very much for writing a very nice review about your recent stay at our hotel ELBA VECINDARIO AEROPUERTO. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very glad to know that our staff took such great care of you andt that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Please ask for me in your next trip to Gran Canaria It will be a pleasure to meet you.

Kind regards,


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as problem with our accommodation elsewhere.Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooftop pool was windy but enjoyable. Not much to do in immediate area but shopping centre (2mins walk away)was well a visit

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments towards our HOTEL ELBA VECINDARIO AEROPUERTO , we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will follow working to improve our service day by day.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best Regards


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of weeks, but had 15 crew staying here for 3 months.
The hotel is modern and clean.
The rooms are well appointed but the rooms at the back of the hotel are noisy due to a park area that the kids use for skateboarding. TV channels were very basic with only 2 English news channels.
The breakfast is basic and in the 2 weeks I was there the eggs were never hot.
The restaurant doesn’t open till 8pm in the evening, the food is good but it gets repetitive once you have been there for a while. The room service menu is quite basic.
When I was checking out I tried to print out my boarding pass using the computer and printer provided at reception, it took 40 minutes to get to the stage to print and then there was no ink in the printer and they did not have any replacements.
Eventfully I had to go into the office to print my boarding pass.
I don’t know if it was because we were not Spanish but the reception staff was never very enthusiastic, not the kind of service I would expect from a 4 star hotel.
The waitresses in the bar and restaurant were always very helpful and polite,

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel, rooms at the back are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are working in all those issues you have raised.
I have passed on your comments to the corresponding departments managers.

We do hope you give us a second chance and come back again.

It will be a pleasure for me show to you all the improvements.

Best regards


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just back from spending a week at this hotel, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in! From check-in onwards the staff were excellent, nothing seemed any trouble, room was spacious, plenty of storage space for clothes and spotless every day. We ended up eating in the hotel every night at the El Lagar Cafe Bar (Pepe and Ester are particularly good staff!), very good food at competitive prices. The main El Lagar restaurant looked good but prices were a bit higher so we didn't eat there. We asked a few touristy questions at reception and always we were answered positively and good tips were given. There is secure on site parking in an underground car park, we were told that cost 5 Euros per day, however on paying bill at check out, no charge so another positive result. Probably the only thing stopping this being a 5 star review was the hot food on the breakfast buffet, it wasn't, nor was some of it even cooked! but the rest of the fare cereals, pastries, etc excellent and plenty of it. The only reason we might not stay here again is the hotel's location on the East side of the island which is quite windy and not as sunny as the south of the island but that isn't something you can hold against the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Robert,:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the HOTEL ELBA VECINDARIO AEROPUERTO. We are delighted to learn that you had a fantastic holiday with us and enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate specialy your comments about our staff.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel here in Vecindario because it is one of the nearest to the airport, having had a flight leaving very early in the morning. The hotel is modern, good rooms and very nice employees, helping you for what you need.
Free wifi which is not the case in many hotels in the south of the island.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing HOTEL ELBA VECINDARIO AEROPUERTO for your stay and writing a nice review regarding it.
It is a pleasure to know that our staff took such great care of you andt that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Warm regards.


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel is fine, but to use it for a short overnight for stop over at airport be aware that you need a taxi at 20 Euro each way.
We arrived at 21 hours, and called the hotel for the shuttlebus. They indicated it would be there at 21.30, so we waited. The bus came at 21.30, but the driver wanted to wait for another passenger. When the driver still did not want to leave after 25 minutes, we called the hotel reception to complain, and they instructed him to leave. The ride took 12 minutes.....
The shuttle only starts in the morning at 7.00, so we (and many other guests) had no other option than to take a taxi, which costs 20 Euros.
Next time we will choose a hotel closer to the airport and go there by taxi.

Room Tip: take back side, and avoid the side facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELBAVECINDARIO, Gerente at Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We regret that you were not fully satisfied with our free shuttle service.
It Is very helpful to know your opinion during your stay in order to work on making it better for you.
Regarding our free transfers, usually you do not have to wait to another guests but in this case, we had to wait for another flight very close to yours.

We hope you give us a second chance and come back again.

Best Regards


Jonathan Cañellas
Manager
Hotel Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto

Address: Avenida del Atlantico 353 | Vecindario, 35110 Vecindario, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Vecindario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vecindario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Vecindario Aeropuerto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.