We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Princess to your Saves list
Suite Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Alcazaba, 4 (Urb. de Taurito), 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Skipton
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and found the new system of only offering rooms above level 4 to black band customers very disappointing. We had requested by e-mail 10 days before two high rooms next door like we had last year. We were given rooms on the ground floor and three doors away from our friends. Thomson couldn't have got it more wrong. We were told that we had to book black bands to get rooms higher than 4 but then met lots of people in the Hotel who arrived with us given rooms on levels 7, 8 & 9. most of which had booked last minute, paid less and hadn't requested any particular rooms or even paid for an upgrade. We were fobbed off by Thomson reps who we found rude and unfriendly. Arrived about 9.30pm tired and hungry due to flight delay to be told that food would not be available untill 11.pm. A plate of tinned ham and a plate of processed cheese with some bread awaited us not what one would expect from a 4* hotel. It was very obvious this year that unless you pay an extra £38 per person per night for an upgrade you were very third rate guests. We were told by the reps that they had no control over the running of the Hotel but bear in mind the only guests there appear to be with Thomson or Tui (same company) so I would suggest they have a great deal of control. The Hotel itself is still lovely and we had no complaints about the food. We usually go on three four holidays a year but will probably not book with Thomson again if that's how they treat customers.

Room Tip: If you want a good room pay for an upgrade or book at the last minute pay less and don't request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    614
    224
    51
    18
See reviews for
111
1,536
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Most of what has been said in reviews I agree with so will keep it brief!

Very good value with huge choice of food. Great showers, big room and ours was very quiet on floor 6. The only noise was the waves! Animation team got it right in the day without hassling you.

Coffee from machine was awful (try the beach bars below the hotel) and orange juice was even worse. They need to sort out the ridiculous sun bed bagging that goes on - we did not play and always found somewhere, but it is annoying to say the least. The dining experience is more akin to a school canteen - your plate is removed the second you finish, even if your partner is still eating. The atmosphere is rushed and frenetic as well as being incredibly noisy. Staff not very friendly especially girls on reception.

Not our type of hotel but it is good for two weeks in the sun!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

agree with review from pmason60050 hotel was lovely we met some great people must mention june and trev from tamworth on their seconed visit who loved it just as much as last time.would stay again as the staff are very friendly and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Started our holiday with a taxi ride through heavy snow to Birmingham Airport.Booking in was efficient and timely.Plane delayed due to airport staff contractors not having emptied the loos from the previous flight from Lanzarote the night before .Flight overall was ok and smooth although landing was a bit hairy due to winds.
Airport at Las Palmas very efficient also direction to Thomson transfer coach.
Then problems started-coach broke down after 5minutes had to wait for replacement which arrived 15 minutes later.Transfer in Brochure was supposed to be Priority 1ST OR 2ND drop off in fact we were last to be dropped off eventually.The Thomson rep maintained that we were not Priority so I suggest that Thomson should not promise in the brochure when they have no intention of honouring the stated commitment to do so.Took about 1/2hr to book in at reception due to 2 coaches arriving at the same time.This is when the next faux-pas occured.On receiving our room cards allocating us adjacent rooms as requested we proceeded to open the door to our room only to find that another party was already in there.After another visit to reception to try to correct matters we were allocated another room but unfortunately two floors away from our other party members.Room was of good standard with balcony but no sun on it at any time of day--will anything go right?
Well,even after all the mishaps happening to us we found the hotel a delight.Staff were very friendly and service very efficient.Food was varied and plentiful just wish the staff would keep the chips hot.But the food was of a good standard especially the best crispy bacon at breakfast we have ever tasted.Facilities at Hotel were good with a variety of bars and entertainment.Resident duo were very good as was the piano bar music man.
Taurito itself is a quiet laid back resort sheltered by surrounding hills.There are however shops and a small promenade.Nearby Puerto Mogan is a delightful little village with heaps of bars shops and restaurants as well as a market every Friday spread out throgh the lovely little streets.Just 6euros by taxi or 1.40 euros on the local buses which run every 15 minutes or so.
We elected for taxis as for the four of us it was just as cheap.Although the hotel runs a free bus service every day it sometimes gets full up particularly on market day.
Afew moans about sunbeds being taken early morning. That was true but we still found plenty of sunbeds so not a big problem.
Met friendly people from sweden scotland finland holland and england and all guests were very friendly and were third and fourth timers to the hotel and were already booking a return visit.
So all in all despite Thomson failures at start of holiday we had a fabulous time and the management and staff at Suites Princess should be congratulated.
We would recommend this Hotel for any couples wanting an adult only laid back Break

Room Tip: lower numbers on all floors best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from the Suite, and everything was just as it was a year ago. Recommend to any "elder" couples. I only say that as the young couples who were there were a little bored, but if you want 2 weeks of laying around, eating, drinking, dancing and sleeping, this is the place for you. The only downside was the so-called profesional acts, they may get paid, but they are very amateur. With ref to a moan about the smokers, I must agree, they sit right outside the entertainment area and bar with the doors open, and smoke poring in. As most people no longer smoke, this could easily be stopped. I would fully support any hotel that was 100% no smoking.

Room Tip: High floors best, but you must upgrade, but all floors have seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from Suit Princess after a 3 week stay. Weather was excellent. The food let it down, only average and not very hot, chips were always warm and as appertising as soggy cardboard, soup was good. Location was ok, buses will take you out of the valley at very little cost. If you are afraid of hights don't get on the bus, very scary if you have a driver that thinks he is Lewis Hamilton. Go to Playa Mogan (little Venice) very nice place and you can get a pint of draught Guinness at two Irish bars. Heated pool in the hotel. If you upgrade to a black band make sure you get all the info on what you are entitled to. ie, bottles of wine at dinner and the bars, best spirits, lack of info from the Thomson team, worst team we have encountered in all our holidays with Thomsons and we have had a few. Lots of noise from the aqua park. hard beds

Room Tip: Stayed in room 9026 top floor loads of sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at the suite princess. While everyone at home was freezing in the snow, we were soaking up the sun. My husband needed a rest after a busy time with work, we know the suite princess offers this as it was our 3rd visit. One thing mired the holiday though, not the food which was delicious as usual. Not the entertainment which was good, but a few nights were a bit dodgy ( Lionel Richie ). Give him a miss, not the staff , who do there upmost to fulfill your wishes. Everywhere we sat , so did smokers, they are everywhere, apart from a few tables outside the Tapas bar. It spoilt the evenings as we couldn't sit outside. I'm not anti smoking but please SUITE PRINCESS sort it out.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Princess

Address: C/ Alcazaba, 4 (Urb. de Taurito), 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#1 Family Hotel in Taurito
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Suite Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Princess Hotel Taurito
Suite Princess Grand Canary
Hotel Suite Princess
Suite Princess Taurito, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.