We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, just a few niggles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Taurito Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Taurito Princess to your Saves list
Hotel Taurito Princess
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa De Taurito, GC-500 | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good, just a few niggles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time with plenty of sun. The hotel is on the whole very clean, however the bathroom could have been cleaned more thoroughly due to some very visible mould.

Meals were of good quality and there was always plenty to choose from at dinner, however lunch did get rather boring after a couple of days.The drinks were ok, however the beer was 9 times out of 10 flat as well as the juice and cava. The red wine and sangria were very nice though. Staff were on the whole very attentive and pleasant with the odd exception. You can always get a sun lounger, no matter what time you go down at. Amazing views throughout and especially on themed nights for dinner overlooking peurto mogan. Evening entertainment on the whole was pretty poor, however the piano bar was very good and the majority of the time we sat there. We booked with First Choice and it was meant to be a platinum package. However I would not say there was anything platinum about it and no extras that you would generally get with platinum in other resorts.

There is not much in the resort of taurito itself, however we were there to relax and this is certainly what we got. The hotel offers a shuttle service to peurto mogan, however we just walked the 5 minute walk to the local bus stops and caught buses to both mogan and peurto rico. You are 2.80 return and the buses come frequently and never had any issues with them. Amadores beach is worth a visit, although peurto rico is certainly going down hill. Around every resort there seems to be a lot of people trying to get you to go to Anfi as a sales pitch. On one occasion in peurto rico they tried to tell us that we had one a great prize and we had to immediatly get in a waiting taxi to take us to Anfi to get our prize. This was after them telling me that I would have to lie about my age. This was clearly a con and they should all get together and get there story straight before trying to con people. Unfortunately, I am sure some poeple would be taken in by them.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday in Taurito Princess and defintely got the relaxing holiday that we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    516
    216
    57
    33
See reviews for
366
617
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you want peace and quiet, a nice view then this hotel fits the requirement. This was our second 7 day stay at the Taurito Princess having stayed last year and found the recent refurb an improvement with the outside seating areas and garden area being utilised is a good idea.
Food is ok, nothing special and to be honest sticking up a flag of Mexico and some Nachos on a plate does not really make it a theme night. The food is pretty much the same every night with a few dishes changing, but its ok and does the job but does get a little bland. Mogan is nice for an evening meal and change of scenery. Always found the staff to be polite and willing to help. Agree with the plug sockets being daft with only one in the main room, there is one in the bathroom but not really the place to charge something. This is however a remarkably clean hotel, rubbish is non existent. I would also agree that the hotel seemed to be visited this time around by a much older 55+ age group but as it was just after school holidays it is to be expected.
AlI would vote the hotel as a high 3 or 4 star. I would not bother with the upgrade package or as a couple I would not upgrade to a suite room as there is little point in this and a waste of money.
A nice break but more than 7 days would probably drive you a little mad as stated the entertainment is not the best

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side have better views of sea. Choose any floor room 12 upwards and you wont be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel which was our second time here. We had a good week, the hotel is always spotlessly clean although the rooms need updating. The food was not as good as our previous visit 2 years ago, lunch time was much better than the evening but was very repetitive and as other reviews say alot of the time the food was only luke warm or cold. The wine in the buffet was the worst I have ever tasted. The animation team are terrible, the entertainment is run by young girls who are unprofessional and have not got a clue. The evening entertainment is abismal, probably the worst we have ever come across. This is a lovely hotel with lovely views and very quiet, the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This has got to be one of holiday's myself and my partner have been on, the staff were so friendly, the Hotel was extremely clean they were forever cleaning, you always saw somebody with a mop or duster.
The variety of food was incredible, something different every night for dinner and also during the day, I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Anything above the 8th floor the views are amazing. I was on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely time here. I agree with a lot of the previous comments. Great views over the beach, hotel clean and staff great and friendly. The room was comfortable, even if it could have done with a fresh lick of paint. The only negative about the room is the lack of plug sockets and those available being overloaded.

I agree with the comments about the entertainment. It's not great. We watched one show, Bollywood, which was great. The others we either didn't go too, left early or on one occasion he didn't show up.

The piano bar was relaxed and we generally went there to play cards. The saxophone guy was amazing.

We went as party of 4. 3 found the food was great, I found it a little repetitive despite a good choice each day. I preferred the food at lunch but this is down to personal preference as the others I went with would dispute this. I did get a bit niggled that often the tables would not be relaid and we would have to do this ourselves.

I can see how people who upgrade to gold wrist bands are disappointed. There seems little in the packages, not worth the money unless you need a bathrobe, slippers, fridge and branded drinks. The local drinks were absolutely fine.

We never needed to call on the rep Terry, however he would make himself visible daily in reception and would also walk around the pool and restaurant.

All in all it was a great holiday, great location with the company if our friends. However, being 30 something's (my husband and I) we did find mosts of the guests somewhat older than ourselves. There are no balls or lilo's allowed in the pool which was great for us, but if you have kids or teenagers it would be boring for them. The is one tiny toddler pool and the main pools are fairly deep for children. The hotel supply free pool towels which saves on luggage! There are always plenty of sunbeds so no need to get up early.

A must at this hotel is to use their gardens to watch the amazing sunsets, it is out of this world! Hubby used Blue Explorers diving on the beach for a dive and they were great and he would recommend them and the diving.

Would we go back? Yes we would as a group rather than a couple...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just came back from an 11 night stay at the taurito princess hotel, as we arrived early hours of the morning, we were greeted by super friendly staff at reception that couldn't be more helpful they even put us a cold dinner in place so we had something to eat after traveling, rooms we to a high standard and as we were on the 9th floor we had an amazing view overlooking the beach and sea, rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. everything was immaculate, pool area was very clean plenty of sunbeds we always had a pool side sunbed without getting up early for it, food was lovely something for everyone, we attended both themed nights which were Mexican and Chinese and I have to say we're amazing. The shows the entertainment team put on we're good, plenty of alcoholic drinks on the all inclusive to choose from, the rep 'TERRY' was fantastic really helpful and friendly. Location was great as was quiet but puerto Morgan was just a 5min taxi drive away and Puerto Rico only 10 mins away which we did visit several times, bars including the piano bar were beautiful with colour Changing lights and lovely staff. Checking out the staff even let us keep our band on so we could get drinks etc while we waited to be picked up which was lovely as most hotels wouldn't let you do that.On the whole a fantastic holiday I am so glad we chose this hotel and will defiantly will be returning here again ... Even looking for next year already ... Thanks taurito princess for a wonderful holiday :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day stay at Taurito Princess and have to say not everything was up to the standard i expected. Plug socket in my room was unsafe and overloaded and the room and bathroom were not thoroughly cleaned all week. Food was fine first couple of days but soon became very repetitive the best food being at lunch time.The entertainment was very poor and the all inclusive drinks were very weak changing in taste from bar to bar .Sign at restaurants stated men had to wear long trousers yet women were coming in wearing very very short an tatty looking shorts . Very unfair ! Also not enough labels in restaurant for food had to guess most of the time resulting in me getting ice cream sauce on my salad !Also the transfer time stated was so wrong it took us over two hours with so many drop offs the transfer took longer than the flight. Yes i agree a lovely location but not worth the £950.00 i paid .DONT be tempted to upgrade for £18 per person per day its just not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Taurito Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taurito Princess

Address: Playa De Taurito, GC-500 | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Taurito
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taurito Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Taurito Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Taurito
Taurito Princess Gran Canaria
Hotel Taurito Princess Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Taurito Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.