We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The joy of fine dinning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Berasategui

Martin Berasategui
Loidi Kalea, 4, 20160 Lasarte, Spain
(+34) 943 366 471
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Martin Berasategui is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Lasarte
Price range: $175 - $292
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The joy of fine dinning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful white glove service, interesting and tasty dishes, outstanding cava. Sure it's pricy but wow, what a night out! Attached are the 12 courses + an extra dessert course.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    46
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ate at Arzak last year and there is no comparison between the two. Martin Berasategui is superior in every way. The warm and friendly welcome when we arrived was a precurser to delightful service in a elegant and spacious dinning room. We ordered the tasting menu which was served at the ideal pace allowing us to fully enjoy every course. The waiters were fluent in English and were able to explain everything that was presented to us, important when it is not always apparent what is on the plate! The sommelier was able to suggest some excellent wines to accompany the meal and was always there to refill our glasses in a very unintrusive way. The food itself was innovative and exquisitly presented and the most wonderful culinary experience. To pick out any one course that outshone the others is almost impossible, however my husband wanted the 'Morsel of Asparagus and raw truffle, air and juice' to get a special mention.The meal was completed by smiley and friendly visit from Martin himself making for the perfect end to the best ever dining experence. Even with the 3 Michelin starred price tag we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Less of a meal & more of a cacophony of amazing mouth experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon on Martin's balcony with a standard of service that was equally friendly & particular in every detail. This provided the perfect back drop to a tasting sensation of incredible food & wine combinations. Being also personally greeted by the maestro, made this the most memorable eating experience. Worth the money!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Best of the Three Michelin 3 Stars in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Following consecutive visits to Akelarre and Arzak (7 and 8 September respectively) we had lunch on 9 September with 5 persons. The conclusion was unanimously in favour of Martin Berasategui in terms of inventiveness of the cuisine, its execution and presentation coupled with outstanding (impeccable) service. Two dishes were simply astonishing and totally a unique experience in moving the boundaries:
1. Warm vegetable hearts salad with seafood, cream of lettuce and iodized juice - truly amazing (and I don't normally like salad)
2. Oyster with cucumber, kafir and coconut - we could (and should) have eaten half a dozen of these wonderful jewels!
Two other wonderful experiences were the desserts:
1. Melon with caipirinha, lemongrass sorbet, crispy flowers and sheep's milk
2. Chocolate frost with mint, asparagus, caramelized pumpkin and bitter coffee ice cream
Neither of them were overly sweet, and again were original in terms of composition and execution.
A great, great address which is head and shoulders above Akelarre, but with Arzak being a close runner up. Very strongly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best meal of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I can honestly say this is the best meal I have ever had in my life. From the service, to the location (eat on the outdoor patio at sunset if you have a chance), to the wine, and especially to the artfully-presented and amazing food. It was truly 12 courses of awe-inspiring, thought-provoking delight that I will remember forever. I am not a seafood lover, and the staff happily switched out a couple of my courses. This is an absolute must for anyone visiting San Sebastian!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Berasategui also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Martin Berasategui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Berasategui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.