We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Randsbergerhof Hotel

Randsbergerhof Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Randsbergerhof Hotel to your Saves list
Randsbergerhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Randsbergerhofstr. 15-19, 93413 Cham, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cham
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was my first stay in this hotel and Cham. Hotel is probably not very new, but in good shape. We had a bit of argument at check-in about rooms but everything was sorted. Well, mostly, two beds pushed together doesn't make double bed, doest it? Rooms are pretty large and comfortable, maybe a bit dark. We got also a balcony with a decent view, but it was too cold to stay there any longer. There is only one elevator and surprisingly it was enough, but I suppose it might be not enough at more busy periods. Breakfast is very good, although not much choices on hot dishes. Restaurant is also good for dinners, with plenty of local and international dishes.
My biggest disappointment was Internet access. It is there, for free (but requires registration). Trouble starts when you want to use it. Signal is way too weak, jumps up and down all the time. On top of that, authorisation system is stupid enough to 'think' you are still connected, while you are not. Even if you finally find spot when it works, speed is something like 100k or less. Shame.
When you get annoyed enough, you can however use pool and several saunas, they are free for guests and very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you care about Internet connection, ask for room close to the elevator, WiFi seems to be stronger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
7
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a fantastic Hotel located in the middle of the Bavarian Forest diretly in the small town of Cham. The hotel is clean, modern and the rooms have all the amenities yo could wish for. The best part for us though, was the fantastic wellness facilities, including the roof-top pool where you can swim or sunb-bath and look out on to the fantastic surrounding scenery. Steam rooms/saunas and an indoor swimming pool as well. Breakfast was also varied with everything possible from cooked to cold.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been going to Cham for business for about 2 years. I tried this hotel in June 2012 for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. I returned to the hotel again this time/ Good service, comfortable rooms, walking distance to the train station but if you have luggage, use a taxi (5€ or less). If there is hot weather, be advised the AC is not that strong, but that is fairly usual in the EU, isn't it? The restaurant was good the first time but even better this time. Breakfast is included with the rooms but dinner is also good. Internet connection is free but not the most dependable. I had to reset occasionally to keep things moving. I was there for business, so I didn't get to try the amenities. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

located in a quiet side street about 15 minutes walk from rail station, and only a couple of blocks from the pretty main square.
this hotel looks like a good proposition that keeps getting bigger and better.
the reception is very smart and impressive with polite and friendly staff.
i was delighted to be allocated into a superior double room on ground floor in the newer wing. this was a large room, with huge bed, work alcove, and sitting area with leather sofa. the decor was somehow both modern and traditional at the same time, and the huge bed was very comfortable. the bathroom too was in the best modern taste, and of course everything worked well and was spotlessly clean. the layout, dimensions, comfort and style were way ahead of anything i have come across recently, and represented exceptional value.
i did have a quick peek into a standard room in main building which was not of the same level, but still looked good.
the restaurant was a large attractive modern room , decked out in the style of the medieval randsberg knights, and served an excellent buffet breakfast.
the hotel also had an excellent indoor pool ( no changing rooms or towels ), a rooftop pool, and some excercise machines , plus a german style bowling alley and cinema on site as well...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randsbergerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randsbergerhof Hotel

Address: Randsbergerhofstr. 15-19, 93413 Cham, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Cham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Randsbergerhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Randsbergerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randsbergerhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.