We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique dining experience, with savoury dishes that leave you completely satisfied, but not overly stuffed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commoner

The Commoner
Johnston street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
(03) 9415 6876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 177 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A unique dining experience, with savoury dishes that leave you completely satisfied, but not overly stuffed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We chose the "feed me" option which I highly recommend!

We got to sit outside on the back patio and had little blankets to cozy up with.  We sipped on Pizzini Arneis wine as petite serves of gourmet style dishes were brought out one after another.  Boccerones, seasoned roasted green peppers, sesame bread with olive oil and parmasean croquettes.  Next they brought out a chacuterie board with mixed gourmet meats, marmaliade dips and peach chutney - lomo, rabbit salami and pheasant terrine were laid out in front of us.  This was followed by scallops with apple and walnut salad in a hibiscous dressing.  Then came the crispy pork belly with apple braised cabbage, broccolini and roasted potatoes with thyme and lemon seasoning.  Dessert topped it all - we had brown ale pudding with salted caramel topped with cream.  The carmel literally tasted like Worthers Original hard candy - yum!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
barrindp
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Small restaurant on the edge of the main brunswick street food strip. This cosy space specialises in seasonal food and food to share. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful but not intrusive - and the food speaks for itself - Try the Shed platter - awesome

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Forget boganic 'foine doining' and enjoy what Melbourne does best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A refreshing break from all the nonsense out there. Three mates, a four hour lunch, the food kept coming and it was all impeccable. Passionate, intelligent staff who were unintrusive and spoke to us as adults. Low key, interesting environment where ACTUAL TALKING was possible. Can't remember what I paid, probably $130 or so with wine, just that it is a fantastic place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My collegues and I came twice for dinner during our Melbourne trip. First time we ordered off the menu. Second time we allowed the chef "to feed us". For a couple hours, course after course came out. While all was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful, the stand out was the duck. We were offerred slices of duck so tender you could cut them with a fork. Try the Banana Caramel Parfait for dessert.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, attentive service and relaxed surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Have been meaning to try the tasting menu for months now, why did I delay? I could eat here every week! The food is delicious, stunning flavours, fresh ingredients, they will cater for food dislikes and allergies etc. The quail melted in my mouth, the rabbit pie was even better, even the asparagus was how asparagus used to taste! Can't recommend this place highly enough

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commoner also viewed

 

Been to The Commoner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commoner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.