We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A laid back venue offering great food for both vegetarians and meat eaters.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cider House

Cider House
386-388 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
03 9415 6142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 165 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Tapas, Vegetarian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A laid back venue offering great food for both vegetarians and meat eaters.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited this venue on strength of TripAdvisor reviews. Venue is a large space featuring a mix of comfy couches, tables & chairs & barstools with benches. Background music features current hits played just the right volume so still possible to hold a conversation. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Wide range of both vegetarian & meat dishes on offer; I had the steak sandwich with potato skins ( delicious) while others enjoyed the roast lamb special & wild mushroom risotto. Dessert was a slice of apple pie with muscat- fabulous!
Venue offers a wide range of ciders & beers, & a more limited (but perfectly adequate) wine list.
Will definitely go again with a group of friends & when we are looking for a venue that caters for both vegetarians & meat eaters alike - and does it well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cool, cosy and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

A great atmosphere is complimented by friendly staff and tasty food. The prices are pretty good for what you get ($7 for a pint of cider, $16 for a burger & $18 for risotto)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great cider, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I love cider-still takes me back to my student days when it was cheap!
I had not visited here before and now regret this oversight! We each had a tasting plate for $22 each of which were comprised of 3 selections of our own choice. Fantastic tastes and a good way to taste a number o dishes. But then it was time to choose our ciders! The bar person was very patient and helpful in this regard.
We can't wait for our next Melbourne trip so we can go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ciderlicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

if you like cider you will love this place! So many ciders to choose from,"grazing plate" delicious amazing range of fries to go with ciders! Its position on brunswick st Fitsroy easy to get to parking could be an issue so would advice getting a cab, (cabs in Melbourne cheaper than most capital cities) anyway you can then have a great tasting experience trying the variety of ciders

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Was roaming around Brunswick Street and stumbled upon this little gem of a restaurant. Although, we did not eat any of the food here we loved the cider. There was such a selection of cider on the menu and all looked delicious. For those who don't want cider they also have beer and cocktails. What I liked most about The Cider House was the atmosphere. It had a feel of a winery, but with cider. Such a great twist :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cider House also viewed

 

Been to Cider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cider House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.