We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, but pricey for a hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nunnery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Nunnery to your Saves list
The Nunnery
116 Nicholson St., Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but pricey for a hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and met heaps of travellers. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms were quite comfortable and the washrooms were clean. The breakfast was quite plain with bread with spreads and corn flakes. Tea, coffee and hot choc was available. I thought it was a bit overpriced with the value of the rooms and food.

It is very noisy and the walls are paper thin so you will hear your neighbours and everyone in the halls. So bring your ear plugs and hope you're not a light sleeper.

It's in fitzroy neighbourhood and Lygon street, some very cool and unique areas to visit. Would stay here again for the atmosphere and the people I've met.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
23
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was looking on Hostel world.com where to stay for a 3 night trip to Melbourne. The Nunnery came up first. I checked out the reviews and decided to book. I am so happy I did. Nunnery is a great spot. WOnderful location. About 15 minutes from CBD You can walk to everything. For the travelers who are on a budget- free breakfast daily and BBQ on Friday. The rooms were clean. I stayed in 6 bed room. I got on along well with one guy from the UK. lots of young people there backpacking through. They also have pub crawls. Plenty of showers. Didn't have to wait too long. One of the cleanet hostels I have been in. Towel included!! Stainedglass windows were beautiful. Favorite part of this place was the picture of Celine dion and a crazy looking cat from the 80s thanking the nunnery when she stayed there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this place for almost 4 weeks in october 2012. Very good ambiance, the pub crawl are always worth checking out, there is a free bbq every week(vege-friendly) and the beds are comfortable. Lots of young people so no, this is not a very quiet place, especially going into the weekend. But I will surely return here someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nicely done up old buildings and rooms, but lots of street noise from trams, traffic and nearby pub. While lip service is given to curfew hours for overnight quiet, in reality it has a very social all night vibe, which along with creaky floors and noisy smoke filled inner courtyard & walkways made ear plugs essential. No air conditioning or ventilation and having to keep the windows closed against the smoke and noise made the rooms very stuffy. Having made us pay upfront for our 6 nights stay, they refused any refund when we wanted to leave after the first night. Be sure your after this kind of all night pricey social hostel before booking in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Nunnery is a fabulous hostel with lovely people, a great location and fantastic events for guests. I was warmly welcomed on arrival and was able to check in just after 1pm. The first evening I was there (a Friday) the hostel held a free BBQ for guests with food suitable for all and drinks available as well. It was the best night I have ever spent in a hostel anywhere in the world! It was an awesome party and a fantastic chance to meet people, a lot of whom were return guests. A basic breakfast is also provided in the mornings.
My room (a four bed dorm) was small but not cramped with a great view of Brunswick, lockers and a big built in wardrobe. The bathrooms are also quite small and the water pressure isn't great but there are plenty for everyone.
The lounge area on the ground floor is spacious and nicely furnished with a large TV and plenty of couches. The courtyard out the back is also well furnished with plenty of seating.
The location is fantastic, so close to Brunswick and Fitzroy and there is a tram stop just out the front. You can also walk to the CBD in 15 mins. There are several supermarkets within walking distance also.
Overall, its a great hostel with a really welcoming atmosphere and a genuine focus on making sure guests have a great time. I would never hesitate to reccomend The Nunnery and will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Only stayed here the 1 night but i was amazed at how lovely it was and how nice the staff are here, it was soooooo clean and tidy, i would defo stay hear again and recommend it to any one, good location to all the cool shops too. Loved it xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 10 days in a 4 beds dorm at the Nunnery right after arriving to Melbourne and had a great time! This place's got personality and it's so cozy that you will easily fall in love with it.
Breakfast is great (very good bread, cereals and jam or peanut butter).
Kitchen is ok, usually big enough to suit the needs of all guests.
The staff is funny, helpful and polite, doing their best to make you feel comfortable during your stay, including trying to keep silence after 10 PM for those who needs to sleep, so the quality of your sleep is pretty good.
Bathroom are clean and only rarely I had to wait in order to find a free one.
The best part about the Nunnery are the events: the famous pub crawl night scheduled every week where you can meet people and get some cheap beers; the free sausage night; the wine tasting night and so on.. many chances to meet new funny people from all over the world.
The public room is really cozy, with sofas and big TV (movie night once a week).
Position is great: walking distance from CBD, tram access and Melbourne Museum right out of the door, where you can get free wi-fi (if you want to get wi-fi at the hostel you need to pay: 15 a day, 50 a week). Plus, Fitzroy is probably the coolest part of the city, with awesome street art and plenty of pubs and bars on the near Brunswick St for the nightlife.
If you don't like the Nunnery then you'd better go for a hotel. ;)
Would definitely go back in case I need a temporary accomodation!

Room Tip: Big dorms may be a bit noisy so if you really want to be sure to get some good sleep go for a 4 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nunnery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nunnery

Address: 116 Nicholson St., Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Nunnery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nunnery Hotel Melbourne
The Nunnery Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nunnery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.