We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   44 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Was a conference delegate two years previously and if anything they seemed to have upped their game this time.
Yu
Shared an apartment with a colleague and it had a marvelous view and good facilities. The carpet was a wee bit tired but all else very good.

Food at the conference was tasty,and the conference bar man worked his socks off. Food was not that veggie friendly or imaginative for intolerances (milk intolerance means leaves and salad).

Special positive mention to Damian who was so helpful - the other staff were good but he was best at helping me. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
5
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Central
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent location, good price, beautiful courtyard and pool. Trams were noisy at times, but on the whole an excellent stay. Clean, good size, couch was in an odd position to view the tv and a lottle uncomfortable, but I assume it was a sofabed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had planned to stay in our new apartment in Fitzroy but on arrival the first evening we found power was not switched on and had to find a hotel closeby at short notice. The staff were most helpful and arranged a one bed apartment at a very competitive rate. We were so impressed we ended up staying 3 nights. The apartment was very well equipped, vey clean and the bed was vey comfortable (an important issue for us more mature travelers). We only had continental breakfast there but that was very good and a fair cost. One other important factor was the availability of secure under cover parking for our 4wd that was easy to access. Overall, very impressed and ideal for a long weekend stay in the City or an even longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good service from the hotel staff. I had a booking for a double room and was upgraded to the apartment as my company uses this hotel regularly. I had an awesome two storey aparmtnet for the 3 nights and loved it there. Full kitchen facilities were handy and plenty of space and very quiet there. Just a short walk down the street and there are some amazing restaurants to sample. I walked to Lygon St (around 40 mins) and nearby (only 10 mins)along Brunswick St or Victoria St for some great foodie spots too!

(The hotel cafe was a litte average and coffee not so good. Plenty of other spots nearby as Melbourne has fabulous options.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay. Offer a great arrangement for families at st Vincent's. Staff very supportive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. No hidden extras. Accessible to city. Easy to drive to from tullamarine fwy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights on Melbourne Cup weekend. Although the Metropole is on busy Brunswick Street, our apartment was situated at the back of the building,hence no noise from the street. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The kitchen and bathroom and toilet looked like they had been recently renovated and the kitchen had everything we needed. Comfortable living area with plenty of room to move. Beds were comfortable too and I would rate the curtains in the bedrooms a 10 out of 10 for keeping the early morning light out! This was great for a light sleeper like me who does'nt like waking up at the crack of dawn. Only small complaint is the bathroom was very small - not much bench space and nowhere to hang/put your clothes. For those who like to self cater and don't want to be too far from the CBD the Metropole is ideal. Plus its great to have the Brunswick/Gertrude/Smith street precincts on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

These apartments are in a good position with the tram line out the front. There are quite a lot of restaurants within walking distance although the quality of the restaurants varies greatly. The apartments are certainly nothing special but were convenient for us as we had to go to St Vincent's Pte hospital which is very close. The price was reasonable maybe a bit expensive for what they are but the apartments are of good size. There is a restaurant and breakfast is available.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre

Address: 44 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.