We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a kitchen, some space and a quite room this works” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   44 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Warrnambool, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you want a kitchen, some space and a quite room this works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Eventhough it is out of the City it is literally a 6 minute walk to the theatre district and another 5 to great shopping. The thing about this place is that (although a little tired) the rooms are great, with kitchens and many have two bedrooms. Its quite. The price is right compared to in the city and being on Brunswick Street, the food and fashion are NUMBER 1 (better than Lygon Street by far)
Ive been here for business, a short stay week-end with my partner, with friends and with kids. They all work!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
5
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel many years ago and I was surprise to find they have renovated the room! It's now looking a lot more modern and a perfect, comfortable stay in a central location.

Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairnsdale
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My trip was for medical reasons and this hotel is close to the hospitals and they offer a discount to patients. I have stayed twice now the rooms are very clean and well appointed. they offer free car parking which is great.
So when in Melbourne do try them you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just out of the CBD of Melbourne, convenient to all services and shopping district, excellant staff,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed here to attend a meeting at the nearby St Vincent's Hospital. It is an affordable hotel and it was nice of them to upgrade me to a 2 bedroom apartment (but a little unnecessary as I was travelling alone!) The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions, maps, info, suitcase storage etc. I'd have to stay the hotel is at the dodgy end of Brunswick Street and there were drunken folk loitering around on the street. However it is only a few minutes walk to some fabulous restaurants and shops and I really enjoyed the experience having never been to this part of Melbourne before.

The room was spacious and well equipped, especially the kitchen, and I appreciated the free Wifi very much. However it could have done with updating as the decor was very 1980s and the living room furniture in particular was a bit shabby.

I didn;t use the pool but that looked nice and the courtyard could be a really great feature of this place.

Overall, I would stay here again but I do believe they could do so much better

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The Metropole is located in the always excellent Brunswick St, a short tram ride to the city. Rooms are basic and sparsely furnished but, for the price, quite roomy.

The staff are excellent. I left my wallet in the taxi on the way to the Metropole and the desk staff immediately helped phone the cab company, allowed me to check in sans credit card etc. They really tried hard. So on the basis of service above an beyond I am making them my favorite budget option in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We love Metropole. Stayed here in March and are looking forward to returning in October. Originally we arrived at Metropole Hotel Apartments because we booked at a nearby Quest who did not honour our booking because they had lost the paperwork!
We were going to a wedding and wanted accommodation within walking distance to the venue in East Melbourne. Metropole ticked all the boxes - reception staff were very professional with a genuinely friendly smile, chechin procedure was quick, the room was great, very clean and spacious. When arriving at our room the thoughtful housekeeping staff had put the airconditioning on and it was wonderful as it was very hot outside and we were not in a good mood and upset due to having to move across from the other property. After cooling down in the pleasant surroundings we headed of to the venue making it with time to spare. Security parking was included in the rate and the lift went right through from the basement level up to our room.
Fitzroy is so close to the city we really enjoyed walking around. Lots of restaurants and coffee shops in Brunswick Street to suit all tastes and budgets. We had Sunday brunch at Madame Sou Sou outside in the sunshine. We can't wait for our return in October.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre

Address: 44 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty lodging in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel Apartments & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.