We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amates Mexican Kitchen

Los Amates Mexican Kitchen
34 Johnston St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
03 9417 0441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 165 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It's all about the feeling of visiting Mexico right here in Melbourne, Yes, it's authentic mexican food, (no hard shell tacos by the way)
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There has been an explosion in the number of Mexican restaurants in Melbourne recently. Mexican food appears to be the latest trend for the interesting facial hair sporting, poetry reading, fixie bicycle riding hipster set. Los Amates, however, is not one of these Jonny-come-lately establishments. They've been around for as long as I can remember and they know what they're doing when it comes to good food and service. What you get here, is excellent traditional Mexican food for a reasonable price! The atmosphere is pleasant and the service is friendly. They have an extensive tequila list too! I've been to Los Amates multiple times and have always had an excellent experience. If you're planning on going on a weekend night I would suggest booking in advance as they can get busy at times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo M, Owner at Los Amates Mexican Kitchen, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear customer,

We are very happy that you have given us a feedback to keep improving our service. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our food and service, our aim is always to be as authentic as we possibly can and give you a warm Mexican service. We look forward to having you again. have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is possibly my favourite restaurant in Melbourne - great food. The enchiladas with mole sauce and delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arturo M, Owner at Los Amates Mexican Kitchen, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear customer,


Thank you for taking the time to write about Los Amates. I'm very happy you enjoyed our food specially the mole sauce which is a very special recipe. We hope to see you soon.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Busy & bustling (definitely book for weekends) this delightful restaurant serves tasty & reasonably priced food. Staff were very friendly despite being very busy & patiently explained menu items. We ( a group of 4) shared a Taquiza platter including Tacos Campechanos (Grilled Beef strips & Chorizo) & all was delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When our daughter said she felt like Mexican, we hit the trail for the best in Melbourne. No. not your tex-mex, covered in cheese melts, but authentic hand made tortillas and home made Salsa. We wanted the experience, not just the food. We did not book in advance and luckily there was a table as it seems to be a very popular spot with a diverse clienteleThis is a great atmosphere and the food was delicious. We shared a mixed plate and were not dissapointed. Beware the drinks are pricey. The shared plate represented good value but otherwise you are looking at over $20 a dish. Worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Let down by indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were really excited to go to Los Amates. Sadly, we were disappointed by the standard of service. The food was fine...perhaps if the waitress had shown a modicum of interest in her customers it may have made for a better overall experience. The staff seemed more interested in chatting behind the bar than paying attention to their guests needs. I have had better Mexican food in Melbourne and I have definitely had more attentive service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amates Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Los Amates Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Amates Mexican Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.