We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Arts Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklyn Arts Hotel
Save
You added Brooklyn Arts Hotel to your Saves list
48-50 George Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitzroy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Accomodating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in the Green Room for two nights after being upgraded from the Blue Room at no extra charge! Maggie was very lovely and accomodating, always willing to help us and wasn't upset at all when we misplaced our key. We were welcomed amazingly by a member of staff and the place as a whole was very cosy. Reasonably close to Brunswich St, an easy walk, but far enough away that you feel as though you are retreating from the hectic pace of the city as soon as you enter the doors. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
21
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Brooklyn Arts Hotel is EXACTLY as described on its website, so if that is what you're looking for, that is what you will indeed get. It's relaxed, comfortable, interesting and beautiful. The back garden is a joy. The big dining room table welcomes you at any time of day for a tea, a coffee, a piece of fruit or a biscuit and a read of the papers. The laundry is hung out in the fresh air on ingeniously arranged clotheslines at the back. The house runs like clockwork relative to the changing temperatures and weather: cool on the inside all the time despite record hot days while we were there. Staff are welcoming, calmly accommodating and professional. Breakfast is a shared pleasure among pleasant and interesting fellow-travellers oftentimes including owner Maggie. Thanks Maggie for a lovely week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

my wife and i stayed in the green room for four nights, its a great palce to stay, well situated as its easy to travel into town and there are lots of eating palces nearby. the communial breakfasts where best when Maggie was present

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a find - friends of mine recommended the place and, when it was full, the charming owner Maggie re-arranged her study (the Hotel is a reconverted old mansion) into a single bed hotel room for me. I was even upgraded to a queen room the first night of my visit following a cancellation. The bathrooms - including the share ones - are very pleasant and clean. The place has a lovely, arty vibe - especially the rather crazily decorated breakfast / sitting room; the continental brekky itself is excellent: fresh breads, plunger coffee and loose leaf teas; fresh muesli, greek yoghurt and fruit etc. And the location - 1 min from Fitzroy's Gertrude Street (great cafes, bars and a tram stop) and 15 mins walk from Federation Square is sensational. I've read one or two negative reviews of this place from a couple of patrons. Those people are fools. You won't find better, affordable, B&B-type accommodation anywhere in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'd have to agree with other reviewers on this site, the Brooklyn Arts is a gorgeous place to stay but it is let down by some basic maintenance issues.

We are 'arty' types and we love anything with character and eclectic taste, however this place is in serious need of some TLC. There's just no excuse for having 4cm gaps under the bedroom doors (especially with Melb's freezing weather), ricketty floors with missing floorboards are an OHS inccident waiting to happen, and stained sheets are a no-no in any kind of hotel. It's a beautiful old building and could easily be updated while still maintaining the reuse themes. These items we could put up with, but the biggest issue for us was the noise and lack of privacy. We could hear EVERYTHING from the rooms next door, we had people looking in our window everytime they walked past, and some guests seemed to find it hard to find their own room, walking into ours instead. As a result we were also conscious that other guests could hear us and so we didn't feel comfortable in our own room.

On the plus side - the location is fantastic! Right between the Fitzroy and Collingwood strips, and an easy tram ride into the city. The building is beautiful, the gardens are a lovely, relaxing place to chill out or read and the hosts are friendly and accomodating. They also have an area available for luggage storage if you arrive early/leave late, and the Star Bus shuttle services this hotel to/from the airport.

I would recommend the Brooklyn Arts Hotel for single travellers who need good access to the Fitzroy area.

Room Tip: Rooms in garden are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Brooklyn Arts Hotel is brilliantly situated in funky Fitzroy with an amazing array of great restaurants, local designer boutiques and fascinating curiosities on the doorstep. I have now stayed there three times and hope to stay there many more! Having stayed in both the Blue and Green Rooms, I was delighted with the unusual eclectic mix of furniture, the bookcases overflowing with fascinating titles and the huge, warm and comfortable beds with lovely crispy white sheets. The charming light-filled enclosed verandah that opens from both rooms is a perfect spot to sit in the evening with a glass of wine. With no flat screen TV, but instead a selection of interesting 'objets' and art works, it is a far - and very welcome - cry from a typically sterile motel room.

Maggie is a delightful, caring and thoughtful host, who creates a genuinely friendly atmosphere, both in person and evidenced through the multitude of hand-written notes around the property. I really like the welcoming touch of having my name written on my bedroom door - it also helps with the introductions at breakfast when you can recognise your neighbour's name from their door too!

There is an abundance of up to date information available on what's happening across the Arts in Melbourne, enhanced by Maggie's experienced and informative first hand feedback. Brooklyn is an unusual and delightful haven - complete with gorgeous leafy garden - in the middle of the city. If you don't like dogs and can't handle a bit of dust, I suggest you try somewhere else, but if quirky comfort, great tea and coffee, delicious bread at breakfast and the opportunity to meet an interesting mix of creative and engaging guests sounds appealing, you'll really enjoy what Brooklyn Arts has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm a childrens's book author and illustrator who visits Gorgeous Town (Melbourne) once a year for a week of school visits and book tours. I couldn't imagine finding a more comfortable and arty nest than The Brooklyn Arts. I usually stay in one of the very quiet back rooms which open onto the rear gardens ~ perfect after a day in noisy schools! Maggie is the perfect host, making sure her guests ~ often the most interesting characters ~ have the opportunity to get to know each other. Over the last couple of visits, Maggie (and her pooches) have become dear friends ~ in years of travel I have never found a place quite like this one. The showers are hot, the book shelves are groaning with great books, and George Street is close to everything, from yoga studios to pubs. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Brooklyn Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Arts Hotel

Address: 48-50 George Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for a standard hotel room. It is beautiful, friendly, quiet, interesting, quirky and personal, within walking distance of central Melbourne. The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial. There is a garden to sit in and birds to listen to.Brooklyn is a big old house on the city edge of Fitzroy. You can walk through parks or take a tram a few minutes from the door, to city venues, stations and airport connections. Fitzroy’s great mix of people makes this one of the most interesting parts of Melbourne to hang out in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Arts Hotel Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklyn Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.