We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Melbourne Nest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklyn Arts Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fitzroy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklyn Arts Hotel
48-50 George Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fitzroy B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Melbourne Nest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm a childrens's book author and illustrator who visits Gorgeous Town (Melbourne) once a year for a week of school visits and book tours. I couldn't imagine finding a more comfortable and arty nest than The Brooklyn Arts. I usually stay in one of the very quiet back rooms which open onto the rear gardens ~ perfect after a day in noisy schools! Maggie is the perfect host, making sure her guests ~ often the most interesting characters ~ have the opportunity to get to know each other. Over the last couple of visits, Maggie (and her pooches) have become dear friends ~ in years of travel I have never found a place quite like this one. The showers are hot, the book shelves are groaning with great books, and George Street is close to everything, from yoga studios to pubs. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
15
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location was great, the area is full of cafes and is a short stroll into the heart of Melbourne.

But my husband and I were very disappointed with the Brooklyn Arts Hotel itself. We were not expecting a sterile, standard hotel experience, but we did expect to find a hotel that was at least clean and showed some level of care. Unfortunately, we found our room to be very dusty and grubby and in need of a thorough scrub. All the furniture was a bit more kerbside ramshackle than shabby chic charm. The walls and ceiling showed evidence of water and damp and was long overdue for repair and repaint. Fine for a budget room and price, but we were being charged $225 per night.

Maggie as the host runs the hotel more in the style of a hostel. Yet I found the "community" aspect should not have to be a substitute for poor quality. Everything felt very "used" and a bit miserly, right down to the toiletries in the shower. These were very large bottles that had hand written labels which Maggie would have replenished. It just felt a bit yucky sensing how many others had used these same bottles over time in the shower.

Similarly, the breakfast room was very dirty with a tablecloth that wasn't changed over the 5 days we were there. It showed a few jam and milk spills and was always covered in crumbs. The room was so over crowded with furniture that only 1 person could get themselves breakfast at a time. The presentation of the bread each day was very off putting - it was wrapped in cling wrap and seemed to cycle over days between the freezer, then the table, then back to the fridge again until it was finished. Not once did we taste a loaf that was fresh. All the jams and spreads seemed to have been bought in bulk, and like the shampoo, decanted into an odd collection of smaller, supermarket style jars with hand written labels and placed on the communal table. The cereals were in large containers that were poorly sealed as they tasted slightly stale and old. Dirty plates and cups were left at the end of the table on a rickety trolley. In fact, the entire breakfast arrangement was very haphazard and required you to decant water from urn into the ancient and slow kettle to make tea or coffee as there was no sink/taps/water.

The final tragedy was finding a very long, dark human hair embedded in the decanted pot of butter on our last morning. Just yuck.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiefooke, Owner at Brooklyn Arts Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
This is indeed a very bad review. There are several issues here that you have raised in relation to the communal living space that we are looking into immediately.

Much of Brooklyn is old and second hand, including the building itself. We deliberately cultivate the three R’s of sustainability; Refuse, Recycle and Re-use.

After nearly five years at Brooklyn, I’m delighted to say that many of our guests return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

brooklyn arts was the perfect place to stay in melbourne. it's in the fitzroy neighborhood, right around the corner from several trams, and lots of restaurants and bars. the accommodations are comfortable, and funky in just the right way. it feels like staying at a friends house, and the conversations over breakfast in the morning were always interesting. i will definitely stay again if i make it back to australia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place may be "different", "alternative" "arty" even but if you want a comfortable bed, then forget it. The owner sources her furnishings and bedding from Salvos stores. If you don't believe it, check the spare stained and soiled spare mattresses stored with her dogs out the back. The ethos of the place is to get to know you so that you will accept a lower standard of service over time if you come back eg being told not to use a certain bathroom or toilet because there are some fastidious guests who want their own bathroom.

Breakfast consists of el cheapo arty farty bread with HomeBrand OJ, teabags and butter.

Everything about this place is done on the cheap and no credit card or EFTPOS facilities either

Room Tip: Have stayed in all and none have a comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiefooke, Owner at Brooklyn Arts Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are always open to constructive criticism at Brooklyn Arts Hotel, but incorrect and exaggerated statements are plain upsetting.

All the bedding and beds in the rooms are new, and the ‘soiled spare mattress’ that was in the backyard shed with the Labradors was in fact a dogs bed and did not come from any of the rooms.

It’s hard to believe someone would return seven times to a hotel, and stay in rooms they found uncomfortable if they were so unsatisfied.

The breakfast ingredients we use are basic and good quality. We will continue to use the organic sourdough bread from Fitzroy’s famous bakery ‘Fatto a Mano’.

We get to know our guests to make them feel comfortable and at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just love staying at The Brooklyn Arts Hotel. We recently stayed at Maggies for 4 wonderful nights, this was our second visit to the Brooklyn Arts Hotel and we enjoyed it just as much as the first.

We stayed in the Blue Room upstairs and hope to stay in that room again, what a beautiful room. We had honeymooners staying in the room next door, but we felt we were the ones on the honeymoon, such a romantically decorated room, and helping ourselves to pots of tea late into the night and early morning.

Love everything about this hotel, the area Fitzroy, its terrace house size, the lounge room/breakfast room, the guests, the décor, the privacy, the quiet, the garden, the dogs, all of it make for a very arty enjoyable Melbourne fix, not forgetting the lovely Host Maggie and our most enjoyable encounters with Suze, Helen & Steve.

I truly could have a holiday just at Maggies and not even leave the house, because staying at the Brooklyn Arts Hotel the world comes to you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were dirty. We were tired. It had been lousy weather. We had been camping for three weeks. It was great to arrive in a homely atmosphere with a comfortable bed, hot tea and welcoming hosts. It was great touring South Australia and finishing the month in this hotel that matches the vintage neighborhood of Fitzroy perfectly in style and atmosphere.

Room Tip: beautiful but more expensive rooms upstairs are closer to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

When I first arrived at Brooklyn I was a little uneasy as I wasn't really sure if I liked the area of Fitzroy or not. I did get a really lovely room however which was very comfortable if at times a little cold. However once I got the heater going it did warm up. There were bathrobes also available in the room Maggie was very gracious indeed and very helpful with regards to getting around Melbourne. It was so easy to get to the CBD and also the Museum on foot which is really worth a visit.

The one thing to perhaps note is that there are no card facilities and it's pointless getting traveller's cheques as I had such difficulty getting them changed. I think this is the case anywhere in Australia!

Nice breakfast too and it was easy to get the Skybus to the airport.

Room Tip: I would pay a little more to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooklyn Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Arts Hotel

Also Known As:
Brooklyn Arts Hotel Fitzroy, Greater Melbourne
Address: 48-50 George Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Fitzroy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fitzroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brooklyn is a perfect place to stay if you are not looking for a standard hotel room. It is beautiful, friendly, quiet, interesting, quirky and personal, within walking distance of central Melbourne. The atmosphere is relaxed and congenial. There is a garden to sit in and birds to listen to.Brooklyn is a big old house on the city edge of Fitzroy. You can walk through parks or take a tram a few minutes from the door, to city venues, stations and airport connections. Fitzroy’s great mix of people makes this one of the most interesting parts of Melbourne to hang out in. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklyn Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brooklyn Arts Hotel to your Saves list