We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anada

Anada
197 Gertrude St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria, Australia
9415 6101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 162 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“better than average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

while i absolutely love the amazing pork belly and seafood paella here, I couldn't t say the same for their other tapas or main. I also find the place abit too small and difficult to dine (shoulder to shoulder rub with other patrons). the waitress service was good and the bill at end was also very reasonable.

might come back here again but not an absolute must try

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently had the most incredible meal at Anada. Every mouthful is an experience. Started with four small plates each and then shared three large plates. The pork belly and beef cheeks were a stand out. We were very satisfied but still managed the dessert tasting plate. Fantastic service and great help with the wine list. The Spanish Tempranillo complimented every dish. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dropping the ball”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our second and probably last visit to Anada. Everything was going quite nicely until the manager (we presume) felt the need to kick us out as they were fast approaching their 2nd sitting. Now we were aware of the 2nd sitting however after being up-sold dessert, and then offered coffees, or port, or espresso martinis (which we finished with) at around 8.00-8.05pm, we don't think we should be rushed to finish and leave! Even a polite would you mind shifting to the bar, or perhaps ask the incoming guests if they are happy to have a drink at the bar first.... but no... instead this particular individual decides he's right and should just continue to ask us to leave. Well we did, minus the tip (sorry to the waitress as she did a great job all night) and because of your attitude alone, we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is our second visit and the food and service we experienced suggests this is a reliably consistent restaurant in terms of quality, friendliness and general ambience. Pork Belly, Quail and Beef Cheeks were stand out items and the wine list contains plenty of choice from Spain and Australia without having to pay over the top prices. Highly recommended. Do book at least at weekends, it gets very busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for Lunch Saturday - staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food Fantastic. Better than Movida. MUST EAT, Quail, Croqueta, Lamb ribs, Pork Belly and the Beef cheeks.

Will come here everytime we visit Melbourne

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anada also viewed

 

Been to Anada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;