We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience ,Fabulous Food !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anada

Anada
197 Gertrude St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria, Australia
9415 6101
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #15 of 158 restaurants in Fitzroy
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome experience ,Fabulous Food !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding !! Beautiful Tapas !Well presented ,Great Food...Excellent Service,can't wait to go back ! Loved the Pomegranite Caprioska !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    33
    16
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I had a special occasion dinner here and were blown away with the quality of the food and the attention given by front-of-house staff and the chefs who prepared the food.

The menu was extensive with tapas, raciones and set menus and I was doubtful whether I should go the set menu as I am unable to eat a variety of foods. I was assured that my long list of "can't eats" would be taken care of and if need be, I would get one item considering my allergies and my husband another, so there was no need to worry. We chose the second option for the menu which meant we received 12 tapas or raciones and a mixed dessert platter and they were brilliant. Sometimes we got the same thing to eat with mine minus what I couldn't eat but at times, I got something quite different to my husband's. At one stage, a dish came out that had something on it that I could not eat and the staff went back to the kitchen and ordered it again with the adjustment and my husband ended up eating double for that racione!!

The service was outstanding and the time and patience given when I explained all that I could not eat was great and I did not feel as if I was being a nuisance. The food was innovative, fresh and the presentation of each dish was superb. The dessert platter was wonderful and my favourite was the crema catalana - as good as what we have had in Spain.

The menu was well judged as at the finish, we could not have eaten one morsel more.

My husband had the house red and was very pleased and finished off the night with a glass of 1855 Pedro Ximenez! The wine list had a variety of wines available.

I would highly recommend Anada for its service and food and don't wait for a special occasion, just go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A little Spanish surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Anada because my friends and I were craving some paella. Booked for 6 of us and we were seated at a shared high table in the back with 4 others. Great atmosphere. We liked that we could order individual tapas according to what we each fancied, and then shared the raciones which included two beautifully cooked paella. The squid ink paella was especially yummy! The pork belly course was quite small to share among 6 but it was melt in the mouth! Great selection of wine. It's a great place to hang out and enjoy a night with friends. The place is undergoing renovations this coming week for two weeks so maybe the new digs will be more spacious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This little Fitzroy gem offers friendly and helpful service. The wine list is small but offers good choice. The set tapas menu is a great idea if you have not tried the food here before, and I can highly recommend the pork belly - it's sensational! You can linger here or sit at the bar for a quick bite. Just love this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tastes and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Agreat experience at this small restaurant in Fitzroy. The tapas selection is very braod and the mains will cater for all tastes. The paella was excellent. The staff were knowledable and attentive. Definitely will be dining there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anada also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Fitzroy, Yarra
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Anada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.