We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Garage

Joe's Garage
366 Brunswick St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
+61 3 9419 9944
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 165 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Price range: $10 - $24
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We used to go to this place quite frequently with our kids in the past. I also used to have business lunches with the clients in joe's Garage.
I ordered pork ribs a few days ago . Well , the mass balance of the meal changed drastically .
Nowadays , I received 5 small ribs and plenty of fries. It is absolutely disgresful that this place charges $27 for fries and a bit of meat . I reckon the restaurant reduced the size of the meal by half compared to what it used to be .I was appalled and complained to the waitress , however no apology has been offered .
Personally , I will vote with my feet . We'll never ho to the place that overcharges the Clients , not to mention an average service in this place . Again , the mass balance of the meal has changed . However , it comes in conjunction with the mass balance of the Customers who's willing to visit such a dodgy place again .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Went to Joe's Garage today as a treat for a friend. Have been here many times over the years and always been satisfied in the past. However, today both the service and the food was rather lack lustre.
I had a warm calamari salad that was chewy and dripping in grease. It had no flavour and I was unable to finish it.
My friend had a warm chicken salad and it was bland with a very 'suburban' salad consisting of lettuce, tomato and cucumber with a smattering of avocado.
I can now understand why we were among 3 occupied tables when the rest of Brunswick Street was bustling with business. When paying the server was uninterested and did not inquire about our meal experience. Looked surly during the transaction.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Belly buster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Good atmosphere-urban grunge rather than chic. Friendly wait staff and good portions-a bit too good!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Huge Breakfasts and superb coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

A very unpretentious exterior and fairly basic interior but a great value breakfast to be found inside. If you are after a simple hearty breakfast washed down with great coffee then this is the place ideally located on Brunswick Street in Fitzroy.
One tip - make sure you are very hungry otherwise you will never get through the Spanish Omelette, it is massive!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Reliable favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Brunswick Street is the place to sample so many food and retail options...or sit back and people watch.
Joe's Garage provides a diner style menu, nothing too complicated, rather easy to prepare, but that is why you choose to eat here. A nice selection of food, prices are between $10 - $20, and are a very generous size. I suggest trying the 'Energiser Shake.' This will look a little concerning when it comes out looking like pond water, but it is yum and very healthy comprising of different fruits.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Garage also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Garage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Garage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.