We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aimed at the party goer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana International

Copacabana International
139 Smith Street, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
0394177099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 162 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Aimed at the party goer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Visited on a scoopon, so paid about half price. The food was plentiful and there was more than enough, We arrived a little later (8:30) so missed the crush at the salad bar that others told us about, but the salads had all been replenished so there was more plenty to choose from. Arriving at this time, the meats were already coming round so we got salads and meats at the same time (others ate the salads and had to wait for the meat). the meat just kept on coming and coming untio we held our hand up to say enough. A good variety of meats (liked the pork, and chicken hearts). The floor show started with a warm up singer, that went through lots of 80-90's music and he really got the dance floor packed. Then came a Brazilian singer and a lot of the people moved back to their tables. The floor show came later (almost 10pm) but was good to see the dancers both traditional Brazilian and some more modern. We were sat towards the back, that made watching the show quite difficult with people getting up in front of us, but the night was really about 4-5 Hen nights and a few birthday's and they certainly looked to be having a great time. This is a place you want to visit as part of a group, very social atmosphere although they had really packed the tables in. Also the show is a big part of what you are paying for, so get up and dance. I wouldn't suggest coming here just for the food, or just to see the show. Come as part of a group and be ready to dance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Plenty of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Well, the food was good and plenty. The show was very entertaining and funny, I really enjoyed when they picked people form the tables to be part of the show. They have a lot of different and nice cocktails. The price was ok for what we get.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Place to go at least once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food was ok, ( a lot of different things to try) , brilliant flooshow, good Band and DJ.

I am def going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Paid full price online, got seated upstairs which felt like a community centre / budget wedding. Asked 3 times if we had a Groupon voucher, at which time we realised that everyone else had a 63% off Groupon voucher. Our waiter was 20 minutes late greeting us, we had already got our food and drinks our selves. Once we complained we were told that downstairs was no different, we said we were not happy with and got moved downstairs to a corner table next to the game machines and in view of the footy on the TV. We found the food downstairs had much more variety, but had already eaten the crap upstairs. We waited for the entertainment which we were told would not start until 10.45. We got our bill and were charged for drinks we didn't order. By this stage we had a guts full and complained again only to be told that there was no difference between upstairs and downstairs, obviously they had no idea what was going on in their own business at which time we left and missed the entertainment. Overall, would not recommend at all, over priced, bad service, don't bother wasting your time, go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Be ready for a LONG wait for the meat! And expect to be treated as second class if you have a voucher!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently went to Copacabana with a group of friends on a Groupon voucher (dinner and floor show). The voucher promised us all you can eat Brazilian buffet with wine and floor show, but we did not get what we were expecting.

We arrived and were shown to our table by a waiter, but were not given any instruction on how the night worked, or what we were entitled to on our voucher. We helped ourselves to the salad buffet and waited for the meat to be bought to our table; it took over an hour to arrive! The waiters were assigned tables to look after, but it seemed as though they forgot our table, because we got hardly got any meat at all, and the only time we did get any served to us, was if one of us got up and dragged a waiter over to our table! All the tables around us were constantly getting meat. It was terrible, I cannot believe we were forgotten like that! We were so hungry we just filled up on salads, but it was not a balanced meal as the meat took so long to arrive! I feel that because we had a voucher that we were treated as second class guests, because when I called to confirm the booking and stated I had a voucher, the lady on the phone was very rude to me, as they were when we arrived and showed the voucher. This is not good enough, I would not even expect service like this at a McDonalds!

The restaurant was so full and busy, and so loud that we could not even have a conversation over dinner (while waiting for our meat!) We were jam packed in like sardines, and there was no one who explained to us how the voucher worked (we ended up paying for drinks because the bar staff - who were lovely by the way - didn't know anything about the voucher, and there was no one else around who would spare a minute to help us!) The food was not bad; a good array of salads and tasted quite nice, and the meat (when it finally arrived) was very good, but quite salty. The desserts on the other hand, were terrible! I am a major sweet tooth, and I could not eat it because it was SO bad!

After the dinner was cleared they had a 'dance class' which was fun, but not a good idea on a full belly! Then a band played and then the floor show started. The floor show was the best part of the night, and the dancers were amazing! The main guy (we nicked named him Vin Diesel, for obvious reasons!) was full of energy and engaged with the crowd so well. The girls were amazing dancers and the costumes just beautiful, and the guys doing the backflips and jumping around, WOW! I could watch them all day! Part of the show involved getting people out from the crowd to do a dance, which was very funny and a great part of the night (one of our friends went up and made a fool of himself!) If it wasn't for the entertainment, the night would have been terrible!

What this place needs is a manager who knows how to manage a venue, staff who are polite and helpful (really need to improve their customer service!) and don't offer vouchers for sale if you are not going to treat people with them the same as full paying guests! We are all paying customers and deserve the same treatment. While we had a good night (because of the company and too much wine), I would not go back, and to everyone else, DO NOT have high expectations of the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana International also viewed

 

Been to Copacabana International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.