We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malpensa Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malpensa Inn to your Saves list
Malpensa Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S.Anna, 25 | Malpensa Int. Airport, 21010 Lonate Pozzolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lonate Pozzolo
fernley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Happy Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Malpensa Inn was the perfect choice for us. It is quite close to the airport, but not in the flight pattern, so we heard no noise. Both during check-in & again at check-out the next morning, the service was excellent. We did not choose to have breakfast included, but while we were waiting for our shuttle driver to take us to the airport, the manager brought us coffee and made us feel very welcome. We found the room to be large, & there was a closet area before the bathroom that was large. The shower was great! All rooms are in the rear & each have a private outside entrance. When we first read about The Malpensa Inn, I got the impression that it was in a small village not too far from the airport. It only took a few minutes to drive to the airport. We're sorry to read the bad review from the Ohio family. We will defintetly stay there again if we ever are back in Italy.
Phil Wold

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
23
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia.com. First, it is NOT located "at Malpensa airport" as their description said. The shuttle service is only TO the airport during morning hours, not FROM the airport during the rest of the day. 20 Euro for a 15-min. taxi ride (on the highway) to the hotel. Once we arrived at the hotel, we read the sign that the only on-site restaurant was closed on Sundays. Of course, we were only there one night and it was a Sunday.

It was POURING down rain. The front desk guy told us there was one restaurant nearby but they didn't open until 7:30 p.m. There was a bar "about a kilometer walk" away that served sandwiches and pasta. This little restaurant was the only good thing about our stay -- Tornavento Circolo S.Eugenio. Good food, '80s American music, excellent service.

But back to the horrific Malpensa Inn. I was irritated that we were (1) not on-site at the airport like the website said, and, (2) having to walk in the downpour to eat. I told the guy at the desk this, and his response was "it is typical for restaurants to close on Sundays in Italy" and that they "don't list all the local restaurants' hours on their (the hotel's) website." There was only one other room rented that night, so you'd think that they would at least say they were sorry for our inconvenience or something similar. All he said was "this isn't the first time we've heard people complain about these things" and that I should "take it up with Expedia." Basically, not his problem.

Our room was clean... or so I thought. One of the beds had what appeared to be blood stains, about the size of a pea, in several spots on the flat sheet as well as several dots of blood spots on the fitted sheet too. We were horrified.

It was a larger double room, so it was bigger than an average hotel room in Europe. For 100 Euro a night NOT on-site of the airport and NOT including breakfast, we should've gotten more. There were two queen beds but only two pillows, one for each bed. It was stuffy and humid, so we turned the fan on the "cool" setting. It blew hot air for about a half hour and heated the place up to the point where we had to open the windows to keep from sweating to death. After the room cooled down, we shut everything off, closed the windows, and sweated it out. The shower stall was phonebooth-sized, and the little plastic shelf that was supposed to hold your soap fell off as soon as we turned the water on.

The hotel is located on a residential street. Many different dogs barked off and on all night long, and it sounded like they were right outside our window. Our flight was early, and we were up by 4:30. Dogs were still barking. We heard roosters crowing before sunrise.

WiFi was 10 Euro for a 24-hr period or 2 Euro per 2-hr period. All we wanted was a place to eat a nice dinner and get to bed early for our morning flight back to the US. The reviews were glowing, yet our experience was the exact opposite.

In short, go ahead and stay at the Malpensa Inn if you don't care about convenience to the airport, if you don't mind spending money for taxis, and if you don't want a safe, clean place to sleep. Otherwise, the Sheraton is AT Malpensa Airport and you don't even have to exit the building to get there.

Room Tip: Call some other hotel. Any other hotel. Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

For a first-class rest before a morning flight I warmly recommend this structure. The rooms are very large, spotless, nicely although essentially furnished, and you can have breakfast from 5 a.m. The area is residential, albeit impersonal, with restaurants nearby. For 59 euro a room breakfast included it is extremely good value. Will use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belllevue, NE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This motel is about 5 minutes south of Malpensa Airport, situated in a little village of row houses. On the plus side, the rooms were fairly large, clean, and resembled a mountain-type chalet in appearance. On the negative, they charge for WiFi, have limited shuttles to the airport, and the location provides only 2 dining options: a fairly expensive ($25pp) next-door restaurant and a nice pizzeria about 1/2 mile down the road.
Here are some tips if you stay there: 1) Shuttles run in the mornings to the airport only so plan accordingly. Cabs to the hotel are negotiable at the airport. Don't pay more than E20. Some drivers will try to charge E25, but we paid E17 the first time we went to the hotel from Terminal 1. Get them to use a meter. 2) If you have kids be prepared to pay for two rooms. We learned this the hard way. Even though the beds were large (queen size) they made us get two rooms since we had two children (age 12 and 9) who could have easily slept together on bed #2. 3) We came in from the US and they allowed an early check in at 9:45am. Most places won't let you check in until after noon. 4) The WiFi was 2 hours/Euro. Not too expensive but inconvenient/expensive if you need it over a long period of time. 5) If you are driving it is difficult to find the first time. If you don't have a GPS, get directions or check Google Maps before you try to get there. If you go more than 4-5 km south of Terminal 1, you've gone too far.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The look and feel is almost Swiss ski motel. Rooms were decent sized, high tech shower, lots of bathroom freebies, helpful staff. It is a convenient place to stay for early morning flights as you are very close to airport, and there is a gas station right nearby for last minute car rental fill up. This definitely beats having to deal with city traffic if you stay somewhere in downtown Milan. Also, the generic feel of the property and area makes leaving beautiful Italy an easier adjustment at the end of a holiday.

Room Tip: I didn't hear any planes but the others we were travelling with said they did. You are right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Clean, modern, spacious (room was huge compared to most European hotels) airport hotel. Must be well sound proofed because I didn't hear any plane noise. The hotel provides a free morning shuttle to Malpensa and there's a lovely restaurant half a block away. I will definitely stay here again if I have an early morning flight out of Malpensa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed in the Malpensa Inn for a night - arriving on a late flight and out at lunch time the next day. I was impressed with the property, which was very clean and modern.

We had a very relaxing stay. The room was large and beautifully presented, with a lovely big bathroom with shower rather than shower bath. The hotel was very new and the rooms were designed with an angled roof and exposed beams. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and contributed to the stress free feeling. The price included a simple breakfast with lovely tea!

The hotel was only five minutes from the airport and they offer a free transfer for morning flights. They were well equipped to look after people travelling via the Malpensa airport.

We were very happy with our stay which seemed like a mini-holiday instead of a transfer.

  • Liked — Stress Free
  • Disliked — No free transfers for flights after 10.30
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malpensa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malpensa Inn

Address: Via S.Anna, 25 | Malpensa Int. Airport, 21010 Lonate Pozzolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Lonate Pozzolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lonate Pozzolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malpensa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malpensa Inn, just 5 minutes' drive from Milan Malpensa Airport, offers the HOTEL SHUTTLE available 24 hours, FREE of CHARGE from 05:00 AM to 10:00 AM and from 17:00 to 23:00 To be picked up on arrival, you can call the hotel after collecting your luggage. Wi-Fi available in all hotel and Internet Point in the Lounge Bar The simple, Italian breakfast starts at 04:00am and is served in the bar. Buffet Breakfast served from 05:00am to 09:30am in the breakfast room, self service continental style. RESTAURANT Bertoni Next to the Hotel at walking distance, is open from Tuesday to Saturday from 12:00 to 02:00 pm from Monday to Saturday from 19:30 to 22:00 pm (closed all Sunday and Monday lunch time) You can enjoy typical regional dishes, seasonal and vegetarians dishes RESTAURANT AND PIZZERIA Il Pizzorante with Free transportation during service hours. is open Monday to Sunday from 12:00 to 14:30 and from 19:00 to 22:30 (closed Saturday lunch, Monday evening no pizza) The HOTEL SHUTTLE is available in the other times at an additional cost. GPS code: Lat. 45.58371 Nord 045° 35.023 / Long. 8.72327 Est 08° 43.396 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malpensa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpensa Hotel Varese
Malpensa Inn Italy/Lonate Pozzolo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malpensa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.