We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight fit, but really interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuevas de Sorbas

Cuevas de Sorbas
Paraje Barranco del Infierno, 04270 Sorbas, Spain
950364704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Sorbas
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can visit the gypsum Sorbas caves in different ways depending on your physical conditions and concerns:Ther tours are quite affordable and prices range between 15 € and 11 € per child. They even offer a three menu lunch at their Restaurant at 13 € per person (10 € if you take a tour) Or if you prefer, you can have just a coffee on the Terrace-Bar.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tight fit, but really interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Entrance fee was quite high, but as we had travelled from Mojacar to see them, we paid the 13 Euros each and joined a Spanish speaking guide (no English and we do not speak Spanish). It was actually very good. The route was fairly easy, doing the Ruta Basica, but if you were claustrophobic, this might not be the attraction for you as we squeezed through fairly tight holes in the rock with only our head torches for illumination. The gypsum caves are quite astonishing as there is very little rain, so they are well preserved. We would like to return to do the longer, more "caving" experience. The guide was really friendly even if she spoke no English, she spoke slowly enough that we could get the gist of what she was talking about, and the family and other person in the group tried to give us little translations of the key points. The site also has nice walking trails and a cafe (with wifi) and toilets etc. We will visit again

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“An interesting and unusual visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an extensive show cave in gypsum, rather than the more common limestone, conducted by a guide. The gypsum deposits of the Sorbas basin are the most extensive in Europe. It is very pleasantly cool to visit during summer time. There is a visitor centre with a bar and restaurante, so it is well worth returning to in the eveing for a meal if you are staying nearby.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We, three adults, visited the caves on a dull day in November. We did the Ruta Basica which was about an hour and a quarter long and reasonably easy. You need sensible footwear and a willingness to do a bit of scrambling - oh, and you need to be happy squeezing through fairly small spaces. The caves are completely authentic, no lights, no steps, so you wear a helmet with a light on it. There were only five of us on our tour, us and a Spanish couple and our bi-lingual lady guide was fantastic. I'm sorry I didn't get her name. She was good fun, efficient and very keen to make sure we all had a good, safe time. I would recommend this trip to anyone with a reasonable fitness level, It's also good value at 13 euros per adult.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A really interesting afternoon was spent here. The caves really are quite stunning. Learnt a lot about stalegnites/stalegtites etc. not expensive either. Would like to go back. A scary drive back to Garrucha over the mountains so make sure you take the correct turning. Worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went on a trip with my mother (73), husband and step daughter (10) and we all had a really great time, so it's something that would suit any non-claustrophobic family.
Bits of the caves are very beautiful with large glistening gypsum crystals in the walls and ceiling. There are some high bits that are very easily walked through and other bits that involve some crouching, scrambling and squeezing, but our guide made sure we were all comfortable with all of it and in some places gave us the choice to go over or under big rocks.
Parking is in a large car park (though there's very little shade, so your car will get hot in the sun) and then you walk a short distance to the centre where there is a gift shop, bar/cafe and where you get kitted out with helmets, lights, etc.
Wear good shoes (not flip-flops) and clothes that can get dirty and possibly damp. This is not like some tours where it's all on concrete paths with safety barriers - it's really fun!
Once kitted out you'll be taken on a short walk along a lovely gorge until you reach the cave entrance.
I'd recommend this to anyone!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuevas de Sorbas also viewed

Almeria, Province of Almeria
 
Carboneras, Province of Almeria
Tabernas, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Cuevas de Sorbas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuevas de Sorbas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.