We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, most helpful staff, peace and quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mamma Santina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mamma Santina to your Saves list
Hotel Mamma Santina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sanita, 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, most helpful staff, peace and quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went on foot of a strong recommendation in Sunday Times Travel supplement. Visited in late September. Dinner excellent with a strong emphasis on seafood. Plenty of variety on the wine list and good value. The pool and pool area is relatively small hence it may prove difficult finding a sun lounger in high season. The dining area has a lovely view over the other Aeolian Islands and is also a nice area to sit and read during the day. Lunches are salad-type and nicely prepared if you happen to be staying around the hotel for a part of the day. The breakfast is buffet style, predominantly breads but there is some fruit, yogurt etc and the charming staff will be delighted to cook you omelette etc.
The staff and the owner are an excellent team. They work very hard to make sure your stay is absolutely as enjoyable as it could possibly be.You will be picked up at the ferry and brought back to it also and they were exceptionally helpful at rushing back to the hotel to pick up one of our bags which had got forgotten and gettig it down to the port in time for the boat back to Messina. Exceptional service charmingly delivered by a wonderful hospitality team who set out to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Stayed in September. Would suggest getting a superior room of you like a view. Originally we were gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for deciding to share your feelings about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
It was nice to meet you and I still cherish our conversation in the morning during breakfast.
I am glad our hospitality contributed positively to the quality of your experience here in the Aeolian Islands and i hope to have the joy to see you again, perhaps in a different time of the year, when the different colours and atmosphere will make you feel like you have never been here before.
Until your next visit we wish you all the best.
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    45
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
93
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am a single woman traveler. A lot of hotels do not know the art of hosting a single woman. This hotel certainly does. They made me feel at home right away. All the staff I interacted with are the most pleasant, kind, and genuine people. These people know about hospitaliana!! The two men from Romania who work here are helpful (one brought my bags to the port at the last minute to help me make my ferry, which happened to be the last ferry of the day), thoughtful (another made sure to seat me at a wonderful table during a busy bustling dinner hour), gentlemanly (attended to me with as much care as they did the large parties that were there), and handsome (both are lovely to look at). So, this hotel is not just for families. And the food that the Romanian mens' uncle makes in the restaurant in the hotel is phenomenal. So fresh and creative. I am from San Francisco, so I know good food. I have been living in Sicily for the past month and a half. This is the best meal I have had. The fish is delish! I wish I could have tried everything on the menu.

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous as well.

This place is charming and it is because of the lovely people that work there. No question about it. Stay here and you will be so impressed.

Room Tip: Single travelers can get a special rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you to have chosen to share your experience on Trip Advisor and for the kind words you wrote.
I am very pleased to read that you felt very well looked after and that you were satisfyed with the customer service level we provided and the hospitality we offered.
Especially silvio liked your comment (he is very conceited).
You have chosen a beautiful time of the year to visit the aeolian islands and I am glad the weather has been good.
I hope to see you soon perhaps for a longer stay that will give you the chance to discover more of our beauties.
Until the next time we wis you all the best for your future
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great hotel. Lovely rooms and amenities, centrally located. Charming and ever helpful staff. We stayed here for 10 nights in a terrace room overlooking the pool. The terrace was lovely with very nice views, a hammock and private seating area. While the view from the balcony rooms is more spectacular, the extra space the terrace provides appealed to us more. Either room type is lovely though and come with a fridge rather than a mini bar. The rooms are very clean, well maintained and spacious with nice big bathrooms. There is free wifi in the rooms.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on several occasions , where the food was always excellent and accompanied by exceptional service. Breakfast was good.
The hotel is centrally located so other dining options are available in the evening but the in house restaurant here is in fact one of the better restaurants in Salina so it is worth eating in on occasion.

It provided a great base to both explore Salina and the other islands or just a crash pad to while away the time and relax - which we did.

A lovely hotel, a great location, friendly staff. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a terrace provide you with lots of additional space. The hotel is on a steep hill , olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear guests,

I would like to thank you for deciding to share your travel experience on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to acknowledge that your stay was pleasant and you were satisfied with the services offered in our hotel.
It is good to know that the expectations created by your friend recommendation were met in full.
WE hope to see you soon here in salina, Ireland is not that far, there are still lots of things to try and places to discover here in the Aeolian Islands.
Until our next encounter we wish you all the best, we will always be here looking forward to welcoming you.
Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Super hoteL. I have gone twice in a month to Salina just to have the opportunity to stay there: five-stars service, excellent food (very fresh food and superlative pasta), incredible view.... and fairly cheap. And what about the swimming pool? a psychedlic experience! I am so enthusisastic That i want to go back in two weeks for the third time this summer.

Room Tip: RRooms on the ground floor are very large with a incredibly large shower and have a cosy porch with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last July we spent a whole week at the Hotel Mamma Santina and it was such an amazing experience! We could feel the hospitality even before getting there. Alessio, the manager, was of such a great help for us in booking transfers, boats and visits. When we got there, all the staff, including Silvio, Francesca and Rachella, was also tremendously friendly and kind. The owner and extraordinary cook, Mario, was all smiles and competence! For a whole week long, we had the best food in Sicily, no doubt about that! I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Mamma Santina and were spoiled from the first minute until the last one. The rooms, the pool, the restaurant & food are outstanding and are made even better through a wonderful team (thanks Mario, Alessio, Silvio, Francesca & Raquele!) that takes care of you and makes you feel like at home. We ate at Mamma Santina each and every single evening except one which we then regretted. The evenings and dinner at Mamma Santina's restaurant was what made each of our days the perfect day. This is a true gem and we will come back many times in the future. One last advise: rent a boat (Gommorizzo) and tour the Islands (Panarea, Lipari, Vulcano and finish at Pollara!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for a wonderful night, high season,so could not stay longer. Its gorgeous, the staff are always smiling and happy to accommodate all requests. This is especially important in the busiest week of the season when the town is hectic. Mario the owner is a wonderful host, kind, caring but also a great sense of humour. The breakfast is fabulous, gardens, rooms beautiful. Pool an extra attractive. Very centrally located. Love the Aeolins and Salina is my favourite island. 4th time here and will be back again

Don't want to leave Mamma Santina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Address: Via Sanita, 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Italy - Santa Marina Salina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mamma Santina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.