We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rural oasis in Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Notaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Locanda del Notaio to your Saves list
La Locanda del Notaio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piano delle Noci, 22, 22020 Pellio Intelvi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellio Intelvi
Vernon, B.C.
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A rural oasis in Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We are a Canadian family who travelled with another family on a cycling tour near Lake Como. Part of the tour spent 2 days in the mountains. I loved our two day stay at La Locanda del Notaio.

The hotel was more like a like B & B than a hotel. The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. The breakfast was included and it was also excellent. The hotel had two intimate restaurants to choose from including a one star Michelin restaurant. The latter was great hut expensive.

The grounds at the hotel were serene and beautiful. It was pastoral and peaceful. The local village was authentically Italian and quaint. However, the hotel was isolated and there was no amenities for our teenage kids to enjoy once the days cycling was done. The other negative was that there was no flexibility in the restaurants on either the time the food was served or options on the menu.

Overall it was excellent and I would definitely stay at La Locanda del Notaio again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locanda N, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Locanda del Notaio, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

We are sorry that your children have not had things to do, La Locanda del Notaio is a place where you can relax and enjoy the scenery and tranquility.
As for the restaurant, we accept your constructive criticism and we will strive to improve, expecting you back for a new holiday.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Twisty roads terminate at this nice little hotel thats serves expensive, but very nice, small portioned food. Would we go again....maybe. Would we eat there, probably with one eye on the cost. It is very nice and extremely peaceful and has an individual character of it's own.

The gardens are lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begnins, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is over priced for the quality of food provided. They are trying to be 'Michelin star' quality, but fail miserably. The food was at best mediocre and the ambiance of the restaurant is nothing short of a disaster. Take my advice - eat in one of the local village restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The narrow roads of the ticino region can be unsettling in the night, expecially with a full size car. But we arrived there without a dent. The hotel is small and welcoming, the crew friendly and the food delicious (one Michelin star). Only the breakfast is italian style: No great buffet, a simple affair, compared to the multi course dinner. The room was nice, only the matress a little bit unforgivingly firm...
The hotel grounds are perfectly manicured and calm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We found the hotel, especially the restaurant, to be lacking in atmosphere. The staff had a good comprehension of English and certainly the reception staff were helpful if not rather amateurish. It is cleanly kept. The restaurant staff appeared inexperienced and certainly the menu was limited and not of the high standard that the hotel like you to believe. It is expensive for what it is. Although our booking was for five nights we checked out after four. The only hotel disappointment in our three week stay in the Italian Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This hotel is situated in a very quiet location in the mountains about 15/20 mins between Como and Lugano. It's small, in beautiful gardens, with magnificent mountain views. There is a famous goldfcourse next door and you can go riding if you wish (no swimming pool at the hotel).

It's very peaceful and a good spot from which to explore the area, if you have a car. It would be great for a house party (there are18 rooms) or special business event or, as for us, a short romantic break.

The manager Matteo is terrific and very helpful, speaks excellent English, as do all the staff. The chef is suberb - food excellent quality and great value for the standard. Heavenly breakfast with pastries, homemade cakes, hams, cheese, all kinds of bread, fruit etc.

Our room was very large with an enormous bathroom that had a huge bath in it. Wonderful brass bed with crisp white bed linen. Lovely furniture in the room, - no air con and, curiously, no hangers in the wardrobe (perhaps the previous guest pinched them?!).

Lovely hotel for a short break, great value. Do go if you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Fantastic location, beautiful grounds, Great food and wonderful hospitallity. I would revisit this hotel it is among the top 5 hotels I have ever stayed in. The food is superb the service is second to none. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda del Notaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Notaio

Address: Via Piano delle Noci, 22, 22020 Pellio Intelvi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Como Province > Pellio Intelvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellio Intelvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Notaio 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Locanda del Notaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Notaio Hotel
La Locanda Del Notaio Pellio Intelvi, Italy - Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Notaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.