We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel may be nice, but avoid the restaurant!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Notaio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Locanda del Notaio to your Saves list
La Locanda del Notaio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piano delle Noci, 22, 22020 Pellio Intelvi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellio Intelvi
Begnins, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel may be nice, but avoid the restaurant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is over priced for the quality of food provided. They are trying to be 'Michelin star' quality, but fail miserably. The food was at best mediocre and the ambiance of the restaurant is nothing short of a disaster. Take my advice - eat in one of the local village restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The narrow roads of the ticino region can be unsettling in the night, expecially with a full size car. But we arrived there without a dent. The hotel is small and welcoming, the crew friendly and the food delicious (one Michelin star). Only the breakfast is italian style: No great buffet, a simple affair, compared to the multi course dinner. The room was nice, only the matress a little bit unforgivingly firm...
The hotel grounds are perfectly manicured and calm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We found the hotel, especially the restaurant, to be lacking in atmosphere. The staff had a good comprehension of English and certainly the reception staff were helpful if not rather amateurish. It is cleanly kept. The restaurant staff appeared inexperienced and certainly the menu was limited and not of the high standard that the hotel like you to believe. It is expensive for what it is. Although our booking was for five nights we checked out after four. The only hotel disappointment in our three week stay in the Italian Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

This hotel is situated in a very quiet location in the mountains about 15/20 mins between Como and Lugano. It's small, in beautiful gardens, with magnificent mountain views. There is a famous goldfcourse next door and you can go riding if you wish (no swimming pool at the hotel).

It's very peaceful and a good spot from which to explore the area, if you have a car. It would be great for a house party (there are18 rooms) or special business event or, as for us, a short romantic break.

The manager Matteo is terrific and very helpful, speaks excellent English, as do all the staff. The chef is suberb - food excellent quality and great value for the standard. Heavenly breakfast with pastries, homemade cakes, hams, cheese, all kinds of bread, fruit etc.

Our room was very large with an enormous bathroom that had a huge bath in it. Wonderful brass bed with crisp white bed linen. Lovely furniture in the room, - no air con and, curiously, no hangers in the wardrobe (perhaps the previous guest pinched them?!).

Lovely hotel for a short break, great value. Do go if you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Fantastic location, beautiful grounds, Great food and wonderful hospitallity. I would revisit this hotel it is among the top 5 hotels I have ever stayed in. The food is superb the service is second to none. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed there for one night on our way back from Lago Maggiore to Switzerland. The staff is very friendly a speaks a good english. The room was comfortable, although this was a bit small and not really my style. The bathroom was large, modern and nice. The park looks really great and the breakfast outside was very good and very pleasant.

We wanted to get dinner outside, and there are not many options for dinner in the area. If you decide to go to the casino (Campione) in the evening, the mountain road to go there is quite difficult and not that easy to find to come back. The boarder closes at one and you need your ID for the casino (don't left it to the reception as I did)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We chose this hotel for a 6 night break as we were looking for peace and relaxation and it was a perfect choice.

We drove from Bergamo, which was quick down the autoroute. Finding your way to Pellio Intelvi looks easy on the hotel's website map and horrendous on a road map. It was straight forward though. From Como you follow the road north of the lake to Argegno. Take the second signposted turn on the left - there is a sign for the hotel if you are observant. Then keep going for about 12 kilometres until just before Pellio and there is a signpost to the left to Pellio Superiore and another hotel sign. Just a little way along is a T junction where you turn left and keep going around umpteen hairpins and its eventually on the right long after you have given up all hope.

The hotel itself is 4 Star, but has only 18 rooms. The staff were lovely. The room was furnished in an antique style, but was comfortable. Only draw back was no walk in shower, but there was a shower off the bath taps.

Breakfast was cold buffet but excellent. We were not as keen on the restaurant for an evening meal as some of the writers. Quite expensive - we paid about E115 for 2 of us for 2 courses and a bottle of wine both times we ate there. We thought the food was competent, but not gourmet with a limited selection of main courses. However, there are a number of restaurants in the village down towards Como where you could eat well for 25-50% of the price.

The well manicured gardens were a highspot with plenty of chairs and loungers scattered around. A perfect way to spend an hour or two relaxing with a drink at the end of the day. I was amazed that we were the only ones who indulged in this whilst we were there.

Its remote if that bothers you, and the drive up is tortuous though you get used to it. Apart from that it was perfect and we do intend to stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Locanda del Notaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Notaio

Address: Via Piano delle Noci, 22, 22020 Pellio Intelvi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Como Province > Pellio Intelvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pellio Intelvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda del Notaio 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Locanda del Notaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Notaio Hotel
La Locanda Del Notaio Pellio Intelvi, Italy - Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Notaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.