We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard, Clean and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Napoleon to your Saves list
Hotel Napoleon
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Napoleon
Via Mazzini 44, 10059 Susa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Susa
Fuerstenberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Standard, Clean and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

2 friends and I stayed here for a night on our way across the Alps to Milan. The room was entirely clean and acceptable, despite a really low price. (Much lower than anything we would have gotten in Milan, a couple-hour drive away, and for 3 people.) The front desk people were very helpful when we asked our way to get to the Football Stadium in Milan. The hotel is in the centre of Susa, next to the post office, and several cafés and restaurants are close by. A good standard-style hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
9
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great value for money, friendly and helpful staff. Great variety and choice for breakfast. Our room was adequate although the aircon didn't work too well and smelt of smoke although it was non-smoking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was a ok, but a bit outdated. The bathroom seemed to be newly renovated though. The breakfast was ok. We stayed here for one night because we needed to stop over night after a long days drive in the alps. Otherwise I doubt that we would have stopped in Susa at all. There wasn't much to see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

As most people we stayed here just as a stopove... didn't think much of Susa but then we didn't spend much time here. The hotel was grey and felt uncared for. The staff felt much the same! Our room was adequate. There doesn't seem to be much choice in the town and maybe that's why this one is suffering through lack of competition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the family room for one night and were very disappointed. It was drab and only marginally clean. Very old and battered furniture, beds and bathroom. We stayed in one or two other 3 star hotels which were much better. Not a great breakfast buffet and terrible coffee. Susa itself is a gem if you have time to stroll through the streets to see the Roman arch and amphitheater. We were lucky and walked to the amphitheater in the evening, by chance stumbling on a local group practicing for the June 24th parade in honor of St. John the Baptist - the band was playing and others were practicing the traditional flag waving/throwing - it was magical. As we were looking later at the Roman arch - dedicated in friendship to local Celtic tribes aligned with the Roman army - a man came out of his house and told us all about the arch, its decoration and writing. He didn't speak English, and we speak no Italian, but we all spoke French and we marvelled afterwards at how kind he was to take the time to tell us about the monument. We found this was typical of people on our trip - so many went our of their way with kindnesses.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Passing through on way to skiing holiday. Great location on main Turin to Alps route.

Trusting and friendly management, easy to street park outside, and excellent modernised rooms.
Good (inclusive) unlimited continental breakfast.

2 decent and excellent restaurants a short-ish walk away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

while i dont think susa will appeal much other to vistors passing through , this was a perfectly adeuqatestopover on a road trip from france the ligurian riviera . quaint sleepy town just of the bleak grey motorway Susa is dominated by the a rocky alp that is omni visible . the hotel and town were a tonic after a long 8 hour drive in the rain . The old man on reception possiblt the owner was smart well dressed friendly and polite without being over familiar or overbearing . i suspect tht much of his trade is one night only . Room adequate in an old building . clean and spacious . we arrived at 10.00 om and had to sdash to get a meal in a trattoria we had spotted on the way in that kitchen closed at 10.30 ish. wonderful pasta fish and vino bianco and a wee grapa in a noisy place full of ( well behaved) kids and cheerful adults were just the tonic to the long drive . a good nights sleep with the car safely tucked in an underground garage a brisk walk around the town and we were on our way refreshed and excited . this hotel is the sort of gem you find that is worth eschewing the functional and impersonal ( and must be said cheaper ) chains that ones uses to break journeys and pull of the motorway

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Via Mazzini 44, 10059 Susa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Susa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Susa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Napoleon Hotel opened in 1970 and since than it's run with professionallity,enthusiasm and care by the Vanara family.During the years it has been widened, restructured and renewed many times and now it offers 62 modern rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with all comforts.Ambience are clean and elegant, atmosphere is simple and friendly, Napoleon Hotel, one of the best lodging properties in Susa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napoleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;